We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”
Review of The Judges Lodging

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Judges Lodging
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Just return from a girly night away in York which we stayed at the Judges Lodgings. The hotel is located only 5 minute walk from the station and another few minutes to the Minster so location was perfect. The furniture and decor I found to be quite contemporary and the hotel had retained its high ceilings and period features. Our room No 10 was at the front of the hotel which we got to by the walking through the back of the hotel and walking up some creaky stairs. The room itself was beautifully furnished with crisp linen sheets and quilts. All the dark wood furniture matched, including the two single comfortable sleigh beds. Our bathroom was small, warm and clean and had a spa bath. The breakfast room was delightful with linen napkins. The breakfast was fine however the coffee which was served in a caffetier was weak and cold. The breakfast staff were not always available and we had to go to reception to order our breakfast because of the time waiting we decided to go for bacon sandwiches so that we could wrapped them up and eat in the train station.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flowerpot1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your experiences at Judges Lodgings. We do hope you had a fabulous night away in York; using us as a base certainly gives you the benefit of a great location to access all of York and its amenities. We have a particularly grand building which we have maintained to be in keeping with the Grade I listed status we do have here; We have tried to be sympathetic throughout with our furnishings. May I take this opportunity to apologise for our breakfast service; we work hard to make sure all our guests leave happy and full from our breakfast, we do hope that the bacon sandwiches filled you up for your train journey home. Your comments will be passed onto the team; we do hope you consider us for a future stay. Many thanks again for your review.

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at The Judges Lodgings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

850 - 856 of 1,101 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

Would like to say thank you for a lovely evening meal when visiting York. The food was very reasonably priced, well cooked and presented together with a free bottle of wine between 2. The location was brilliant - what a change to have nooks crannies and arches to eat in rather than a large open area. So much nicer. Our waitress Antonia was very helpful especially when having ordered off the main menu and then requesting something off the fixed menu for a dessert - no problem! Makes a change to find a restaurant to be as flexible

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Many thanks for your kind review on the Cellar Bar here at Judges Lodgings. It is lovely to see that you made the most of our wine Wednesdays enjoying our homecooked food whilst marrying it up with a complimentary bottle of wine; what better way to enjoy an evening. We are very lucky to have not only a great central location but our internal atmosphere is very cosy and welcoming. The lovely comments will be passed on to our Team who will appreciate the time taken to pass the message on to us. Antonia will be especially grateful. Please keep us in mind for any future dining requirements; we now have our Christmas and New Year menu available for any festive fun. We hope to welcome you back to Judges Lodgings in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at The Judges Lodgings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We recently stayed at the hotel and found the location excellent, 5mins from the train station and 5mins from the minister. Although we paid extra for a minster view we could barely see it, this did disappoint us considering the price we paid. The breakfast was good and perfectly acceptable and the staff were attentive to our needs. Access to the hotel is perhaps not suitable for those less mobile (steep steps to main front door) and parking is a pain - but so is every where n york. The lack of receptions desk didn't concern us but this arriving late might have a issue. Overall I would recommend the place but the price for a character room isn't justified.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank scott o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Many thanks for your review. We are indeed in a fabulous location for all attractions in and around York. It’s pleasing to be informed we looked after you so well. We hope to welcome you back to Judges Lodgings in the near future where we can recommend you a bedroom on a lower floor which will improve your view of the Minster. We apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at Judges Lodgings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed at judges after attending a private dinner in the stunning dining room. Our bedroom was very comfortable with the biggest bed! If not that spacious! The little extras that came with the room were a super thought and much appreciated.
The dinner was exquisite with a menu specially crafted by the obviously talented chefs, service was indeed excellent also and the beer- "book em danno" was equally impressive.
All in all, can't wait to return and really looking forward to the extensive refurb that will take this hotel to another level!
Thank you judges team!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Craig N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you for your kind review. It is really satisfying to hear how much you enjoyed your stay in all areas of our hotel. Your kind words will be passed onto the whole team. I have to agree that the ‘Book’Em Danno’ is an enjoyable ale! We have various signature ales that regularly change at the Judges Lodgings, so you will have to come back to sample some more! We look forward to welcoming you back to Judges in the near future. Many thanks again.

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at the Judges Lodgings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My partner and I stayed here in August 2013, with me never having been to York previously. We caught the train to York, and the station is only a 5 min walk away - I would not pay to park the car in York when the city is small enough to stroll round! Having stayed at other Thwaites "Inns of Character" before, I was very impressed by this one. Although we had upgraded our room, the room was enormous, with a separate lounge area, and a lovely bathroom, with a mirror that had motion sensor lights fitted - very swish! The bed was a giant sleigh bed, very comfy, and I had a good night's sleep both nights. Breakfast was good, very prompt, and the staff were polite and pleasant. The location of the hotel was great, right in the middle of the city centre. Everything was just a short walk away. A great base to enjoy York, and I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 9 - on the ground floor (you have to go downstairs from reception to get to it), large room, gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamLucyLou M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you for leaving us a review! We are so pleased we lived up to Thwaites ‘Inns of Character’ expectation and that you enjoyed visiting a city you had not been to before. We are not officially part of the group yet, but we will be when our developments are completed in Summer 2014, so you will have to come and see us again then. I will pass your compliments onto the team, thank you.

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at the Judges Lodgings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Judges lodgings is a great find and perfectly located just 5 minutes away from the train station, York Minster and on the doorstep of the shopping district and within the city walls. The small hotel is full of character - from the creaking old staircase up to the rooms to the high ceilings throughout - and the rooms are well equipped with iPhone Dock and sumptuous bathroom. There is also a handy bar/pub in the cellar with separate access serving goo food and beers in tap. Breakfast is very good with the usual array of cereals, breads, fruit salad and full English breakfast.
There's very little I can fault except, perhaps, for the very occasional street noise late at night but it is not very close to any large clubs or bars so it is not an issue. It is a hotel full of character an charm and I will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you very much for writing us such a positive review. Our location within the centre of York is particularly handy for coming via train, walking through the streets of York and dropping off your shopping bags when your arms are full! I am pleased you enjoyed your breakfast and bedroom facilities. I apologise for the street noise you experienced, unfortunately, our location does also mean there are some late night passers-by during the night. Our Cellar Bar, serving Thwaites and Guest Ales, is soon to present its new Autumn/Winter menu so please do consider us again in the future for something warming to eat!

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at the Judges Lodgings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My son and I stayed here last week, the room was large with views over to the minster, did get woken up both nights from 12.30 and 2.30 am firstly from bottles being chucked into bins out back and secondly from refuse collections. The room itself had a second area with sofa bed which from website we did expect it to be a lounge area not a tight space to put a sofa bed and open bathroom not private at all so very disappointed in this room The breakfast was lovely, the lady taking orders was excellent and over all staff were great. The hotel was in a good position for all the attractions. I would stay again but not in room2. This room is in need of a repaint.

Room Tip: Great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firtrees123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Many thanks for your review and for coming to stay with us. I can only apologise if you disturbed through the evening by some noise from surrounding businesses- this is not a normal course of events but sometimes due to our central location is difficult to eliminate.

The room that you stayed is rather unique and the open plan set up does not appeal to everybody and you should have been made aware of this when you booked so if you weren’t then I must apologise. I’m pleased to hear that you were well looked after by the team and I will certainly pass your kind words onto them.

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at the Judges Lodgings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 47 in York
1,462 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,544 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#12 of 47 in York
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Judges Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Judges Lodging

Address: 9 Lendal, York YO1 8AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in York
#6 Luxury Hotel in York
#9 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: £114 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Judges Lodging 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extensively refurbished in 2014, the Judge's Lodging has 21 individually styled bedrooms, an original vaulted cellar bar,first floor dining and drinking and also 2 fabulous outside areas- quite unique within the centre of York! With a fabulous location in the shadows of the Minster, we offer a warm and friendly Yorkshire welcome to guests from all over the world. *Free Breakfast refers to our Bed and Breakfast rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Judges Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Judges Lodgings Hotel York
Judges Lodgings Hotel York
Judges Lodgings York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing