We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room disappointing - staff and food excellent.”
Review of Middletons York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Middletons York
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Room disappointing - staff and food excellent.”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I booked this hotel based on the pictures of the rooms and location. On arrival we were informed by reception " you have got one of the old rooms that have not been refurbished" not the best introduction ! whilst the room was adequate and clean it was very clear on viewing the refurbished rooms that we had paid the same amount for substantially less in terms of quality. Had we been offered a reduction for a less well appointed room that would have been fair - however clearly this was not the case.
We then spent in excess of £220 on meals and drinks in the hotel - no complaints about the food/staff/ or the bar - we ate there both nights so can recommend. Location is also excellent.
As we have now spent over £460 in this hotel in accommodation and food and drink over 2 days it was more than disappointing to be told that should we be in the car park after 12 noon we would be charged a further £10 for parking even if we only went an hour over. We arrived Friday at 3.30 and paid £20 for two days parking.plus the car park was in fact half empty!
On the whole whilst much of this hotel was good - it needs to be made clear that there are rooms which have not been renovated and you will be told you have an old room whilst being charged the same price. Not good business. Nor is it good business practice to ask for further parking fees from guests who were willing to spend their money in the restaurant and bar.
Overall disappointed but commend the staff an food.

Room Tip: Always ask for refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Christina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hi Christina,

I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay, and I would like to apologise for the staffs handling of this situation.

I agree that you should have been offered extended car parking free of charge on your departure day, and I am sorry that was not an option given to you.

Our prices are worked out on our standard of room and then increased for deluxe/executive rooms, so therefore we feel our prices are very fair and also in line with the rest of York.

If you could email Jolanda on Jolanda@middletonsyork.co.uk then she would like to discuss what she could do to make up for the shortfalls that occurred during your stay.

Thank you,
Middletons Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    260
    105
    39
    24
See reviews for
156
395
28
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night July 18th as a surprise birthday present booked by my wife. Room was fantastic, reception staff were efficient and very friendly, breakfast was good.All in all a very pleasant stay would recommend if staying in York.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hi Paul,

Thank you very much. We hope to welcome you again in the future!

Best wishes,
Middletons Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornaby on Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

stayed 3 nights here .Hotel excellent. Food very good .Reception staff and chambermaids , excellent , friendly , helpful , and always smiling . The only places that needs attention are the dining rooms . The main dining room needs some experienced staff to help the new staff members . One of the new waiters / bar staff was like Manuel out of Fawlty Towers in as much that he was totally out of his depth . Having said that he really did try and was pleasant and did try to help . As for breakfast it needs to be more organised . Two out of the three mornings WE had to ask for tea/coffee were as some yables were being asked twice if they wanted tea/ coffee.
Will return .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank makem52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review, and for the comments on what can be improved. We will try and resolve these issues as soon as possible!

I don't think our barman likes his new nickname, but we thank you for it as it makes us laugh! Hopefully when you return he will have improved leaps and bounds.

Best wishes,
Middletons Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We had booked hotel for four nights. My mother and l were travelling for nearly four hours from our town. On choosing the accommodation l was very careful to select a deluxe room due to length of our stay, with good views and in a location with easy access to all the sights of York. On phoning to arrange booking l confirmed with receptionist all the details of a deluxe room with view, twin beds and specified l was travelling with my mother. At this stage l must add my mother is in excellent health and is in employment full time. On arrival at the hotel, we were shown to a twin room on the ground floor or should l say below floor level. The room was opposite some steps and was dark and depressing and we stated this was not the room requested or specified at time of booking. Also the room was not in the specified Lady Anne hotel because the rooms are all doubles and not twins however l was not informed of this information at time of booking. Well it appears when booking the receptionist had assumed my mother was elderly and infirm and stated l had requested a ground floor. This was certainly not the case as they could see my mother was able bodied and well. On requesting a change we were informed the hotel was full and because l had requested a twin room and we were staying for four nights they would be unable to relocate us. However if the stay was one or two nights they would have considered upgrading us. All l can say is apologies for offering our custom to the hotel for four nights!!. We were told with a dismissive attitude we could have a full refund. They reluctantly offered to help us find another place to stay knowing of the distance we had travelled. We are now in another hotel, which l found for one night to enable us to time to find another place to stay hopefully with helpful and courteous staff. No thought was given to if we could afford to stay elsewhere because refund takes three days to return to account. If we were on a tight budget we would have had to return home. Thoughtless, inconsiderate and uncaring is all l can say.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank LorraineJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hello Lorraine,

I am very sorry to hear that you are disappointed with the service we provided.

I can only presume there was a communication error between the hotel and yourself. The room was ground floor as requested with a view of the garden. We understand it is not the view of the main garden, however it is a ground floor, deluxe room that is a twin and that is not situated viewing the road. We do not feel the room is dingy, but I am sorry that you felt that way. We are a hotel of 6 different listed buildings so therefore not all our rooms are in the ‘Lady Anne’ house on site.

I am not sure where the ground floor specification was added, and I am sorry that we were unable to move you into another room. We unfortunately were unable to upgrade you because of the executive rooms being fully booked for the last 2 nights of your booking.

Additionally, I apologise if you found our staff dismissive and reluctant to help, as you can see from all our other reviews our staff constantly get praised.

I hope that the remainder of your visit to York is not overshadowed by the events at the hotel, and hope that you have a wonderful stay at the alternative hotel.

Best wishes,
Middletons Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My Mum and I stayed here Wednesday night in the twin room. The woman in reception was warm, friendly and helpful. The room was quite large and lots of tea, coffee and a hot chocolate provided. Had free unlimited wifi and excellent location. We had dinner in the hotel and it was absolutely delicious, perfectly cooked and seasoned. Lovely sitting outside on fine evening with ours drink too. Quiet rooms and comfy beds.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hi Rebecca,

Fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for the superb review!

Best wishes,
Middletons Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

This is a decidedly mixed review. First the good: The hotel is located across the river from downtown York. The grounds are beautiful, as is the exterior of the building. The lobby bar was nice, and had wifi available. The breakfast buffet was also nice. The location is an easy walk into the city. York, itself, is an amazing town. I could go back just to stroll the streets again enjoying the history. The best beer I enjoyed in the UK was in York at the Three Tuns Tavern (Marston's Pedigree, if you were wondering). Although I had a Worthingtons Creamflow in the hotel, that I also found quite good.
Now for the not as good: the hotel was a hospital for many years. I am a physician, and thus found that interesting. However, my room FELT like a hospital room. It was very plain and simple. No frills at all. The plumbing was also suspect, however after speaking to locals, it seems that is a common problem in England, apparently most commonly irritating to Americans. :)

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MTKtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for the review and all the comments. I apologise that you didn't feel the room was up to standard! I am unsure what the plumbing issue was, however I will get our maintenance team to take a look just to be sure!

I hope if you return to York you will give us a second chance to turn it into a 5* review!

Kind regards,
Middletons Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Lovely quaint hotel in the centre of York. Easy walking access to all the main sights. On the banks of the river. Our room was on the street level but it wasn't noisy. We stayed on a very hot day in Summer but there was no air conditioning and the window couldn't be open wide. It got a bit warm during the day but at night wasn't a problem. The breakfast was fantastic! Excellent choice of hot food which was always kept fresh. Parking needs to be booked in advance. They don't have many spaces and spare parking with the gym so they do run out.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NextStopTheMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you very much for the review! We will check your room number and get maintenance to take a look at the window to see what we can do to help!

Best wishes,
Middletons Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,197 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#20 of 46 in York
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.7 mi away
The Churchill Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middletons York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middletons York

Property: Middletons York
Address: Skeldergate, York YO1 6DS, England (Formerly Lady Anne Middleton's Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Middletons York 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please note our car parking is charged at an additional £10 per night per vehicle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Middletons York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lady Anne Middletons York
Hotel Lady Anne Middletons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing