We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend break”
Review of Abbey Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abbey Guest House
Ranked #49 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Our trip was paid for and booked by our daughter and our family for Xmas present ,on arriving we were greeted by Jane who was very friendly ,she brought us coffee and we had homemade chocolate brownie ,she gave us our room key and asked if we needed anything to just ask .we then went up to our room which was overlooking the river Ouse it was lovely nice and spacious and bright .there was tea making facilities and chocolates and mints left out for us too .After a really good nights sleep we went down to a delicious piping hot breakfast which really set us up for the day .Kingsley and Jane really do make you feel welcome so if you want somewhere to stay look no further than the Abbey guest house only a short walk down the river to town centre . Thank you to you both for a lovely weekend break .Pearl and Colin xxx

Room Tip: Room numbers 1and 2 have the river views where you can watch the boats go up and down .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oyster2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

We have over the years stayed at the Abbey Guest house 3 times.
it just keeps getting better. Lovely hosts, location is perfect, free parking, 4* breakfast, greeted with tea n coffee and cake, rooms are very tastefully decorated and fabulous goose down duvet, made for a great nights sleep! Lovely front garden to sit in while the river passes by. Easy walk up to Lendle Bridge and town! So good i brought the room key home with me :)

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 overlook the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELLEJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed at the Abbey for our wedding anniversary and my wife's birthday. We booked for 2 nights and from arrival through to leaving on the monday morning our stay was 110% faultless. We arrived around 2pm on saturday to be greeted by Jane who made us feel more than welcome, Breakfasts were superb, just enough to see you through the day.

Location wise was superb for visiting York, we have stopped in York previously and the Abbey certainly beat all the other contenders hands down..

Jane & Kingsley we will be back some time soon.

Thankyou for a very pleasent stay

Steve & Beverley
xx

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The Abbey Guest House...Home from home. Excellent hosts Jane and Kingsley welcomed us on arrival with home made cakes and tea. Rooms are fantastic, warm and welcoming and the breakfasts set you up for the day. Close to the town, shopping and dining, this is without doubt the place to stay in York. See you next year !

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlisonStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

So it was bye bye to Gill and Alec and hello to Kingsley and Jane who had a lot to live up to and no doubt felt the pressure when they started up. They have nothing to worry about from us old regulars, however, because they are doing a fantastic job and we will definitely keep coming back. A very friendly couple who aim to please and do so most admirably. The 'secret' poached egg recipe was passed on and all's still well with the Abbey! We would recommend (and do!) to everyone who wants a stay in York, beautiful guest house. Faultless. Thanks for a great stay, guys. We'll likely see you before next December! Jill and Iona. x

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 have a river view and 4 poster beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jilicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The Abbey guest house has changed hands since our last visit. Gill and Alex have headed off into retirement and Jane and Kingsley have taken over. Obviously we were wondering if there would be any big changes but the usual high standards have been maintained. The rooms are spotless and the breakfasts superb. The same warm welcome with tea/coffee and a mince pie on arrival. We were very happy and have already booked for next year. Stewart & Delia.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 & 2 have the better views over the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stewart k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

guest house in beautiful setting on river close to town centre/railway station. New owners Kingsley and Jane are also a delight welcoming and friendly, very much appreciated hot drink on arrival and cake if only we hadn't been dieting. Will return here on our next trip to York.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbmanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#9 of 194 in York
278 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bishops Guest Accomodation
0.3 mi away
St. Raphael Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bronte Guest House
Bronte Guest House
#17 of 194 in York
417 reviews
0.2 mi away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#10 of 194 in York
891 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#4 of 194 in York
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Guest House

Address: 13-14 Earlsborough Terrace | Marygate, York YO30 7BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £91 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbey Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful, friendly Guest House, located on the banks of the river Ouse, only five minutes walk from the city centre, York Minster, the Yorkshire Museum and gardens and the National Railway Museum. Close to both rail and bus stations and all of York's other main attractions. En-suite rooms overlooking the river with great views. All rooms with TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Quiet location with free private car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Abbey Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing