We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Words cannot do justice to the Judges”
Review of The Judges Lodging

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Judges Lodging
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We celebrated a 50th birthday at the The Judges in January and it was phenomenal. Words really cannot do the place justice but to attempt The manager personally greeted us and wished us a nice stay - All the staff were so welcoming and genuine which is such a rarity these days! I have never returned to a hotel before but cannot wait to go back Thank you so much to all the wonderful staff and see you soon :-)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLNick_James, General Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Many thanks for your delightful review and for choosing to spend such special occasion with us!Its lovely to read you were so well looked after and I very much to see you again to see our fabulous new look when we have reopened in July

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,066)
There are newer reviews for The Judges Lodging
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

770 - 776 of 1,066 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed at the Judges Lodgings on the 31st Dec 2013 for New Years Eve. Great central location not far from the train station and friendly welcome from a lady in reception who was happy to keep our bags until our room was ready. When we returned later to check into our room, we were welcomed by a very friendly chap. Our room was a lovely and huge with a comfy bed and views over York and a large bathroom. We paid £200 for the room including dinner bed and breakfast which didn’t seem a too bad deal. Dinner was in the adjoining Cellar Bar and Restaurant and the food was very good. My partner had a fish starter and a beef stew type main and I had the steak and all were nice. I did ask if the steak came with vegetables to which I was told yes and asked for no herb butter on the steak but the steak did not come with vegetables and the herb butter was on the steak. The waitress did offer to get me another steak but I wasn’t that fussed and so didn’t take up the offer. As we were both quite full and had a nights drinking ahead of us but deserts were included in the package and sounded delicious, we asked if we could have small half portions. However, when the sticky toffee pudding and chocolate brownie arrived, they were huge. They were tasty but not the smaller size we had asked for. Our stay was perfect apart from breakfast which we found disappointing. There was no fresh orange juice just the horrible concentrated stuff out of a cartoon. I felt that there was also room for improvement with the breakfast. I got the impression that along with the orange juice, the ingredients were not the best quality. The sausage in particular tasted cheap. For a hotel of this ilk, I was expecting quality and perhaps even local produce. Check out was efficient and once again, very friendly and personal. The hotel is now closed for refurbishment which I understand will improve the reception area and create a link from inside the hotel to the Cellar Bar and Restaurant which I am sure will be great. We had a lovely stay and would stay again if the price was right but strongly suggest that they look at improving the breakfast. Also highly recommend York for New Years Eve.

Room Tip: We had the room in the centre right at the top which was lovely
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelbear1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLNick_James, General Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Many thanks for your review and thank you for coming to stop with us over New Year- it sounds like you had a good night! The Cellar Bar was full on NYE and I'm delighted you enjoyed your food with us and found the team warm and friendly.
I will certainly take your breakfast comments on board and we are looking to rework our breakfast offer on reopening in the Summer. We always look to source locally where we can and it is a delicate balance between cost and value that we continually look at.
It would be great to see you again when we have finished our refurbishment!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We loved our stay here. Its central, characterful and above all friendly and welcoming. I do agree that a refurbishment wouldn't come in wrong, but I hope its not unrecognisable afterwards. I loved the atmosphere and the homeliness created by the lovely staff and came back for a return visit with a friend just before it closed for its makeover. I will certainly be back again; whether for a romantic break or a girlie shopping trip - I loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandrat1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLNick_James, General Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you for your lovely review- warm and friendly hospitality is what we strive for everyday so I'm delighted that we have hit the mark for you. Whilst we are undergoing a major refurbishment, please be assured that we will not be fundamentally altering the character of the building- we are Grade 1 listed so everything has to be approved by York Council. The Judges is a fabulous building and we are setting it up to be enjoyed by as many people as possible for the next 300 years! Cant wait to hear your thoughts when you next call in!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed one night before Christmas for a quick break in York. We chose the Judges Lodgings because of it's position in the centre of York. We loved the look of the building and the history attached to such a building. We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay, our room extremely comfortable and full of character, as is the remainder of the hotel,. All the staff were so friendly and helpful and breakfast was of a very high standard with quality produce. The Cellar Bar is great for just a drink or a meal. We wish the team every success in their refurbishment programme and we shall certainly be returning to stay at the Judges Lodgings again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLNick_James, General Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

What a really kind review about the team and your visit and thank you for your best wishes as we embark on our refurbishment programme. It was a pleasure to look after you and I cant wait to hear your thoughts on our improvements when we reopen in Summer 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Just over a year after buying the Judges Lodgings in Lendal out of administration, the new owners are closing the hotel and bar for the major make-over.

Daniel Thwaites plc, which bought the business for £1.5 million in November last year, is planning to add an extra eight rooms, bringing the total to 22, as well as expanding the cellar bar and dining area into the upper first floor of the building, and creating additional outdoor terraces.

Having already spent £500,000 on repairs, the refurbishment will bring total investment in the business close to £4 million. Staff numbers will rise from 15 to between 50 and 60 following the project.

Room Tip: Closed for refurbishment
Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank QXZWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLNick_James, General Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Many thanks for sharing the news on our impending refurbishment - you beat me to it! I do however have a tinge of disappointment that you have only rated the article as 3* - the news of such a huge investment to such a wonderful building and the benefits this will bring to the local economy in terms of new jobs, a brand new bar and dining area and extra hotel rooms is 5* all the way for us.
I do hope that you will pay us a visit to see what we have done when we reopen- we cannot wait to show the new look Judges off next Summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Lovely stately old building right in the city centre. Perfect room with plenty of space. Very helpful staff and the duty manager even helped us with our luggage upon arrival. Yes I concur that the building is in need of a little TLC but this does not detract from staying in such a lovely building. Think some comments / reviews on here have been a bit harsh. We have recommended the hotel to many friends and will stay again at Judges Lodgings.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iainpickles1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLNick_James, General Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Many thanks for your friendly and concise review. A true measure of guest satisfaction is the recommendation to friends so I am delighted that we have exceeded your expectations when you have stayed with us. We hope to see you later next year when we reopen- keep an eye on the website! Have a very Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here at the begining of December. The hotel is in a brilliant location; The Minster, the railway station and Betty's are all within a few minutes walk.
We loved the bar and restaurant....great service and fantastic food - highly recommended! (Especially the home made fish pie ).
Yes, the hotel needs a bit of restoration and it is clearly in the middle of a programme....but the wonderful staff make up for that.
Would definitely stay here again when we are next in York.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thevincentsnotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLNick_James, General Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Thank you for writing such a kind review and I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your kind words to the team and will let the chefs know you gave a big thumbs up to the Fish Pie! We are about to commence our major refurbishment in early January so it would be great if you could come back and see us again next year and let us know what you think of our new look. We hope you had a fantastic Christmas and would like to wish you all the best for the New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
648 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#19 of 47 in York
1,507 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Judges Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Judges Lodging

Address: 9 Lendal, York YO1 8AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in York
#7 Luxury Hotel in York
#9 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: £116 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Judges Lodging 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extensively refurbished in 2014, the Judge's Lodging has 21 individually styled bedrooms, an original vaulted cellar bar,first floor dining and drinking and also 2 fabulous outside areas- quite unique within the centre of York! With a fabulous location in the shadows of the Minster, we offer a warm and friendly Yorkshire welcome to guests from all over the world. *Free Breakfast refers to our Bed and Breakfast rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Judges Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Judges Lodgings Hotel York
Judges Lodgings Hotel York
Judges Lodgings York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing