We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away with friends”
Review of Middletons York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Middletons York
Ranked #23 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Our room was a superior deluxe which was excellent. I could not fault the room or the bathroom, the bed was large and really comfortable.

It was a shame that our friends were not happy with their room. The room was a double, obviously not been re-furbished as it was very shabby!

We tried to go for a swim but was disappointed to find that this was not an easy task. It would have been helpful to have been told the precedure rather than try and guess.

Room Tip: Ask for a re-furbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steph558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

We tried to go for a swim but was disappointed to find that this was not an easy task. It would have been helpful to have been told the precedure rather than try and guess.

Hi Steph,

It is great to hear that you liked your room, and I am sorry that your friends didn't enjoy theirs. Hopefully all other aspects of their stay made up for any shortfalls they felt they experienced.

I am sorry the procedure for the pool was not explained correctly. I will check with our new staff that they understand how it all works and how to explain it to our guests.

Best wishes,
Middletons Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (872)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

797 - 803 of 872 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

My friend and I come back year after year to this lovely hotel. The location is perfect set in beautiful grounds just a few minutes walk along a quiet road into the centre of York. The staff are excellent always pleasant and helpful, bedrooms are good with comfortable beds, the standard of cleanliness is very high. The hotel is currently being re-vamped and what has been completed so far is tasteful yet modern in keeping with this beautiful old building.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Hi Margaret,

It is always lovely to hear that a guest has enjoyed our hotel so much that they have come back. After such a lovely review we hope that it won't be the last time either!

See you again soon we hope!

Kind regards,
Middletons Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Had weekend in hotel 31st - 1st June excellent
Close to city centre
Breakfast superb
Comfortable rooms - nice & clean
Staff helpful had to leave luggage prior to check in as arrived early - no problem
Evening meal very good in lovely surroundings

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Hi John,

Thank you for the comments on your review, glad that everything was perfect for you.

Best wishes,
Middletons Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

I booked a room for a myself and a colleague at late notice - booked on a Tuesday for 2 nights starting on Wednesday.
Arrived at about 6pm and Caroline from the front desk checked us in. She showed me to my room and explained on the way that I'd been given a free upgrade to an executive room. She let me in and said I'd love it... She was right!! Wonderful range of complimentary snacks and drinks (alcoholic and soft), a huge bed, and a wonderful bathroom with both a shower and a free standing roll-top bath.
Dinner in the hotel restaurant was delicious (I had pork belly and then creme brulee), and the breakfast was tasty too. The site is a great mix of tastefully restored bedrooms in older parts of the building, and a cosy, modern and warm reception and bar area.
It's lovely and very clean and comfortable - you shouldn't think twice if you're considering choosing Lady Anne's over a big chain (including the two nearby Hiltons).
I sincerely hope I get the chance to stay here again. And Caroline on the front desk is a complete sweetheart!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Hi Caroline,

Everyone at Middletons would like to thank you so much for such a fantastic review.

So great to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much!

We also hope you get a chance to stay with us again.

Kind regards,
Middletons Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Hotel is very close to centre of York, but on a quiet street, so you get a good night's sleep. Friendly staff and great breakfast with an interesting building. Access to comprehensive gym on site was useful. We used hotel car park because parking in York is expensive and you could park until 12.00 noon.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank IKBWokingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thanks for a great review! Lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Best wishes,
Middletons Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Hotel was clean and our room was spotless. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom an adequate size. The location of the hotel is perfect allowing for a very short easy walk in to York City Centre. On our last night we only wanted something simple to eat but did not want to eat in the restaurant - the staff were fantastic when we mentioned we just wanted fish and chips and happily fulfilled our request. Having travelled to York by train we did not use the car park so cannot comment. The breakfast room was a good size, bright and cheerful, and the staff very accomodating and friendly. There was an adequate choice of food for breakfast, however I have to say the only downside was the fried breakfast which was not particularly hot and swimming in oil and therefore to me seemed very unappealing. When I mentioned my concerns about the amount of oil to the staff they told me it was "okay because it is olive oil"! So never mind the taste and tuck in was the unspoken message. Anyway, the fry up seemed to be popular with most people so maybe this is not seen as too much of a problem for most people. Overall an excellent stay and would recommend hotel.

Room Tip: If possible request room in hotel as opposed to one of the rooms situated in the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Hi Sharon,

Thanks for the comments, glad to hear you had a great stay!

After your comments on breakfast, we are looking at changing the way we serve the bacon and eggs so that any excess oil is removed. We will be implementing this shortly! Thanks for bringing it to our attention!

If you stay again hopefully every aspect will be perfect!

Best wishes,
Middletons Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Nice, quite and relaxing place ... close to the city centre ... very nice and helpful staff ... good rooms but some bathrooms a bit too small ... Access to fitness centre is a plus ... Check out time a bit early (10:30 AM) but manageable

Room Tip: Nice beds :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoratiuB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for the kind review.

Unfortunately our buildings are listed so we cannot alter the size of the bathrooms!

We hope to see you again in the future,
Middletons Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,883 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#21 of 47 in York
1,523 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middletons York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middletons York

Address: Skeldergate, York YO1 6DS, England (Formerly Lady Anne Middleton's Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £97 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Middletons York 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please note our car parking is charged at an additional £10 per night per vehicle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Middletons York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lady Anne Middletons York
Hotel Lady Anne Middletons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing