We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely quiet hotel very close to centre of York”
Review of Middletons York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Middletons York
Ranked #25 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Just stayed for the one night, but found the hotel to be very pleasant, very clean and has everything you need - big enough clean bathroom, beds were average in terms of comfort, good tea and coffee supply in the room, flat screen TV with plenty of channels, walk in wardrobe and lots of light in the room with big windows.

The hotel is in very nice surroundings, and has a lovely leafy outdoor area with lots of plants / trees etc, and has a car park. It's also very close to the city centre, about five minutes walk. Surprisingly though this hotel manages to be quiet, and we didn't experience any noise disturbances overnight despite its city centre location.

Staff were pleasant, and breakfast was great - could get a full cooked breakfast, toast, juices, tea and coffee, cold meats and cheeses, pastries and cereal. Very nice breakfast room, which had been set up nicely.

The only thing I would say was that the bathroom was a little bit dated.

Overall this hotel didn't blow me away with luxury, but it was very pleasant and very clean and great location! I would recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bethany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Hi Bethany,

Thanks for the great review, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay.

I hope you choose to return in the future, and that next time we can exceed your expectations.

Best wishes,
Middletons Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (878)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

788 - 794 of 878 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

The hotel is in a good location within walking distance of the city and all the attractions. There is good parking on site but does cost an extra £10/day. We did get a large twin room but it did have restricted headroom in the bathroom so had to be careful. The towel rail had a warning ' very hot' and it was, be careful if you have children. We literally booked the room on the day but it is the type of hotel that you could pay more and have a better quality and standard of room. The breakfast was good but we did find that when we came down for breakfast at 09.00 we had to ask a few times for plates/bowls/glasses etc as stocks hadn't been replenished on the buffet counter. The cooked breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Hi Nick,

I apologise that the breakfast was not as stocked as it should have been, and all the other little niggles that occurred!

Hopefully if you return these issues will not happen again!

Best wishes,
Middletons Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

First I'd heard of this hotel albeit have stayed in York many times. Hotel perfectly place in centre of the city, five minutes walk to the river Ouse, this old hospital has been transformed in a very inviting way.
We stayed in an annex opposite the reception and our room was superb, bathroom almost the some footprint as the bedroom in size.
A pleasant sun garden enclosed from any traffic noise, reception area which is within the bar / lounge is one of the best I've seen with high open ceiling, very spacious similar to a converted barn.
Staff and service second to none, breakfast multi-choice and even ate dinner there one night as the whole experience was so worth while.
Next time we are racing, it's Lady Anne Middletons.

Room Tip: Can only recommend the building opposite the reception, the stairs "on the left".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 388SUSH388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review! I am thrilled that you discovered us, and its lovely to hear that you will be back.

We will see you then for hopefully another perfect stay.

Sincerely,
Middletons Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I stayed at the hotel for a night recently. I found this hotel very nice with friendly staff and brilliant food as well.
The breakfast was buffet style and wide range to choose from.
I will be back. :) :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 960ZToth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you very much for the great review!

See you again soon!

Best wishes,
Middletons Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

I went here for a peaceful break, only to be rudely woken by drilling outside my window. There was no warning, or apology! The pool was closed for maintenance, and the fire alarm went off for a test while I was resting also. There was no warning in my room anywhere that a test would be taking place. It was just a disappointing stay overall.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John75kong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Hi John,

Sorry to hear you had an unpleasant stay. After speaking to management, the drilling you mention was at 3.30pm for no more than 20 minutes and our of our management team did apologise about that. Additionally, the fire alarm test is carried out at 10.30am every tuesday morning which is noted on the reception desk and also in the room pack on the table. Furthermore, you were offered a night free of charge which you declined.

I am sorry that the pool did not work that day, and that you had such a disappointing stay.

Kind regards,
Middletons Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Although it has been a while since staying here I thought I would let fellow travelers know that the hotel is fine but they are now charging residents of the hotel £10 per day to park there cars. I find this a disgusting way to get more money out of residents and will think twice about staying here, as I hope other ex-guests of this hotel will

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank DeanTaylor44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Hi Dean,

I have to say I am disappointed to read your review. As you say, it has been a while since you stayed and you think the hotel is fine. Therefore, 2 out of 5 feels slightly harsh based on charging for parking! We now charge for parking as do many hotels in York, and with being within the city walls we feel this is fair. We match or beat our competitors to offer value for money, and there are no central car parks that charge as low as us. We are using the money to improve the parking facilities and have also added a barrier to increase security.

I do hope in the future that you will change your mind and return to the hotel!

Best wishes,
Middletons Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Lovely hotel complex with lovely sitting out areas, wide choice of room type and walking distance to the river. Staff very friendly and helpful, rooms very clean and comfortable. Despite all the restaurants in York, ate in the hotel (staggering distance to room) and the food was excellent. What was impressive was the quality and customer care provided by the management. Our food was late being prepared due to large party no.s in the restaurant, and before we had chance to raise any complaint about the wait, we were offered nibbles, continually kept informed of waiting times and offered a large reduction on the final bill. The staff went the extra mile to ensure we were looked after despite the masses in the restaurant. Well done to the team... your customer care is exemplary.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phoenix_food_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review. And many apologies for the issues in the restaurant, I am glad that it was handled in the correct manner and did not impact your stay!

Hopefully if you return there will be no issues at all!

Best wishes,
Middletons Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.7 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,590 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,920 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#16 of 47 in York
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
657 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Churchill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middletons York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middletons York

Address: Skeldergate, York YO1 6DS, England (Formerly Lady Anne Middleton's Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £87 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Middletons York 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please note our car parking is charged at an additional £10 per night per vehicle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Middletons York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lady Anne Middletons York
Hotel Lady Anne Middletons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing