We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very shoddy service- avoid!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Middletons York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Middletons York
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very shoddy service- avoid!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Booked up a night in a deluxe suite at the Lady Anne over other hotels because it was advertised as having a pool. Checked this in advance and a note was even attached to our booking to ensure we had access to it. When we arrived it was evident that the pool was too small for more than two people, and further we were told by the staff that 'the pool was broken and the temperature four degrees below normal'. Found ourselves in the odd situation of having to convince staff to let us use something they'd advertised and we'd paid for! On checking out raised a complaint about this and was told 'you should have asked about this at the reception desk' which is exactly what we had done. Not really on to advertise services to hike up prices and then not actually have them. And to dissuade customers from using them. They offered no price reduction, no doubt thinking it very clever to get away with this false advertising. Ps the spa did not exist either!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Hi Guy,

I am very sorry that you had a negative stay with us.

The pool at the health and fitness centre next to us is a fitness pool, ideal for exercise. It is a hydrotherapy pool, and that is why it is the size it is. Due to the city centre location, it couldn't be any bigger unfortunately!

Although we do offer use of the pool, we do not increase our prices due to this. Additionally, the pool is owned by the health and fitness centre and therefore when it breaks it is out of our hands. We can only apologise that on this occasion the pool had broken and was not fixed in time for your stay.

Again, I am sorry that you did not have a good stay with us, and can only hope that you will return in future and give us another chance!

Best wishes,
Lady Anne Middletons Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    238
    101
    35
    21
See reviews for
148
368
26
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Arrived Saturday 3rd May at just after midday, parked in car park, I have a 4x4 pickup, no probs parking like I read before I went, I suppose a couple of the parking spaces could be a bit tight if others have not parked right, £10 per night for parking, we just stayed one night, the room was fine, if I was to complain about anything it would be the noise on the corridor but that was not the hotels fault, was other guests not thinking of others, the room was very clean and so was the hotel it's self, can I just say though the staff at this hotel are very very nice and can not do enough for you, very welcoming and very professional.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nigel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Hi Nigel,

All the staff at the hotel would like to thank you for the positive feedback! We are all very pleased that you had a pleasant stay!

We hope you'll return in the future!

Kind regards,
Lady Anne Middletons Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne and Wear
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights with 2 friends and can honestly say that from arriving we were given a lovely warm reception by each and every one of the staff.We stayed Friday and Saturday , Friday evening was perfect ,we had a delicious meal in the restaurant then retired to the lounge /bar where we had a really good time listening to music played by an acoustic guitarist .A 10 min walk will take you into York centre .Our room was triple bedded and it was huge ,and had all the amenities you could wish for .We were in room 51 and would def request this again on our next visit .

Room Tip: We paid a bit extra for our room which was a deluxe one, but it was well worth it .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowdrop1TyneandWear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you very much for the kind words, we are thrilled you had a lovely time at our hotel.

We can't wait for you to come back again!

Best wishes,
Lady Anne Middletons Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed here for one night. In arriving the staff were courteous, took details and then showed us around and up to our room. The hotel is currently going through refurbishment. The room we were in hadn't been upgraded. It was however very clean, a good size, had a walk in wardrobe and shower was powerful. If there was one thing I would improve was the bed. It was two single pushed together and could probably do with a new mattress. Having said this we had a decent nights sleep. The hotel is about a five minute walk from town and was in a quiet location. Breakfast was very nice and again staff were polite and efficient. Booking out was swift and staff were great. It appears the hotel is being rebranded as the 'Middleton'. We will definitely state again on future visits to York!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank family bull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review, we are glad you would return, and will look into the bed in the room you stayed in to see how we can improve the comfort!

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future,
Lady Anne Middletons Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Was looking forward to my 40th Birthday weekend here, especially after seeing the recent rebranding and modernisation that the hotel appeared to be carrying out, however we have to admit we were left feeling a bit disappointed and did not enjoy our stay when compared to our previous visit.

Our arrival was not made enjoyable thanks to the car parking situation. The car park is pretty tight, not very good to be honest, and clearly causes issues (ordinarily you now have to pay but we didn't because we booked prior to the new rule - personally we felt it was not good enough to justify charging) Despite having communicated with the Middleton hotel several times (answering electronic comms does seem to be an issue?) the woman at reception was far from nice towards my fiancee, all in front of people sitting out in the beer garden, all because we were the last to arrive and that we were late. I'm sorry, but instead of taking it out on the guests arriving, who had already told you that they would be here at 5pm, and when surely a reserved space means a reserved space .... maybe go and physically ask the typically inconsiderate BMW owner to actually move their car that was parked across two spaces!!! I ended up parked in a hatched yellow line area that was clearly not a parking space next to the gym, but no one seemed to make any attempt to move the offending car, so i just wrote on my car pass that i had been informed by staff to park there, and left it!! Another member of staff did apologise for the other member, but it wasn't a great start to our break.

The room was very nice i have to admit (if a bit sloping ...!!) and the massive bathroom and lovely bath was a great feature, although there were some water issues one morning where the water was cold for the shower, then just went off completely for five mins. Not ideal! The hotel is also ideally situated in York and is a great location for walking into town, five mins gets you to the heart of York

We thought the hotel was looking to modernise it's image, but it still felt rather mixed up. We glanced over the menu for dinner and chose to eat out, it still feels a bit fussy and as a veggie it's very very limited for me, and not suitably marked as will be required for the new food regulations by the end of 2014. Breakfast wasn't as good either, seems to have been slightly cheapened. Very few continental options, there was veggie sausages for me, but on the last day another couple of veggies arrived and had there been one more they would have been all-out as the waitress informed me those were the last - despite communicating dietary requirements i feel i would have lost out had someone else who had not communicated pipped me to breakfast, again not an ideal situation. The removal of the self serve continental side doesn't make sense either, the exact same toasting machine sits out of reach on the counter and seems to employ someone full time making toast, but when we looked round the amount of waste on tables was awful. As for the cooked side, there was a distinct lack of options (no potato scones, no hash browns, etc)

Maybe the hotel is still in transition, but if feels like there is a bit of an identity crisis and it's not sure what it wants to be, having really enjoyed our previous stay, we are not sure we would return to Middleton sadly

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FalkirkJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Hello Jim,

I am very saddened to read your review and that you did not have a good stay with us.

I would like to say sorry for the car parking situation that day, after speaking to management, they are aware of this issue and reservedly apologise for the less than acceptable customer service you initially received. The member of staff in question was spoken to and also sends apologies.

I can assure you that your comments regarding our menu not having enough vegetarian options have been taken on board, and our menu now has at least 50% vegetarian dishes or adjustments to meals to make them vegetarian. I understand this does not improve your stay but would like you to know that we have taken your comments very seriously.

Overall, I would hope that in the future you would return to Middletons and give us another chance to change your perceptions.

Best wishes,
Lady Anne Middletons Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanfairpwllgwyngyll, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed one night in a nice front facing double (small by US standards but thankfully we fitted just fine :) Stayed in what was a 19C hospital, and nicely converted it was.

Spic n span for sure.

Shower is better suited to one and not two people (760mm x 760mm I guess).

This place is all about its location, and with (tight) car parking on site for £10 a shot. See other reviews for the usual info on what to see. We finished the evening in the cinema which is just 7 mins walk across the water.

Breakfast was as I would have hoped, thanks

This trip made me reconsider just how hard I would like my imminent-to-purchase new mattress will need to be, the hotel one was as stiff as I had hoped, not too stiff. Perhaps too stiff to live with every other day of the year though, I think the trade call them 'hotel grade, and certinaly it was not a problem.

The one downside of this place seems to be .... that whatever you write in your review on Trip Advisor, a member of the hotel staff replies. Wonder if they will take the hint here....

Room Tip: Front facing not courtyard if you are in the hospital building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CPHLN2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review!

We like to reply to all Trip Advisor reviews good or bad, to either thank a guest for the positive feedback or to acknowledge the negative issues customers have experienced so that we can improve our service as much as possible!

Thank you again for the kind words,
Lady Anne Middletons Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Excellent location, a brief walk to many sites. Ancient Roman wall is on their corner. Staff was most cordial. Live music played in the lobby/lounge area did not disturb other guests. Currently hotel is renovating an area for small events and weddings--looks absolutely lovely. Spent four days in April there--daffodils were blooming everywhere. Lots of restaurants and culinary diversity nearby.

Room Tip: No elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank texrose2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for the kind review about our hotel, I am glad you had a pleasant stay and hope that you will return again if you re-visit York!

Best wishes, Lady Anne Middleton's Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#13 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.8 mi away
The Churchill Hotel
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middletons York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middletons York

Property: Middletons York
Address: Skeldergate, York YO1 6DS, England (Formerly Lady Anne Middleton's Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Middletons York 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Middletons York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lady Anne Middletons York
Hotel Lady Anne Middletons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing