We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“interesting central lodging”
Review of The Judges Lodging

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Judges Lodging
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“interesting central lodging”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This small central hotel is set back from the street, and is accessed through a garden with tables and chairs, and then up a double stair. The rooms are large, some with elaborate moldings. Decor simple. The breakfast room is rather bleak. Bedrooms are reached by different stairs, so if you are booking 2 rooms, they may be some distance apart. Our one, number 2, was most unusual, and not to everyones taste. The large room had a 9 foot partition, beyound which on one side was the bathroom, with parts, except the WC, visable from the bed, and anyone entering the room. On the other side was a small area with a 2 seater sofa and the tea and coffee tray. Really rather misleading for those expecting " en suite". Staff were pleasant and helpful. The associated bar/restaurant was down the stairs and reached though the garden. Altogether an enjoyablde stay, and we would be happy to go again.

Room Tip: Avoid no 2, which was expensive for what was provided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank william b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay and its great to hear that you would stay with us again! Room 2 is rather unique and some guests prefer a more traditional bathroom set up- I would recommend room 3 which is one of the original bedrooms of the house and has a similar Minster view to room 2. We have grand plans to refurbish the whole building starting early next year and the breakfast room will be a part of this- the room is lovely in the summer with the sun shining through. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in York.

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    570
    284
    110
    35
    37
See reviews for
144
600
25
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We found the restaurant by chance and we were so impressed that we ate there the two nights we were in York.
We used the fixed menu and were lucky enough to be there on the Wednesday wine evening, which gave us the very good house red, one bottle between two.
The food is simple but very good and the surroundings are fun.
I am returning to York with my wife next month and we shall certainly use it.

Room Tip: We did not use the hotel, only the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W Humphrey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for your kind review and also for dining with us twice! I’m delighted to hear you were well looked after and enjoyed our food- I will certainly pass this onto the chefs. We don’t try and overcomplicate our menu- just simple dishes cooked very well and freshly prepared. The wine deal is proving popular too. We look forward to you visiting us again soon.

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at the Judges Lodgings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Didn't want to say average but wasn't very good.

We stayed for a single night at the Judges lodgings having previously walked by when it was being renovated and remembering it's location.

The hotel is great for exploring York, located near the centre within reach of many main tourist spots. Our room was very spacious and lived up to expectations. The décor and furniture was well chosen and fitted in well. All thought the it had only recently been renovated the bathroom had a few issues, seals around the bath and shower gaping, there was a couple of tiles loose on the floor and grout missing in several places. The light for the mirror above the sink didn't work, these issues could all be quickly sorted and I'm sure they will be but should of been before our stay. Lighting in the room needs to be improved.

There is no direct connection from the hotel to the bar in the basement which is a bit poor but I was told was being changed. Bar service was poor, arrived with one couple getting there drinks so waited, only for there friends to join them so the drinks order got bigger... fair enough I would do the same... then another couple arrived and got served only for another large group and the barman's attention was easily taken (poor training) and thus after too much of a wait I walked to the local Morrisons and bought some drinks and snacks to take to the room, which only took 5 min. The staff here are spread far to thin so it's probably not there fault, two people running on the bar on a Friday night as well as being responsible for the hotel isn't good enough.

The receptionist (who also worked the bar) was very good and helpful, the cooked breakfast was good although the buffet was poor and there was no juice (orange/grapefruit/etc) which was annoying.

This is a good place but could be very good with a little more attention to detail, maintenance and more staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Many thanks for your review and for the points you have raised. As you have pointed out we are due for a major internal refurbishment which will address the issue of the hotel and bar currently being separated which we know is not ideal and is at the top of our list of priorities to address for our hotel guests.

The rooms are all due to have small makeovers where needed to but I have highlighted to the housekeepers the issues you have highlighted which can be addressed immediately so thank you for bringing up. The points you have raised about staffing levels are something that we continually strive to get right but we don’t always get the right balance of team on at certain times and for this I can only apologise.

All in all however it is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay and please watch our website for all the information on our refurbishment due to start in Jan 14.

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at the Judges Lodgings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We only stayed one night at The Judges Lodgings and I wish it was more. Our experience was great. The location is great, close to everything, but hard to find in a car. The decor was lovely and a grand staircase , although there is not lift, so it was a bit of a chore to lug the cases upstairs. The room was nice, with a great view of the York Minster. It was central to everything and we were able to walk everywhere. The York Museum gardens are a couple of mins walk away . We had our evening meal in The Cellar Bar which is attached to the lodgings... The meal was like a traditional pub meal and very nice. The beer and ale pie was divine, as was the fruit crumble. The staff very friendly and helpful. Full English breakfast is cooked to order and again very nice. I would fully recommend The Judges Lodgings and I'd definitely stay there again if I ever get back to York .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sportygirllj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for such a kind review and I’m delighted you had such an enjoyable stay with us. The stairs within the hotel certainly keep us fit! I will pass on your kind words to the kitchen and bar teams in particular and I agree that the beef and ale is a fabulous dish- perfect as the darker evenings draw in. We hope to see you again soon and are very grateful for your recommendation.

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at the Judges Lodgings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Just return from a girly night away in York which we stayed at the Judges Lodgings. The hotel is located only 5 minute walk from the station and another few minutes to the Minster so location was perfect. The furniture and decor I found to be quite contemporary and the hotel had retained its high ceilings and period features. Our room No 10 was at the front of the hotel which we got to by the walking through the back of the hotel and walking up some creaky stairs. The room itself was beautifully furnished with crisp linen sheets and quilts. All the dark wood furniture matched, including the two single comfortable sleigh beds. Our bathroom was small, warm and clean and had a spa bath. The breakfast room was delightful with linen napkins. The breakfast was fine however the coffee which was served in a caffetier was weak and cold. The breakfast staff were not always available and we had to go to reception to order our breakfast because of the time waiting we decided to go for bacon sandwiches so that we could wrapped them up and eat in the train station.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flowerpot1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your experiences at Judges Lodgings. We do hope you had a fabulous night away in York; using us as a base certainly gives you the benefit of a great location to access all of York and its amenities. We have a particularly grand building which we have maintained to be in keeping with the Grade I listed status we do have here; We have tried to be sympathetic throughout with our furnishings. May I take this opportunity to apologise for our breakfast service; we work hard to make sure all our guests leave happy and full from our breakfast, we do hope that the bacon sandwiches filled you up for your train journey home. Your comments will be passed onto the team; we do hope you consider us for a future stay. Many thanks again for your review.

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at The Judges Lodgings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Would like to say thank you for a lovely evening meal when visiting York. The food was very reasonably priced, well cooked and presented together with a free bottle of wine between 2. The location was brilliant - what a change to have nooks crannies and arches to eat in rather than a large open area. So much nicer. Our waitress Antonia was very helpful especially when having ordered off the main menu and then requesting something off the fixed menu for a dessert - no problem! Makes a change to find a restaurant to be as flexible

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Many thanks for your kind review on the Cellar Bar here at Judges Lodgings. It is lovely to see that you made the most of our wine Wednesdays enjoying our homecooked food whilst marrying it up with a complimentary bottle of wine; what better way to enjoy an evening. We are very lucky to have not only a great central location but our internal atmosphere is very cosy and welcoming. The lovely comments will be passed on to our Team who will appreciate the time taken to pass the message on to us. Antonia will be especially grateful. Please keep us in mind for any future dining requirements; we now have our Christmas and New Year menu available for any festive fun. We hope to welcome you back to Judges Lodgings in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at The Judges Lodgings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at the hotel and found the location excellent, 5mins from the train station and 5mins from the minister. Although we paid extra for a minster view we could barely see it, this did disappoint us considering the price we paid. The breakfast was good and perfectly acceptable and the staff were attentive to our needs. Access to the hotel is perhaps not suitable for those less mobile (steep steps to main front door) and parking is a pain - but so is every where n york. The lack of receptions desk didn't concern us but this arriving late might have a issue. Overall I would recommend the place but the price for a character room isn't justified.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank scott o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Many thanks for your review. We are indeed in a fabulous location for all attractions in and around York. It’s pleasing to be informed we looked after you so well. We hope to welcome you back to Judges Lodgings in the near future where we can recommend you a bedroom on a lower floor which will improve your view of the Minster. We apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at Judges Lodgings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
622 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 47 in York
1,210 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#18 of 47 in York
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Judges Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Judges Lodging

Property: The Judges Lodging
Address: 9 Lendal, York YO1 8AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in York
#7 Luxury Hotel in York
#9 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Judges Lodging 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extensively refurbished in 2014, the Judge's Lodging has 21 individually styled bedrooms, an original vaulted cellar bar,first floor dining and drinking and also 2 fabulous outside areas- quite unique within the centre of York! With a fabulous location in the shadows of the Minster, we offer a warm and friendly Yorkshire welcome to guests from all over the world. *Free Breakfast refers to our Bed and Breakfast rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Judges Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Judges Lodgings Hotel York
Judges Lodgings Hotel York
Judges Lodgings York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing