We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,228)
Filter reviews
1,228 results
Traveller rating
675
334
126
50
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
675
334
126
50
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscellar barjacuzzi bathcharacter roommain buildinggarden roombeautiful buildingtop flooreggs benedictcentral locationno liftlovely hotelyork minsterbeer gardenfresh milkcar parktrain stationcooked breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
949 - 954 of 1,228 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We arrived around 9.00 at night and were not able to get any dinner, so had to venture out. The room was very comfortable with lovely soft and fluffy towels. Bedroom very comfortable. My room involved walking up a number of stairs, which wouldn't be easy, if you had a heavy suitcase. The stair carpet was very grubby and could do with a clean but maybe it will be replaced with the refurbishment. The breakfast was great with plenty of variety and cooked breakfast options. The room rate was quite expensive and there is a £10.00 parking charge.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the rear of the hotel, if you get disturbed by loud noises.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carr2528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Many thanks for your review of your stay with us. We are extending food service times to 10.30pm when we reopen in Summer 2014. However I am a little disappointed that we couldn't offer you anything when you arrived on this occasion, although we clearly hit the spot with breakfast! We do feel that the room rate offers good value within York city centre but we do have several different tariffs available for the different room styles - if you are visiting us again please do call us and we will always get you the best rate we have available.

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at the Judges Lodgings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in November (15th/16th) for a wedding in the gardens over the road. We looked here as its really convenient for the wedding however didnt realise how convenient is was for the train and the town!
Was a beautiful room at the top of the house - with a lovely view of the minster! the room was lovely and large with a beautiful Jacuzzi bath! (spent an hour or 2 in here after shopping)
Breakfast was good!
was a lovely break and a lovely room! will go back!

Room Tip: Top of the house 5/6 was lovely - didnt see the others!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thank you for such a kind review of your stay- it sounds like you had a great weekend. All of our bedrooms have Jacuzzi baths and they are a real hit with all of our guests. We will have 8 new bedrooms when we reopen in Summer 2014 so please give us a call before you visit next to decide which room you would like to book!

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at the Judges Lodgings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Wanted a central location for xmas shopping and site seeing. The judges lodgings were perect for this, apart from trying to get to the place without going over lendal bridge which was slightly stressful!! But hardly the hotals fault that york council have shut it for seemly no good reason as it just bungs everywhere else up and send more emmisions up into the air from cars as they drive half way round york to get to where they need.....anyway rant over. The hotel is in a beautiful building, we had room 2 with views of the minster and a 7 foot 4 poster bed whoch was wonderful. Staff were polite and friendly, everywhere was cleaned to a very high standard. The breakfast was nice enough with good quality meat, although been from leeds we like beans with our english breakfasts! the toaster was painfully slow on the buffet table we ended up with warm bread by the time breakfast arrived! ! Over all a very good stay and will defo be using the hotel again on our next trip to york!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank keeley r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thank you for your fabulous review of your stay with us! I’m delighted you found the location perfect for shopping and sightseeing and also enjoyed the hotel facilities and its character. I will look at the breakfast toaster and send it for an MOT and if you need any extras for breakfast please do ask- baked beans are an optional (no cost) extra! The Lendal bridge closure does make the journey to us more challenging between 10.30am and 5:00pm but I’m pleased you relaxed when you got to us! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at the Judges Lodgings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I have not stayed at the hotel but recently had lunch which was excellent and provided really good VFM.I will most certainly go again as the food was great and the service excellent!
There was also a great atmosphere

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nancy190832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Many thanks for calling in to join us for lunch and it’s great to hear you enjoyed your visit in the Cellar bar. Next time you are in York why not stay with us in the Hotel! We look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at the Judges Lodgings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Wanted a central location in York and couldn't have been better. Wonderful staff and a great room #2. Fantastic facilities, excellent view of the Minster. Breakfast was top notch, only thing wrong was finding out that it closes in January for a 6 month refurb and the addition of more rooms. We will definitely go back next year as it is ideally placed for the centre and train station if you don't want to drive! It's a great place and if it was good enough for high court judges then that should tell you about the quality.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

What a fabulous review about your stay with us - thank you! We promise the closure will be more than worth it and we look forward to showing off the new look Judges to you next year!

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at the Judges Lodgings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews