We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent for a cheap getaway”
Review of Middletons York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Middletons York
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent for a cheap getaway”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed for 2 nights with some friends and this was our 2nd visit. Reception and bar staff are very friendly and the hotel is really close to York centre. The rooms are standard but that is what we expected, the pillows were a bit hard so none of us slept that well. Breakfast was lovely and there was something to suit everybody though they are tight with the butter and tea. I would definately stay again though I am gutted they have cottoned on to charging for the car park.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank price1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your second visit to Lady Anne Middleton's Hotel, and we will definitely look into the quality of our pillows to make sure that they are as comfy as possible! Apologies for the car parking charges, however we match, if not beat, the prices of other city centres hotel and use this income to improve the car park and other areas of the hotel. Hopefully you will notice the improvements on your next visit! See you again in the future, Lady Anne Middletons Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    255
    104
    39
    22
See reviews for
155
387
28
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

A one night stopover with a late arrival, so we ate in the hotel. The meal was adequate but steak and chips on a wooden platter arrived cold. And not much choice of wine by the glass. Breakfast elements not so good. Poor coffee and reheated toast. Had to ask for non lump sugar, and it was difficult to source..... Room was well equipped, clean and spacious (even though access was not) and the front desk staff very friendly. I would definitely use again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mat1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Sincere apologies that the meal you had in our restaurant was not up to scratch. I have passed all these comments on to the head chef and restaurant manager to look in to. We do offer 8 different wines by the glass, and for a small independent hotel we feel this is quite reasonable. But we will look into this to see if we can improve our wine list. We are glad that you would use us again and hope that we have made all the improvements necessary for your stay to be perfect next time! Kind regards, Lady Anne Middleton's Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

My son booked a table at 4pm on Mother's Day and travelled from the Peak District to take us out to dinner ... We arrived just after a client was kicking off about the service and quality
The meal arrived and I asked was the small bowl of veg for 1or2 people.... It was for 2!! I asked for more and was told there were no roast potatoes or broccoli left..... We didn't get any on the first dish..... There was loads of undercooked turnip though which was gross... I had to ask for more gravy too
There were only 2 tables full while we were there and the service was appalling!!! They were standing around chatting ..... I was so upset as I have been recovering from a transplant and was a treat to go out..... They shouldn't have accepted the booking if the food had run out and it wasn't cheap!!!!

Room Tip: Didn't see any rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ladymaule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
I'm very sorry that you did not enjoy your Sunday Lunch with us. We did not run out of broccoli or potatoes so a member of our staff must have been incorrectly informed, and for that I am very sorry. There was no turnip, that was artichoke hearts, I apologise you were not correctly informed as to what the selection of vegetables included. We only put a small amount of gravy on each Sunday roast as some people do not like a lot, but of course we are more than happy to provide more to suit each individual liking. Obviously we were unaware of the medical conditions you were recovering from, and again I can only offer my apologies that this meal was not up to your expectations. I wish you all the best in your recovery and hope that you are not deterred from travelling to York in the future. Kind regards, Lady Anne Middleton's Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Great meal, although we were not asked how we would like our meat cooked, average prices. The staff were not quite as attentive as we would have liked, it took a while to get their attention for drinks service at the table.
If you are wearing heels to this venue I would advise you use the front entrance, as there is a steep slope at the back which is virtually impossible to walk down.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
I apologise wholeheartedly that you felt the service was no as attentive as it should have been. I will ensure the restaurant manager is aware of this and allow him to look into the matter with the staff. Other than that I am pleased you enjoyed the meal and I hope you will return again in the future. Kind regards, Lady Anne Middleton's Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I have eaten here a couple of times and always find the staff very friendly and accommodating and the food delicious.
We went for Sunday dinner yesterday and it was very pleasant.
I had a three course meal which was really nice. We have a young baby too and the waiter was very helpful and made our dinner very enjoyable.
I love the atmosphere in this place, it has a real "family business" feel to it.
The comedy night is also worth going to!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tr0lley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for a lovely review, we are glad to know that you had such a great dining experience with us. We hope you'll come back yet again for another great meal!

Many thanks, Lady Anne Middleton's Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The review below by 'bondopi' is completely at odds with my party of seven people who all thoroughly enjoyed the 'Lady Ann Middleton' experience. On arrival the Manager asked if we would like to go to our table , but we explained we would wait until the remaining guests arrived which was ok, the ambience of the bar area is superb with piano playing softly in the background, the beers on offer were as expected, good, as a CAMRA member I would expect nothing else. The service in the restaurant area was brilliant, especially as both eating areas were full to capacity, helped no doubt by the fact it was Mothering Sunday, the food portions were sufficient, food quality good, all the staff, both Bar and Waiting were very friendly and efficient and received a suitable tip to help top up their probable meagre wages. All in all a lovely afternoon was had and when in York again will certainly pay another visit. Maybe the bondopi group would prefer a fast food outlet.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hi Robert,

Many thanks for the brilliant review! Your kind words are greatly appreciated. We can't wait for you to return!

Best wishes, Lady Anne Middleton's Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Been going here for the past 6yrs , think it must be under new owner ship , the service was rubbish , very slow , the food was ok but not enough, when complained to manager , was spoken too like a piece of rubbish , the manager said he thought we had , had good service , we had to ask to be seated so we could eat , then we waited 1/2 hr for starter, then we had to ask for main course to be seved 1hr later, then another 1/2 hr wait for starter, did want coffee after the meal but did not want to have to wait for it . The portions were very small & the food was cold , the restaurant manager smelt very strong of sweat & had a very rude manner , will not go back & i would not recomend it to any one

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bondopi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Lady Anne Middleton's Hotel would like to apologise that you felt the meal was so disappointing. We had no other complaints on the day regarding the service or the food.

The Restaurant Manager and the Managing Director of Lady Anne's both felt that unfortunately, your method of complaint was rather unnecessary, shouting in the lounge when they were wanting to resolve any issues you felt had occurred.

I dined in the restaurant for Mother's Day myself, and personally felt the wait time and portion sizes were just right, however I obviously cannot speak for all!

It is unfortunate that you will not return, but we hope you are not deterred from visiting York in the future. Best wishes, Lady Anne Middleton's Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.7 mi away
The Churchill Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#12 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Kilima Hotel
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middletons York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middletons York

Property: Middletons York
Address: Skeldergate, York YO1 6DS, England (Formerly Lady Anne Middleton's Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Middletons York 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Middletons York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lady Anne Middletons York
Hotel Lady Anne Middletons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing