We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful B&B!!”
Review of Abbey Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Abbey Guest House
Ranked #46 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Thornton, Colorado, United States
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A wonderful B&B!!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Abbey Guest House for 3 days and found it to be a great place to stay. The room was spacious with an updated bathroom. Coffee and tea were provided in room along with cookies. The breakfast room was lovely, and the breakfast just delicious. It's within walking distance to the train station and to town. We had a wonderful time and would definitely return!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PattyC814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    50
    7
    4
    12
See reviews for
40
239
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kawana, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Well located B & B in the centre of town with car parking available. Very efficient and friendly hosts who provided a good hot breakfast. A couple of rooms overlooked the river with larger room at the back which we stayed in. Very well appointed ensuite with bath which had recently been updated. Close to railway line but trains were not frequent and with windows closed noise was evident.

Room Tip: Front rooms for views, rear room for size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greentoow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This is our second stay at Abbey Guest House, with priviate parking, views of the river Ouse, all within walking distance, perfect.

Our hosts were attentive, spotlessly clean room, excellent bathroom, big comfy bed, all with everything you should need, condiments tray, well stocked.

Excellent breakfast, and the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon, was the best I've had.

Friendly atmosphere, nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraceyjayneL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Me & my husband stayed here for 2 nights, and it is the nicest B&B we have ever stayed in.

It is just a 5-minute walk from the train station, situated on the banks of the river, and another 5-minute walk into the town centre with all the attractions.

The owners greet you on arrival with a smile and an offer of cake & coffee.

We stayed in room 1 on the first floor (If you have limited mobility, this wouldn't be suitable as the stairs are very steep).

The room was large, modern and immaculately clean. The three windows offered beautiful views of the river.

The modern 4-poster bed was extremely comfortable, with crisp white linen on the feather duvet and pillows.

There are fitted mirror wardrobes, and a seating area where you can watch the boats on the water and the world go by.

The room also has a wall mounted TV, additional bedding, an alarm clock and fan.

The hospitality tray is well stocked with kettle, tea, coffee, milk, biscuits & chocolates.

The en-suite looks to be newly installed & decorated and consists of a power shower (which is definitely is) a wash hand basin and WC.

Clean fluffy towels and face cloths are provided, along with a small selection of toiletries.

A hearty breakfast, cooked fresh and to order, sets you up for the day ahead. There is also a good variety or fresh juice, cereal, etc on offer.

This B&B is in a great location, modern, immaculately clean, and excellent value for money. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mcgrooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HULL, ENGLAND
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Very nice place, right on the river front, five mins from train station, jane was a lovely host! didn't see her partner much but again very pleasant. Five mins to the town. Breakfast was spot on, sausages to die for. we had a room overlooking a car park so can't comment on view but lovely room all the same. Will defo stay again so convenient

Room Tip: Ask for room at front of house
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitbylovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Superb location. Spotlessly clean and bright accommodation, very comfy beds, feather duvets, pure cotton bedding. Bathroom of similarly high standard with excellent shower. Very good WiFi. Lovely breakfast with various options. Add to that a friendly and helpful host who genuinely enjoys what she does - you just couldn't ask for better.

Room Tip: Try to get a river view room if you can, but we stayed in their smallest room and still loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FirstMateKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Perfect location for access to the train station, views along the river (we watched the rowers practice from our bed!), and walking int York. Warm hosts, good breakfast, not one complaint! These are new owners, since last August '13, so please check the dates of any negative reviews!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StellaNoNo777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
St. Mary's Guest House
St. Mary's Guest House
#48 of 192 in York
208 reviews
0.2 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#15 of 192 in York
221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#2 of 192 in York
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Hazelwood
The Hazelwood
#40 of 192 in York
393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Minster Walk Accommodation
0.3 mi away
Lamb & Lion Inn
Lamb & Lion Inn
#32 of 192 in York
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Guest House

Property: Abbey Guest House
Address: 13-14 Earlsborough Terrace | Marygate, York YO30 7BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbey Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful, friendly Guest House, located on the banks of the river Ouse, only five minutes walk from the city centre, York Minster, the Yorkshire Museum and gardens and the National Railway Museum. Close to both rail and bus stations and all of York's other main attractions. En-suite rooms overlooking the river with great views. All rooms with TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Quiet location with free private car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Abbey Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing