We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Middletons York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Middletons York
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

lots of very keen staff, all very pleasant,food superb, bedroom pleasant enough, gym on the doorstep very well equipped and only a short walk from York Town centre yet surprisingly quiet and would definitely return

Room Tip: ask for one of the updated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hello Paula,

Everyone at Middletons would like to thank you for such a positive review, we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay.

Best wishes,
Middletons Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    239
    102
    35
    21
See reviews for
148
369
26
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

I booked this for my daughter and her husband for their 40th birthdays, after having a very enjoyable stay there myself a couple of years ago. My daughter and son-in-law were treated very well and thoroughly enjoyed their stay. Thank you

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hi Maureen,

Thank you for the wonderful review!

Best wishes,
Middletons Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely time here room was clean and spacious the staff cannot do enough for you we were half an hour late for breakfast over a misunderstanding but without asking they got the chef to rustle us up a breakfast with everything ! We arrived on a motorcycle we had no discrimination reception even suggested a space right outside our room so we could keep an eye on it. Wish we could have stayed another night would love to visit again!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hello Jennifer,

We are glad to hear you had a pleasant stay!

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best wishes,
Middletons Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Chose this hotel from your website and what a find. It ticked every box, situation is five minutes walk into the city centre and the hotel is really superb in every way. The bedroom we had was beautifully decorated and the bathroom was a delight, two wash basins and an excellent shower. We and our two friends enjoyed a beautiful meal in the restaurant, far superior to the one we had on our second night in York at an Italian restaurant

Finally the layout of the hotel plus it's great history is so in keeping with the history of York. The Reception staff were so professional and kind to us on our visit. We only live in Leeds but we can't wait for another excuse to take us back to The Lady Anne Middleton Hotel.

Room Tip: we had room 11 overlooking the garden, very quiet and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheila371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hi Sheila,

Your review was lovely to read, we are pleased you enjoyed it so much!

See you again soon!

Kind regards,
Middletons Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Really lovely friendly relaxed hotel. All staff we came into contact with were polite, professional and gave great service. Our standard rooms were fine, whilst relatively basic, were very clean and comfortable although ready for a bit of a refurb. Some of our party had the deluxe rooms which were beautiful. We used the hotel restaurant 2 evenings and it was great. Lovely food, good service and reasonable value. Breakfast was delicious. Hotel being refurbished, although this did not affect the quality of our stay at all. Would definitely stay again. Location was brill, really quiet and just a few minutes walk from town centre.

Room Tip: Worth opting for a deluxe or better if you want a special room, or for a special occasion although t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LAs17186364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for such a wonderful review.

See you again in the near future hopefully!

Best wishes,
Middletons Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Just returned form spending 3 nights here with my friend. I was lucky to have a single room (no.2) in the refurbished part - it was lovely - but my friend wasn't so lucky with her room (leaky roof, damp smell and noisy) but it was changed straight away for one she was happy with. The breakfast was ok, more fresh fruit and yoghurt would have been good. The only yoghurt was in a small glass with some sort of jam on top which didnt taste very nice. The staff were very helpful and friendly and I would definately visit here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room, mine was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hello Audrey,

Thank you for your kind review. Hopefully when you return there will be no minor hiccups and it will be perfect next time round!

Kind regards,
Middletons Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

We visited The Lady Anne Middleton hotel on Saturday for 1 night for my husbands birthday..checked into our Deluxe Double....mmm..debatable!
Greeted by friendly receptionist and shown to our room,
We had a shopping spree round York and returned to our room for a lie down and relax before going for a meal we had booked..
The room was freezing I could not get warm....later whilst in the shower (which was not very hot) I was mid washing my hair and the water turned cold, hubby rang reception to report this, they said they would be down to have a look, I was stood 10 minutes dripping wet with shampoo still in my hair...the guy came down and said 'yes it seems your right' and that he didn't know what to suggest as all rooms were booked..he promptly left us to go have a look at the boiler. I was stood another 15 minutes plus..he then rang our room and said the pressure was low on the boiler, and the heating should come on ASAP and water should be hot imminently...we waited and waited the radiators came on but water was the same..
We did not receive a follow up call to check the water was ok, so I had to finish shower in cold water, and hubby had to have a totally cold shower...we were then left with 20 minutes till our table was booked at a nearby restaurant ...which is not what we planned, we wanted a few drinks in the bar before our meal..
We reported to staff at receptionist that the shower was cold received an apology and told maintenance would be in to check in morning...
On check out we reported that we had no hot water and no maintenance came (after care) poor!!! She apologised and we were told they would weave our £10 parking as goodwill gesture!! What a joke!! We paid £150 for a room and it was not worth that at all...we will not be visiting again, and yes breakfast was a nightmare, no clean tables, what were cleared weren't reset, cattle market!!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tara1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hello Tara,

I apologise that the shower was not working correctly. Unfortunately that weekend we had an issue with our boilers, which I can assure we have taken this very seriously and have resolved the issue. I am sorry that the situation was not handled correctly, I can only presume that since this has not happened in the past that the receptionist was unsure how to deal with it. We have now trained all receptionists on the boilers and heating throughout the hotel.

Breakfast has been highlighted on tripadvisor as an issue that clearly needs resolving. We have a new food and beverage manager in place and his first role is getting breakfast up to standard. I apologise that on your visit it was not satisfactory.

I hope in the future you will give Middletons Hotel another opportunity to change your opinion.

Best wishes,
Middletons Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#13 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Churchill Hotel
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middletons York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middletons York

Property: Middletons York
Address: Skeldergate, York YO1 6DS, England (Formerly Lady Anne Middleton's Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Middletons York 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Middletons York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lady Anne Middletons York
Hotel Lady Anne Middletons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing