We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Christmas Weekend Hotel”
Review of The Judges Lodging

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Judges Lodging
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Christmas Weekend Hotel”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Just arrived back from a Christmas weekend in York. Had a two night stay at the wonderful hotel," the judges lodgings"! Have already booked to stay again next christmas! The hotel has a very central location, only two minutes from the famous "Betty's Tearooms" and shops, bars and restaurants etc. Highly recommend the hotel as it is extremely clean, comfortable with gorgeous rooms and wonderful attentive staff. Very exciting news to hear of the new refub happening in the new year, cant wait to see it!! a real nice gem in the centre of york.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidhemingway666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Many thanks for coming to stay with us and leaving such a kind review! It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and i'm delighted that you have already booked up again to come and stay next year. We cant wait to show off our new look! Have a very Merry Christmas!

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at the Judges Lodgings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    275
    109
    36
    35
See reviews for
139
586
23
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

We celebrated our 5th wedding anniversary at the judges logings and it was truly special. The room was beautiful the hotel location is perfect. And York in December is magical. Can't wait to go back after the judges has undergone its refurbishment and hopefully spend another anniversary in this beautiful hotel.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank leeannawebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for your review and choosing to spend such a special occasion with us! I’m delighted that you had a fabulous time in York and I totally agree with you that York has a special magical atmosphere at Christmas - we hope you have a great Christmas and New Year too!

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at the Judges Lodgings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
261 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

After honeymooning in york 30 years ago--we always promised we would return --some day--and stay here---and we where not disappointed
The room was first class the staff excellent the hotel manager wonderful the breakfast a delight -------this is a place to cherish --well done to all the staff for making our special 2 night stay a stay to remember forever

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
It was a pleasure to have you and your wife staying with us and I’m delighted that we helped make your special occasion even more memorable. Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review and I will pass on your kind words to the rest of the team! We very much hope to see you again next time you are in York. Have a great Christmas & New Year.

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at the Judges Lodgings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Judges Lodgings and it has been the best hotel we have stayed in the last 5 years we have visited York. The hotel is located right by the shops, 1 minute walk to the square and Betty's tea rooms. There isn't parking at the hotel but you can get a permit from the hotel for £10 for a night and day and park in a nearby car park, which is a pleasant walk through the museum gardens. The staff were extremely welcoming when checking in and took our bags to our room, a beautiful character room (room 9) which consisted of a large bedroom with a super king sized bed, a sitting room area and a well appointed bathroom with jacuzzi bath. We were on the ground floor and had a separate entrance door to use, if we wished. There is a bar downstairs which is entered from outside of the building which has a wide range of wines and spirits and a very good menu, although we didn't try the food.
Breakfast was lovely, again very friendly attentive staff. The only downside for us was that the bins at the shops are emptied every morning very early which woke us, earplugs would resolve this.
The hotel is closing for 6 months on 2nd January for refurbishment, however we have rebooked for next December to secure this years prices (prices will increase after the refurbishment). Our room was £124 per night including breakfast but for the location, beautiful room and very friendly staff it was worth every penny.

Room Tip: Room 9 is huge with a sofa bed in the sitting room area that could accommodate additional people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie83_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
What a huge compliment! We are incredibly pleased that this is the best hotel you have stayed in York recently, thank you very much. I shall pass your kind words onto our team here. Our central location is particularly handy if you are popping in and out with shopping bags, or out for a bite to eat. We are pleased you enjoyed the Spa bath and other amenities within your bedroom. We apologise for the emptying of bins in the early hours, unfortunately due to road restrictions they are limited as to when they can come and collect. We very much hope to welcome you both back in the future. A Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you both.

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at the Judges Lodgings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I travelled to this hotel for 1 night for a break away, arranged for a bottle of fizz on arrival. Realtively easy to find a very central hotel. Upon arrival receptionist greeted us really friendly, she showed us to our room wished me a happy anniversary I had mentioned it was the reason why we were travelling on an email to them. There are renovation works going on but this wasn't a huge distraction they have done everything possible to keep it to a minimum. We stayed in room 7 top floor lovely room. Really good breakfast full english no problem! If I had to find a negative (and I struggle! I did cut my food on a broken tile in the bathroom :( but it wasn't a major problem and it didn't really impact on the wonderful time I had. Would return again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lwal8096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for your kind words! I am glad our works did not disturb you during your stay, as you say we are trying to keep any noise at a minimum! We are pleased you were welcomed by our team and enjoyed your room. We apologise about the tile cutting your foot, we are having some new bathrooms put in during our refurbishment in January, though we shall see to the problem straight away. Please come and visit us in July to see our developments. Thank again, we wish you all the best over Christmas and New Year.

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at the Judges Lodgings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Stayed here for one night on 24 November. We were greeted with a lovely warm welcome staff were very friendly and polite nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in room 6 which is on the 2nd floor (note if you're not good with stairs then ask for a room on the 1st floor). Lovely spacious room with huge comfortable bed, large bathroom with jacuzzi bath and soft fluffy towels, tea and coffee facilities and a TV and DVD player. Breakfast was very tasty and staff very attentive. All in all a great hotel to stay in. A perfect location for shops, restaurants and pubs. Only about 10 minutes walk far from the station. On checking out chatted a while to Nick who came across as a good bloke. Would definitely recommend and hope to return next year!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawni1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you for leaving us a lovely review and posting some photos of your bedroom. It seems you enjoyed our facilities and central location very much, which make us very happy! Unfortunately being a 250 year old building we don’t have any lifts, but we will try and take your luggage up into the gods before you check in. I will pass your kind words onto the team and hope to welcome you back once all of our renovations have been completed in July 2014. A Merry Christmas to you both.

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at the Judges Lodgings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huddersfield
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

I visited with my sister and we stayed in the (what I believe) the only twin room. We were greeted warmly and our luggage stored whilst we went shopping before check in time. Returned to find our luggage had been taken to our room (little things make all the difference) friendly staff and shown to our room. It was warm, clean and comfortable. Our evening meal was taken in the Cellar Bar. The staff there were also very accommodating and service was excellent. The food was good however I'm very fussy! We were awoken slightly earlier than we anticipated due to a delivery of beer barrels we think but in all a good nights sleep. I can imagine on a Friday or Saturday evening noise can be heard from local bars but that's something I could live with due to the location. So close to everything. I know the hotel and bar are undergoing refurbishment in January 2014 and I look forward to returning to see the changes. It currently does have some minor works ongoing but nothing that distracted us. Check out again was friendly with luggage stored. On return our luggage was taken down the steps which was appreciated. The service and friendliness was outstanding. Thank you for a very pleasant stay.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank lisaannekaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for leaving such a kind review. It was particularly pleasing to read that you found our service outstanding and enjoyed the location. Being in the city centre there can be noise from neighbouring business which I find equally as frustrating! It was a pleasure to look after you both and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the new look Judges next year!

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at the Judges Lodgings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#21 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Judges Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Judges Lodging

Property: The Judges Lodging
Address: 9 Lendal, York YO1 8AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in York
#7 Luxury Hotel in York
#9 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Judges Lodging 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extensively refurbished in 2014, the Judge's Lodging has 21 individually styled bedrooms, an original vaulted cellar bar,first floor dining and drinking and also 2 fabulous outside areas- quite unique within the centre of York! With a fabulous location in the shadows of the Minster, we offer a warm and friendly Yorkshire welcome to guests from all over the world. *Free Breakfast refers to our Bed and Breakfast rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Judges Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Judges Lodgings Hotel York
Judges Lodgings Hotel York
Judges Lodgings York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing