We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Judging The Judges”
Review of The Judges Lodging

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Judges Lodging
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Spent a lovely relaxing night in York this week at this hotel and enjoyed the character of and view (of Minster) from our room. The staff were very obliging and stored out luggage until our train was due. We had a splendid breakfast in the garden and an early eveing meal at the front of the premises. Our only problem was with the toilet, early teething problems perhaps, but was reported on going to breakfast and was fixed by our return to our room. Our room, The Belfry was delightful and we will be back.

Room Tip: If you are not too good with stairs choose a garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuneFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLNick_James, General Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thank you so much for coming to stop with us and for taking the time to write such a kind review. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and gave our new food offer the thumbs up. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon to stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,078)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

769 - 775 of 1,078 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

My family and I visited The Judges Lodging restaurant last night and were greeted with a lack of organisation which I could only aliken to chickens with their heads cut off.

When we arrived, we were not greeted by any of the restaurant team to be either shown to a table or to be advised that they were busy (something we overheard in conversation from a customer complaining that they had been waiting for 45 minutes for their meal).

I believe this establishment is now under new ownership/management, I appreciate that there will be teething troubles. That said, when the basic courtesies on entry aren't observed, and with so many restaurants available in the city centre, the establishment needs to pick up its standards quickly or more people will be voting with their feet... as we did by walking out of the restaurant without making an order.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Ph1leasFogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLNick_James, General Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your visit to us. I'm so disappointed that we have let you down on this occasion and for this I sincerely apologise.
It appears that you visited on our official opening day and I think it is fair to say that with the lovely sunny weather we had meaning all outside areas were full, and a brand new team finding its feet, we did experience some issues maintaining a smooth service.
Please be assured that this at the absolute top of my list of priorities. With regards to management presence, again I can assure you that there were 2 members of management on but it appears that they were busy elsewhere in the building when you visited.
Again, this is something that I have already noted and raised as something we need to work on.
As you quite rightly say, the presence and visibility of management is key to a smooth and consistent service.
I do hope you will call in and see us again and thank you for the feedback - it will only help us improve more quickly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Celebrated our 48th wedding anniversary today in York, and enjoyed excellent service and good food at this newly re-furbished restaurant. We were served by Alexandra who was very friendly and even surprised us with an anniversary chocolate brownie and ice cream! We will return, hopefully before our next anniversay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JCD93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLNick_James, General Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for spending such a special occasion with us and also for taking the time to write such a kind review. I'm delighted that the team and Alexandra looked after you so well and that the chocolate brownie received a big thumbs up!
We look forward to seeing you again soon and Happy Anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had been watching the renovations take place for around 6 months and were eager to see the finished product. We wondered past yesterday and seeing that The Judges Lodgins were open, just called in for a glass of wine.

We went in via the cellar bar and the change is incredible. There is a sparkling new conservatory and outdoor garden space with lovely tables and chairs. This leads up to a terrace area with tables, high chairs, sofas all around the area with a good planting arrangement of lavendars and greenery. Looking at the wine list and menus, the prices are very competative for York and this high end establishment.

After we had our wine, we left via the first floor dining rooms and down the front steps. The first floor dining rooms are amazing; very contempory and welcoming. We are so looking forward to eating here.

The Amy and her colleagues are so warm and friendly, they are all a credit to Nick.

Congratulations and good luck for the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PearlandDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLNick_James, General Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for calling in to see us and I'm so pleased you liked our new look and enjoyed the surroundings. The outside terrace is proving very popular already and is perfect for enjoying a nice glass wine on.
Even better is the mention for the team and I will make sure that Amy and the team receive the excellent feedback you have given.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed at the Judges Lodging over the weekend of 27/30th June to celebrate our 34th wedding anniversary.
Was totally unaware building was reopening after renovation on our arrival day, until we received a charming email from Thwaites advising us of the situation.
Building is a old doctors house, Judges lodging, on three floors which has undergone extensive modernisation, redecoration and outdoor extension. The owners Thwaites (Lancashire Brewers, well we won't go into that) have spent a lot of money on the property and spent it well. Wife made an off the cuff comment straight from the film Titanic, " you could smell the paint and the sheets had not been slept in".
The building just reeks character and charm, big stone staircases, high ceilings and thick walls. If you want Holiday Inn style chain accommodation don't even bother.
The property is approached from a lovely courtyard up steep bifurcated steps. This could be a problem if you are disabled or infirm, and the hotel does advise that it has limited disabled access. Also there is no lift, but the property does not lend itself to having one fitted.
Met by a lovely girl on reception, prompt check-in, and quickly shown to our room on first floor. (room No1, Judges Room). Whilst wife was unpacking, went for a wander and was promptly given a impromtu guided tour by one of the waiting staff.
Room I is at the front of the property, large with high ceilings, and beautifully decorated. Bathroom has a shower, (very good, but possibly an increase in water pressure would make it great) toilet, wash basin and jacuzzi bath. Bath has high sides which could be a problem if you are infirm.
Room has flat screen TV and DVD player, Wi Fi access and a well stocked tea tray. A lovely little touch, a tea pot with a cosy shaped like a judges wig!!! now how cute is that.
Bed was very comfortable (french bed size I believe) with lovely crisp linen. Wardrobe space was good,with plenty of drawer space as well. One point to fellow travellers, no A.C. in any of the rooms., but our room did have stowed in the wardrobe two large fans. Also no mini bar, but then with reasonable bar prices who needs it.
Stayed for dinner on the Friday night as there was an offer on food as it was a a trial run to see how service ran.
Dinner is served very much al fresco on two floors. To be ruthlessly honest they may have to look at the seating layout to maximise space for both diners and waiting staff. Menu is upmarket pub grub with a twist (think Tom Kerridge), service for us was excellent, however it was noticable that there were a few glitches, but on opening night with staff feeling their way in this was to be expected. Food was excellent and wine is reasonably priced. Excellent bar with a good range of real ales and ciders, plus the usual keg fizz. Overall dinner was lovely and would definately come again.
Breakfast is served in the cellar bar, good range of cereals, fruit juice, fresh fruit and pastries. Hotel might like to look at serving toast to table. Tea and coffee were both excellent. Hot dishes for breakfast were very good, beware " the full monty" portions are enormous. Go hungry and enjoy.
Any negatives, only one, but that is not of the Hotels making, and that is location. Lendal is one of the main routes into York city centre, and although pedestrianised, with a pub across the road, there is a certain amount of noise from the plentiful hoardes of students, hen and stag parties. Noise is not really obtrusive with the windows shut, but with no double glazing may be an issue for some. Would suggest if this a problem try and book a back room.
Check out was smooth and efficient, again hotel might look at installing two screens to avoid delays when they are busy.
Overall it was an excellent weekend break, staff were attentive without being intrusive, OK there were a few glitches, But and it is a big But, get these ironed out, this Hotel will be excellent.
To revert to my old school report format as a final comment " Doing really well, minor attention to detail will turn excellent into superb"
Allow them a couple of weeks to bed in, then give it a try, try it now it is good, this hotel comes highly recommended, and I don't think you will be disappointed.
Other Hotels in York take notice. you have been warned.
Stay and enjoy, York is just great, England at its very best, as long as it is not raining. And they even do that well.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank matelot49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLNick_James, General Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for such a comprehensive and positive review but more importantly thank you for joining us on our opening weekend!

It was a pleasure to have you stay and it was lovely to talk to you over the weekend- I hope you had a safe journey back and would love to have you stop with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We saw Judges was reopening and went in on Sunday for the soft launch. We were told staff were still in training and there may be issues - there weren't! The food (we had a seafood platter and squid) was superb - in fact we could have eaten it all over again - particularly the crab pate!
Staff were so friendly and obviously very proud - and rightly so - of the transformation the venue has undergone. My husband and one of the senior front of house had a good wander round whilst he remembered how it used to look - its very much improved now!
I can see this becoming a must go to venue now in York, especially as it has outside space, so it'll get very busy in the summer no doubt. But, why would you not go to such a lovely friendly place? Especially when the food is beautiful!

Don't know about the bedrooms because we only went in to eat

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Peta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLNick_James, General Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

What a fabulous review of your visit- thank you so much for calling in and I'm delighted to hear you were looked after so well and enjoyed your food so much! The outside areas are sure to prove very popular in the warmer weather - particularly our new back terrace area.
As you rightly said, the team are all so proud of our new look and cant wait to show it off to all of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Called in on the off chance as had not made a reservation in the restaurant. Staff bent over backwards to accommodate us. They were lovely and made my night very special. Food was outstanding and surroundings were gorgeous. First time I have had a meal and been in a hurry for the next course.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLNick_James, General Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

I hope you had a splendid birthday celebration and thank you for choosing to spend it with us! I have passed on your kind feedback to the team about the food and the hospitality.
We very much hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,383 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
651 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#21 of 47 in York
1,522 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Judges Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Judges Lodging

Address: 9 Lendal, York YO1 8AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in York
#7 Luxury Hotel in York
#9 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: £119 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Judges Lodging 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extensively refurbished in 2014, the Judge's Lodging has 21 individually styled bedrooms, an original vaulted cellar bar,first floor dining and drinking and also 2 fabulous outside areas- quite unique within the centre of York! With a fabulous location in the shadows of the Minster, we offer a warm and friendly Yorkshire welcome to guests from all over the world. *Free Breakfast refers to our Bed and Breakfast rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Judges Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Judges Lodgings Hotel York
Judges Lodgings Hotel York
Judges Lodgings York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing