We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint and pleasant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stanley House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stanley House
Ranked #175 of 205 York B&B and Inns
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Quaint and pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

This was our first experience with an English B&B. Some things are what they are--an old house updated to provide modern conveniences and en suite bathroom. This means small rooms, narrow halls and stairs, and a hodge-podge arrangement. However, the bed was comfortable and all was clean. There was an amoire with extra pillows and a hair dryer. The bathroom was fairly new and the view out our window over rooftops reminded us of Mary Poppins (chimneys all around).

It's important to let the hostess know when you plan to arrive because she does not live on site. There is some street parking, but it's limited; however, most people must arrive by taxi. It was a 10-minute walk to the Minster and old town. A full English breakfast is included. We didn't know what that was, but it is usually a fried egg, bacon (more like thin ham), mild sausage, stewed tomatoes, beans, mushrooms, and toast. There was also coffee, juice, and cereals (Frosted Flakes, some oat mixtures) The breakfast room had 3 or 4 tables. The hostess was very nice and helped us in planning our next night on the road.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are upstairs so plan to carry your luggage up the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lives2Travel2Live
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    4
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
11
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burton on Trent, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

There's a pot of fag butts on the doorstep and the door bell didn't work. It wasn't the best welcome. We were asked to pay up front as she'd to be too busy to take money in the morning due to cooking breakfast and we'd not even seen the room. The room itself was reasonably clean and OK in size. After the poor initial contact with our host she made a great effort to make us feel welcome and was very personable. The breakfast was excellent. Unfortunately the hosts happy disposition fails to make up for the tired surroundings and decor. Overall. It just needs a spruce up but is probably VFM.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gandalfthewhite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed at this Hotel for a birthday trip to the races.
Rooms were decent standard & very clean,though some
rooms are smaller than others on inspection.
For the price we paid I have no complaints & the breakfast
was very nice & the house keeper looked after us very well.
The walk into town was not too bad & plenty of pubs near
that did food etc.If you are going expecting sitting area's or
a bar etc this place is not for you......if you want a decent room
& breakfast the next day for a fair rate it could be the ticket!!.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lemonstar70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Good location for walking to town centre and nice clean room with everything you need

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunderland27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2010

this b&b is a 10-15 minute walk from the centre of york. The rooms have on-suite facilities and they are comfortable, they have everything that you need. The breakfasts are filling and enjoyable. The owner and staff are friendly and approachable. Overall a pleasant and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gemmaT95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
96 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2010

We stayed here for two nights at the start of our tour around York and the Yorkshire Dales.

The owner of the hotel met us at the door, and was so helpful, he offered to put our bikes in the garage, take our bags to the room, basically he is a really nice bloke.

He keeps a very smart and clean B&B, which he clearly takes a lot of pride in, he also takes time to get to know why you are in York and he suggests local attractions for you to do.

The breakfast is very nice; however the service on the Sunday morning was slow, painfully, slow. Nearly an hour we were in the dining room in total, now that may suit some people but for us it was just painful. Saying that the next morning when the owner was running breakfast he made a much better job of it.

We would recommend this hotel, however a word of warning if you are a little unsteady on your feet it might be worth booking a room which is not on the top floor, this is an old house and the stairs to the top are narrow and steep.

All in all very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JandDinNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2010

We arrived at the guest house which was in need of some upkeep both inside and out. Parking was on the pavement and "the traffic wardens usually leave you alone. The rooms were tiny and not well finished. We were booked in for two nights and no fresh towels or cleaning on the room. There are No bar, sitting room Etc. There is no privacy you can hear every thing going on in the other rooms. In all the pictures show on the wed site are mis-leading and bear no relation to what you actually get.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michele10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Heworth Court Hotel
Heworth Court Hotel
#59 of 205 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 3 in Clifton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Beechwood Close Hotel
Beechwood Close Hotel
#2 of 3 in Clifton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley House

Property: Stanley House
Address: Haxby Road Stanley Street, York YO31 8NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in York
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing