We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Judges Lodging

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Judges Lodging
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

I have not stayed at the hotel but recently had lunch which was excellent and provided really good VFM.I will most certainly go again as the food was great and the service excellent!
There was also a great atmosphere

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancy190832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Many thanks for calling in to join us for lunch and it’s great to hear you enjoyed your visit in the Cellar bar. Next time you are in York why not stay with us in the Hotel! We look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at the Judges Lodgings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    520
    268
    109
    36
    34
See reviews for
133
567
22
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Wanted a central location in York and couldn't have been better. Wonderful staff and a great room #2. Fantastic facilities, excellent view of the Minster. Breakfast was top notch, only thing wrong was finding out that it closes in January for a 6 month refurb and the addition of more rooms. We will definitely go back next year as it is ideally placed for the centre and train station if you don't want to drive! It's a great place and if it was good enough for high court judges then that should tell you about the quality.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
What a fabulous review about your stay with us - thank you! We promise the closure will be more than worth it and we look forward to showing off the new look Judges to you next year!

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at the Judges Lodgings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed one night here and thought it was fabulous. We paid £91 for a superior room with breakfast and it was worth every penny. Our room was right at the top, very spacious with a huge bed and a big bathroom with a rainmaker shower and jacuzzi tub. The decoration in the room was very tasteful. I had a wonderful nights sleep on the super soft, comfy bed too. Usually hotel beds are really hard and I struggle to sleep but this bed was spot on. We had a great view of York Minster from our room too! There was a bit of cosmetic wear here and there but I can appreciate the age of the building and it didn't affect out enjoyable stay at all. Breakfast in the morning was nice with both continental and cooked to choose from. My partner had poached eggs with bacon and the eggs were cooked to perfection. All of the staff were lovely and very polite and helpful indeed. There is parking nearby £10 overnight and if arriving by train the hotel is five minutes walk from the train station. It's very easy to find and is close to York museum and gallery, museum gardens, York cathedral and there's hindered a of shops to suit and retail therapy. Overall we'll be coming again same time next year, thank you for a wonderful stay!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nomechompski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for your review and for coming to stay with us. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay and were well looked after by us as well as finding us ideally placed as a base to explore York! It’s very important that our guests feel that we are giving great value for money and we like to think that this is reflected in our room rates. We look forward to welcoming you to the “new look” Judges next year!

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at the Judges Lodgings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Spent two nights here last week, changing rooms because none was available for both nights. It's a fine building and the rooms are very spacious - well furnished and with modern bathrooms. Generally very comfortable, although there was some noise from outside, in particular the crack-of-dawn bottle-bank emptying. In the cellar is a bar where you can eat - it can't really be classed as a restaurant. However, the food there was excellent and extremely good value - we ate there on the first evening and wished we'd done so on the second. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, and the hotel is ideally situated for visiting York.
So a good choice all round - not cheap, but York is not a cheap city. It's about to close for five months, though, for various refurbishments.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for leaving us a review. We apologise about the bottle-bank emptying which unfortunately is out of our control due to the early hours in which the rubbish lorries can come and collect them. We are pleased that you liked your bedroom and eating in our Cellar Bar. We hope you will consider us in the future after our refurbishment where we will have more dining options available to everyone. Have a wonderful Christmas.

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at the Judges Lodgings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

I got this room at the last minute as a wedding anniversary treat for my wife and I. £140 got us a spacious room, Minster view and a great jacuzzi bath - not to mention a very good English breakfast each. For the money I thought the room was excellent (shop around in york and prove me wrong) and the service from the management (particularly Nick and Susannah) was really flawless. I'd give a straight 5/5 apart from a few minor points that, from talking to the manager, will be put right in the new year when more renovation work is due. If you're visiting York as a tourist the location of this hotel is second to none, a stones throw from the new "Starr in the City" restaurant by the river, the Minster and the prettiest parts of the city centre. I will happily repeat our overnight stay there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
It was a pleasure having you stay with us, especially as Judges held such personal history for you, and we were so pleased to help make your anniversary special! Thank you for your kind words I shall pass them on and I hope, as you are local to York, you will come in and see us again soon.

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at the Judges Lodgings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Just got home from our hols, staying at the judges lodgings. Just perfect. Sophie greeted us warmly and was just lovely and welcoming after our long drive. Nick took our cases to our room and made us feel thoroughly welcome. Our room (number 5) was beautiful with a view of the Minster. The girls at breakfast were so lovely and so helpful, breakfast delicious. This hotel is so well situated for seeing the wonderful sights. We ate in the cellars bar several times and really enjoyed the food and hospitality, the staff again are amazing friendly and very informative about the local area. Can we live here please? Thanks so much for making my 50th birthday so fantastic, we are coming back x

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flymetotheun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
What a lovely review and thank you for taking the time to write it. I’m delighted you were well looked after by the team and I will certainly pass on your kind words- it's great to hear that the birthday celebrations went very well! Please do come back and stay with us when you are back in York and I hope your long journey home went well!

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at the Judges Lodgings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
283 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We visited the Cellar Bar at the Judges Lodging at coffee time. It's very extensive - a maze of intriguing little rooms. We had cappuccino. A cappuccino costs £3.00. That's not cheap but it's a reasonable price if the coffee is good and reliable. It was certainly very nice and strong (with semi skimmed milk), a decent size and came with a small cube of flapjack. It would have been nice to have had croissants and cakes on offer. Perhaps they'll do that after their planned renovations in 6 months' time or so. The service (from John) was friendly and efficient. There was loud music but he was happy to turn it down. I note that there have been negative comments about the men's loos; well, the women's loo was OK!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MVC499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for your review of your visit and of our coffee and service. I have seen that you have reviewed a lot of York establishments and I’m delighted that we have scored highly! I agree that whilst our coffee certainly isnt’t cheap, it’s the way that it is delivered that really matters. We will be evolving our coffee offer as part of our new concept next year and pastries are on the agenda. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at The Judges Lodgings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#16 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
0.5 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Judges Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Judges Lodging

Property: The Judges Lodging
Address: 9 Lendal, York YO1 8AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in York
#8 Luxury Hotel in York
#9 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Judges Lodging 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extensively refurbished in 2014, the Judge's Lodging has 21 individually styled bedrooms, an original vaulted cellar bar,first floor dining and drinking and also 2 fabulous outside areas- quite unique within the centre of York! With a fabulous location in the shadows of the Minster, we offer a warm and friendly Yorkshire welcome to guests from all over the world. *Free Breakfast refers to our Bed and Breakfast rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Judges Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Judges Lodgings Hotel York
Judges Lodgings Hotel York
Judges Lodgings York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing