We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable hotel in beautiful period building” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Judges Lodging

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Judges Lodging
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel in beautiful period building”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

The hotel is a beautiful period building in an excellent central location. We had a comfortable super-king bed in an attractive character room and slept well both nights despite the crowds on the terrace below. We also really enjoyed our evening meals in the Cellar Bar. All the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JananWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for your kind review of your stay and dining experience with us. I will pass on your kind words to the team and I’m delighted you found everybody to be friendly and helpful! We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at the Judges Lodgings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    520
    269
    109
    36
    34
See reviews for
133
568
22
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Very well located for exploring the city, the hotel itself is a handsome Georgian townhouse with some very fine period features inside. There were some downsides: the bedroom, right at the top and at the side of the building, overlooked a car park. This wasn't really a problem visually because it was so high up, plus there was also a great view of the Minster (it wasn't billed as a Minster view room either). However, because the night of the stay it happened to be hot, I had to open the window (no air con) and noise from early morning delivery vans was a bit irksome. The bedroom itself (a "classic double") had little in the way of period features, but it had character simply because it was an attic room (there were 3 or 4 stairs inside the room leading from the door up to the rest of the room, which added interest). Quite a few of the bathroom floor tiles were loose, and there was one bit right next to the toilet which had been stuck down, the offending black duct tape hidden by a shower mat. Also, the bathroom mirror light came on automatically when it sensed someone was in the bedroom, let alone the bathroom, which could be a bit annoying. In fact it was so sensitive that even when you were turning in bed it would come on (which, in the middle of the night, led me to wonder whether one of the judges had come back on a visit). But shutting the bathroom door solved the problem. There were one or two other bits around the hotel which suggested it could do with a bit of TLC - the carpet throughout the hotel suffered from stains here and there - but this didn't really detract from the beauty of the interior (the staircase is magnificent). Good breakfast. Friendly staff too. All in all, an enjoyable stay and ideal for a mini-break. Just a few minor maintenance issues which could do with ironing out.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tayn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Many thanks for your review of your recent stay with us. I am pleased you found the location perfect for your stay and the team warm and friendly. The room that you stayed in is quite a quirky room and we are planning to replace the cracked tiles imminently. We have had a really warm summer this year and we have definitely learnt that this grand old building absorbs all of the heat throughout the day and makes the rooms on the top floor warm through the night. We have bought fans for the rooms and we are looking to buy something more effective for next summer (fingers crossed it is as good as this one!). We hope to see you again and Im pleased you enjoyed your mini break in York.

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at the Judges Lodgings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We walked past this place on the way back to our hotel after having a pizza that was inedible at an italian restaurant in York,the outside was packed with people eating their meals it all looked very nice so we decided to go the next evening. We arrived at 9pm and could see it had been very busy,we found a table and ordered the lamb for my husband and steak and ale pie for myself, the waitress service was excellent. We were both a bit dubious after the meal the night before, no need, WHAT A LITTLE GEM this place is.Credit to the chef , the lamb was mouthwatering and my husband who only eats lamb said it was the best he had ever tasted and the pie was done to perfection.We decided to have a dessert platter to share,once again it didn't disappoint.We will definately go back when we next visit York.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Many thanks for your glowing review of your visit with us! I have already passed on your kind words to the team – especially the kitchen team and I am delighted that you found our food so enjoyable. We have had a very busy summer and the outside area has been really popular with passers by. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in York - if you need somewhere to stay we have some great rooms at competitive rates too!

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at The Judges Lodgings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
334 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 419 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

This is a review of the bar and not the lodgings.

Extensive range on the menu with prices in line with what you come to expect from York. Food was more gastro orientated.

Food served very quickly by polite waitress and was hot.

Bar staff very friendly.

Excellent location, you can sit and watch the world go by! from courtyard.

The only downer was the chips. Home made food should be accompanied by home made chips and not those match sticks McDonalds also serve.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liamshelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you for your review of our cellar bar and outside area and I am delighted to read you were well looked after by our team and enjoyed our menu,service and location! The skinny fries we serve have been really popular over the summer but I recognise that many guests also like “proper” chips too so I will pass onto our chefs to help them with their autumn menu planning.

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at The Judges Lodgings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

only discovered this place recently, have been visiting almost once a week as we really enjoy our visits. we have only eaten once but the food was good. I think if the winter menu is good and has a good choice of dishes it would fit perfectly with the cosy feel of the inside of the building. I know there is a refurb due here later in the year for dinning upstairs which i think has a lot of potential. the staff are pleasant. There is a waitress whom is foreign, dark hair, she is very friendly and outgoing. The beer garden at the front is really nice, shame about things falling from the tree constantly! overall - good food, good service, great location, shouldnt be disappointed if you go.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daniellerose26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Firstly many thanks for your review and recommendation and secondly it’s great to hear you are visiting us regularly! I think the waitress you have mentioned is Licia so I will pass on your kind words to her- I agree with everything you say and she is a real asset to our team! We are about to start work on our Autumn menu so please watch our website for more updates- in the meantime we hope to see you again enjoying the last few weeks of summer in the front garden.

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at the Judges Lodgings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

I stayed for one night to explore the city with my family. This is a difficult place to review for me, as a very strange atmosphere prevails- it felt neither like a hotel nor a b&b. The house itself has great potential; yet it seems as if some money has been injected into furnishing the rooms but not the public spaces. The corridors through to our room (a so-called feature room with separate sitting area) were in dire need of recarpeting and redecorating. We passed through a bar area as well as a lounge area, both with worn out soft furnishings. From other reviewers' photos I can see that if you get a room with high ceilings, your stay will be more pleasant than in eg. our room, 11, which was very dark with low ceilings; it felt like an old storage area and was overlooking the bins. The staff were pleasant and tried hard, but the girl on reception was also serving breakfast....so I'm not sure about the whole concept here. The location however is perfect, right at the entrance to the old city centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with high ceilings. Avoid room 11.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilytravellerTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Many thanks for your review of your stay with us. I am pleased you found the location perfect for exploring York! We are currently awaiting planning permission to carry out an extensive refurbishment of the building internally which will include all public walkways and public areas. As we are a grade1 listed building this is quite a time consuming process but please be assured that we have all of these jobs in hand.

The room that you stayed in is in the “newer” part of the hotel which is still nearly 200 years old so does not have the period features of some of the rooms in the original house but does have additional space once inside - guests are of course more than welcome to request rooms when they book if they see a room that is more appealing.

We do have quite a “hands on” team here so sometimes we may appear to be carrying out several jobs in order to make sure guests are looked after as best as possible! Going forward after our refurbishment, our concept will be very much a fantastic pub with cosy rooms and great service - please watch our website for more information. We very much hope to fulfil our potential after this has all happened and it would be great to see you again so you can see all of this in action!

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at The Judges Lodgings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here this week and thought the hotel was lovely. Good value for the price we paid. Location was excellent. Rooms were lovely, tastefully decorated with lots of extras like iPod dock, DVD player, jacuzzi bath was a nice touch too. The bed was HUGE. Plenty of tea and coffee in the room. The hotel had thought of little extras like a book exchange and there were DVDs you could borrow too.

My only gripe (and the reason I didn't give 5 stars) was the lack of staff on the front desk. Don't get me wrong when they were there they couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming but we waited at least 15 minutes to speak to one of them but nobody came, we even rang the number as per the sign on the front desk but still nobody came. Its the first hotel I have been in where there isn't someone on front desk permanently and I don't think it worked.

Other than that I would love to visit this hotel and York again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pragian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Many thanks for choosing to stay with us and for writing such a nice review of your room. I am really sorry that the desk was not manned when you were waiting to check in- we do try and get to our guests as soon as they call from the desk so I will look into this with the team as 15 minutes is not acceptable. We look forward to welcoming you again and please follow our refurbishment news on our website to keep up to date with all of our latest developments.

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at The Judges Lodgings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#16 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
0.5 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Judges Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Judges Lodging

Property: The Judges Lodging
Address: 9 Lendal, York YO1 8AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in York
#8 Luxury Hotel in York
#9 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Judges Lodging 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extensively refurbished in 2014, the Judge's Lodging has 21 individually styled bedrooms, an original vaulted cellar bar,first floor dining and drinking and also 2 fabulous outside areas- quite unique within the centre of York! With a fabulous location in the shadows of the Minster, we offer a warm and friendly Yorkshire welcome to guests from all over the world. *Free Breakfast refers to our Bed and Breakfast rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Judges Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Judges Lodgings Hotel York
Judges Lodgings Hotel York
Judges Lodgings York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing