We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“four fab days”
Review of Middletons York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Middletons York
Ranked #24 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“four fab days”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I had a great time here in York.My room was really lovely with a view out to the front gardens.Myself & my pal had dinner in the restaurant one night, one of the nicest meals I've had in a while.I even gave the receptionist a strange query as I found a poor bird with a broken wing just outside the conservatory,she phoned the local RSPCA for me & he was collected, as an animal lover I knew I couldn't sleep knowing he was out there in pain,she was great & I was delighted, everybody satisfied!!I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone & I miss my lovely swim every morning now!!A great choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hi Michelle,

Thank you very much for your great review. And we are glad we helped you to be able to sleep with in regards to the bird issue!

Hopefully you will choose us again when you next come to York!

Best wishes,
Middletons Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    264
    106
    42
    24
See reviews for
163
396
28
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I have arrived back today after spending 3 nights at Lady Anne Middleton, cannot speak to highly of this hotel, staff nothing was a problem to them, food great and good service, must mention the nicely starched napkins, these days most places have paper so well done. Also
my friend had a leg operation and had to have skin grafts a few weeks ago, so we had an upgrade to a easy accessible room thank you so much. Went to the Opera house to see Avita
4 minutes walk, no need for car or taxies to the shops and sights.
So thank you to the staff from check in to dinner service Wonderful stay

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stella186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hello Stella,

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay so much.

Hopefully see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Middletons Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedale, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

When we arrived last night we were originally given the wrong room . Maria was very helpful in correcting this error when we got into the 2nd room we asked if we could upgrade to the executive room this was no problem and we were given a very small charge Maria was so friendly and had no problem moving us.the only problem we had was finding the car park . The room was beautiful and huge. The bed was huge and the bathroom was to die for. We got breakfast in bed and the food in the restaurant was gorgeous . Would definitely come again and recommend to friends and family visiting york. We will be returning thanks to all the staff .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hi Natalie,

Thank you for the lovely review, and sorry for the initial confusion - glad to hear it was resolved quickly and efficiently!

See you again next time.

Best wishes,
Middletons Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buntingford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Weekend break here, and looking for something away from normal chain hotels. Not disappointed either, this was freshly decorated, and somewhat different (in a nice way). Very close to city centre, everything was walkable, good breakfasts (local sausages, home made muesli? If so, well done chef!), and not too expensive either. Parking was £10/day extra, but as they only have a small car park, I suppose its justifiable. WiFi was free :-)

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hello David,

Thank you for the great review! Glad to hear you liked it!

I would like to confirm our chefs make the muesli in house :)

Hopefully see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Middletons Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The staff are lovely & friendly, we stayed 2 nights as a relative was getting married in the Minster, cooked breakfast was plentiful and warm,
Short walk to the centre of York, car parking is available until mid day on the day of departure, which is chargeable although we had an email from the hotel back in January advising that we would be exempt from the charge as we booked in 2013 but the receptionist still charged me, when I queried it with her she said that I would still have to pay, so I have since forwarded the email to the hotel asking them to refund my car parking charge but have not received a response as yet, this is my only gripe with the hotel and really let them down as otherwise we had a lovely stay, it would just be nice if they could acknowledge my email even if it's just to say I was given the wrong information, and an apology and this is the only reason that I haven't given the full marks in my review

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazandy456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for the lovely review.

I know that the reception team have no responded to your email regarding parking, and also sent you a copy of your invoice which shows the car parking charge as £0.00. It perhaps wasn't explained correctly by our staff, and I apologise if that is the case. Either way I am sure they will resolve the confusion with you as soon as possible, and I apologise again for any inconvenience caused.

I hope this will not deter you from returning again in the future.

Best wishes,
Middletons Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Our room was a superior deluxe which was excellent. I could not fault the room or the bathroom, the bed was large and really comfortable.

It was a shame that our friends were not happy with their room. The room was a double, obviously not been re-furbished as it was very shabby!

We tried to go for a swim but was disappointed to find that this was not an easy task. It would have been helpful to have been told the precedure rather than try and guess.

Room Tip: Ask for a re-furbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
We tried to go for a swim but was disappointed to find that this was not an easy task. It would have been helpful to have been told the precedure rather than try and guess.

Hi Steph,

It is great to hear that you liked your room, and I am sorry that your friends didn't enjoy theirs. Hopefully all other aspects of their stay made up for any shortfalls they felt they experienced.

I am sorry the procedure for the pool was not explained correctly. I will check with our new staff that they understand how it all works and how to explain it to our guests.

Best wishes,
Middletons Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My friend and I come back year after year to this lovely hotel. The location is perfect set in beautiful grounds just a few minutes walk along a quiet road into the centre of York. The staff are excellent always pleasant and helpful, bedrooms are good with comfortable beds, the standard of cleanliness is very high. The hotel is currently being re-vamped and what has been completed so far is tasteful yet modern in keeping with this beautiful old building.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hi Margaret,

It is always lovely to hear that a guest has enjoyed our hotel so much that they have come back. After such a lovely review we hope that it won't be the last time either!

See you again soon we hope!

Kind regards,
Middletons Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#19 of 47 in York
1,476 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,547 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
619 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middletons York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middletons York

Property: Middletons York
Address: Skeldergate, York YO1 6DS, England (Formerly Lady Anne Middleton's Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Middletons York 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please note our car parking is charged at an additional £10 per night per vehicle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Middletons York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lady Anne Middletons York
Hotel Lady Anne Middletons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing