We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“break in York”
Review of Middletons York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Middletons York
Ranked #25 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

friendly staff,attentive and helpful..spotless and clean..very good food...easy walk to centre of York...Would stay again..and next time take my swimming gear...good sized pool and gym...could not fault it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank CumbriaBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Hi Barbara,

Thank you for the review. Great to hear you would stay with us again. Hopefully we will see you soon.

Best Wishes,
Middletons Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (909)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

787 - 793 of 909 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

Spotlessly clean, great Internet, restaurant unexpectantly quite good (had the sole).

Very helpful staff, couldn't fault it. Great position. Could walk everywhere. Good value.

Newspaper delivered to door a nice touch. A good lounge in which to have a drink. Breakfast included, a full range and a fresh pot of tea brought to the table a plus.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaxofMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Hello Max,

Thank you for the great review, I am glad that your stay was pleasant and the staff were helpful!

Kind regards,
Middletons Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Well worth the five star review. Hotel is very well maintain and has been recently renovated (according to the staff). Room was clean, well appointed and had a very nice view, and for once the online photos did not deceive. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Bar and restaurant were attractive and the food was good. Well located on a quiet but safe street with very easy walking access to the city center. Nightly rate was comparable to a number of pubs and guest houses but quality was significantly higher. Would definitely return and wholeheartedly recommend.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank colincecil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Hello Colin,

Thank you for a wonderful review!

Best wishes,
Middletons Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

As a special evening away, we have stayed at Grande Cedar Court Hotel couple of times. Wonderful but lacking in any atmosphere. Good old Tripadvisor led us to the right place when we fancied a night in York again. Lady Ann Middleton hotel is in the heart of old York. If it's a huge town centre hotel, ie, a Marriott or similar you fancy........font bother coming here. But if it's quaint, traditional with a modern twist, then you have found it. A couple mins walk and all the centuries peel away walking in York centre shambles. Anyway, it's a lovely hotel and reasonably priced. We stayed on a Sunday evening when they offer discounts on accommodation. We will return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank GeoffR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Hi Geoff,

Thank you for the great comments, I am glad you found us and enjoyed your stay!

We hope you will return again soon.

Kind regards,
Middletons Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in Room 10 on 9th and 10th August. It was a first wedding anniversary treat and we brought our one year old son along. The deluxe double was faultless : excellent decor, comfortable beds and in room facilities, free wifi and high quality products in the bathroom. The hotel is quirky and blends the traditional and modern parts perfectly. The staff are friendly, welcoming and warm.
The hotel is close to everything in York while maintaining an air of seclusion. The grounds included two fish ponds of which my son was particularly fond.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and hope to stay here again in the near future!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mandafrenzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thank you very much for the review! It is lovely to see that you enjoyed your stay. We also hope you will stay here again, and we can't wait for you to do so.

Best wishes,
Middletons Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

stayed at this hotel for 3 nights commencing 4th aug .check in was swift and pleasant and we was shown to our room ,which was a deluxe double . the room was spacious and pristine of nice decor very large bed .the bathroom had been refurbished to a good standard with his and hers sinks and all the trimmings. all through the hotel the management had obviously aimed for a high standard and again was very clean . the breakfast room also pleasant and the breakfast itself was very pleasing and filling.the grounds were well tended . the bar was well stocked with pleasant staff .we did not try the restaurant but did look nice .all in all we would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and would consider staying here again .

Room Tip: ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank phil h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Hi Phil,

Thank you very much for the wonderful comments regarding your stay with us. I am glad that you found so many aspects of the hotel so good.

It is also fantastic to hear you would recommend us and return in the future.

We hope that you will do very soon!

Kind regards,
Middletons Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Have just returned from a two day stay at the middletons. A lovely, historic building within easy walking distance of the city's attractions. When booking, we requested a quiet room but found we overlooked the fairly busy carpark. The room itself was spacious clean and the beds comfortable. The restaurant menu was varied but somewhat overpriced. The food good, particularly breakfast, thought the breakfast staff were young people who were disorganised & lacked direction. We would, however stay again

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank geoffallen999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Hello Geoff,

I apologise for the confusion with your room, I am unsure as to why the reception team overlooked your request but I will pass this on to the Head of Department to ensure it does not happen in future.

Our breakfast team are all receiving training at the moment with out new Restaurant Manager, so when you return you should see a significant improvement.

We hope to see you again soon,
Middletons Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.7 mi away
The Churchill Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,569 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
3,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middletons York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middletons York

Address: Skeldergate, York YO1 6DS, England (Formerly Lady Anne Middleton's Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £67 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Middletons York 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please note our car parking is charged at an additional £10 per night per vehicle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Middletons York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lady Anne Middletons York
Hotel Lady Anne Middletons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing