We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfecto”
Review of Middletons York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Middletons York
Ranked #25 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2014

This is our first stay and we are extremely happy especially the personal service of the reception manager and the wonderful staff there. We were impressed with the welcome message, The room was decorated in a fab era and most of all it is spacious. Very tastefully decorated with gorgeous wallpaper. Breakfasts were always heavenly, not typical boring hotel standard breakfasts. Being in the travel/hospitality industry before has made me very aware on personal service, hotel rooms and amenities and have definitely full marks on all aspects of a great hotel to stay in! A big thank you to the staff for being always so accomodating to our requests for early check in, making the great afternoon tea possible and making our stay totally memorable! What makes a hotel oustanding is not only the hardware but the software, which is the wonderful hardworking staff who understands the importance of discerning hospitality and that is evidently shown throughout this classic hotel.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Prado_Enea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2014

Hi there,

It is wonderful to read that you had such a great stay, and thank you for the great review!

We hope you will return again soon.

Best wishes,
Middletons Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (913)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

780 - 786 of 914 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2014

I stayed here with a friend as the tail end of Hurricane Bertha blew itself out. We arrived, after a pretty terrible 8 hour journey featuring traffic hold-ups, floods, road closures, re-routing, in torrential, monsoon-like rain. I was soaked by the time I had run the 20 feet from the car to the reception, where the friendly receptionist promptly instructed us to park just where we were and come in to get dry. An umbrella was quickly produced to help with bringing in our cases and we were warmly welcomed and checked in.

Our rooms were in the new wing so, although on the small side, they were very fresh and clean and also very quiet, at the end of a corridor overlooking the garden.

It was 9pm by the time we got to the restaurant. The food was good, if not exceptional, and they were very apologetic when my friend's steak arrived well done rather than rare - it was quickly replaced with a steak cooked to her liking.

The next morning I woke up early and went for a lovely run along the river - I was soon out of town and into the country, so the position of the hotel, so near to the town centre and the tourist attractions of York and yet set in a quiet situation close to countryside and with the river flowing through it all, seemed pretty perfect.

The walk into town is very swift and we enjoyed mooching around the Shambles, watching people enjoying their drinks by the river and checking out restaurant possibilities.

Staff were all really friendly and helpful; the buffet breakfast was plentiful with a good range of choices and freshly made granola that was to die for! The only breakfast draw-back was the arrangement of the buffet and the tables - someone needs to do a time and motion study and rearrange everything so that there is a smoother flow and more space around the food!

Downsides were parking - quite a challenge getting into and out of the car park and another challenge to find a space; and I think it was perhaps slightly on the expensive side.

But all in all it was a perfectly fine place to stay and I would happily go again.

Room Tip: The rooms in the new wing were very clean, fresh and quiet. I think that a programme of refurbishmen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pipsiwah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2014

Hello,

Thank you for such a detailed, fantastic review of your stay with us!

I am sorry that you found the car parking an issue, however we are within the city walls so our space is limited! We still feel it is good value for money, giving that city centre car parks charge a minimum of over £2 an hour.

We hope to see you again in the future!

Best wishes,
Middletons Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

My wife and I stayed for two nights over the past weekend and had a wonderful time. The hotel staff were all very welcoming, offering help whenever required. The superior room was ideal for our needs, large, clean, comfortable and quiet.The large double bed was very comfortable. The food in the hotel was first rate. The Breakfast was delicious, all freshly cooked and more that I could eat. The hotel itself is an oasis of calm close to York City center. After walking around the city (just 5 mins walk way) it was a welcome relief to return back to the hotel for a cool drink on the patio area away from the hustle and bustle. There are numerous small traditional pubs within walking distance too, which gave us an excuse to go explore. We had an excellent time and say thank you to all the staff for being so welcoming. we will be staying again next time we are visiting York.

Room Tip: We had room 11 which was on first floor clean, quiet and very comfortable with a huge double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2014

Hello Stuart,

Thank you very much for the lovely review. It's great to hear you had such a fantastic time!

See you again soon!

Kind regards,
Middletons Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

An oasis of calm in the centre of York, friendly staff, wonderful setting, excellent restaurant, very nice room, we came by train so limited parking not a problem, the rooms are compact, but the hotel consists of many grade two listed buildings linked together, and the history is reflected in the room size, the shower could have been a little more powerful, but the ambiance of the room and the delightful public areas more than compensated. five minutes walk and you are standing on a bridge overlooking the river in the very heart of York, however when you return to this haven all is peaceful. we will return to York and we will stay here.

Room Tip: Book early and advise that you will be driving, there is a car park charge, but I think the winners...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rolie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2014

Hi there,

Thank you very much for the fab review!

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best wishes,
Middletons Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Cant think of anything positive to say about this place - we were expecting just a slight touch of luxury albeit for one night only , but were shown to a "superior" room which was actually more like the kind of room you get in an old people's home circa 1970 .

Even getting into the car park was a hassle , electric barriers , very steep hill approach which must be hell in winter .

The swimming pool is in fact a resistance training pool not one you can swim in and you have to book a slot - sorry - thats OK for gym users , not good enough for residential guests expecting a peaceful swim .

The room was in a horrible annex , (nothing like the lovely cover shots of the hotel which , we margined , would be a bit like a country house hotel) , but in the middle of York a symphony of browns and beiges - so , not a tuneful symphony but a depressing, drab drone - the two single beds pushed together were sagging in the middle .

Furniture was the kind of standard "brown" hotel furniture - dressing table covered in old drink rings.

The room had no bath , but it had a walk in shower , the ceiling was covered in mould spores .
The loo was a disabled one and very high compared to a normal suite - I'm not a tall person , the rest I will leave to the reader to fill in .
The loo had no lid - the whole bathroom was very smelly - the grab rails made it feel like an old peoples home - it was just depressing .

After a very bad nights sleep, we got up , had breakfast and left the next day without using the showering facilities as they just felt unclean - showered when we reached home .

We did complain on leaving but the best the receptionist could do was refund our "extras" i.e. the newspaper charge and the car parking fee. £130 a night reduced to £117 - not really acceptable but I was in no mood to haggle - just wanted to leave .

Breakfast was a mediocre buffet served in a cramped "dining hall" which again, felt terribly utilitarian - only white toast was offered , no Marmite and the plates offered for use are actually fish course plates i.e. smaller than normal dining plates which means food falls off the sides as they are too small to put a cooked breakfast on - I don't know why hotels think its acceptable to use fish course plates for breakfast, it just looks cheapskate to my mind .

Hardly any fruit was on offer .

The hotel's excuse seemed to be that they had a "wedding party" staying - sorry , it doesn't wash . If you cant step up to the plate just cause you are full , you need to re-think your coping strategies.

The only positive thing I can say was the toiletries were very nice - I would have used them if the shower had felt clean enough to have a shower in .

Just horrible - cant recommend and could never face going back .

Room Tip: Maybe the rooms in the original building are nicer - they couldn't surely be worse than the one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 55something
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

As you can see from our other reviews, our deluxe/executive rooms rarely receive any criticism, however everyone's taste is different. In regards to the building you stayed in, the two buildings that are connected are both Grade II listed, and built in the 17th/18th century, which we feel have wonderful character and history. However, I will investigate the furniture having stains and the bed sagging in the middle. I apologise if this was the case.

The electric car parking barrier is for increased security, so that guests know their cars are safe throughout their stay. The slope is obviously not something we can alter, however it is perfectly safe and usable throughout the year.

Again, the pool is not something we can alter, and feel that for our central location, the pool we offer guests is of a good quality. Our fitness facilities on site are much larger and have more equipment than any other hotel in York city centre.

I certainly would not describe our breakfast room as a dining hall. We have a photograph of the breakfast room in our 'Professional Pictures' section, which shows how light and bright the room is.

Obviously, our hotel just was not to your taste, and I apologise that it did not meet your standards. I hope when you next visit York that you find somewhere more to your liking.

Kind regards,
Middletons Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We enjoyed a 3 night stay at the hotel from 24th August and simply could not fault it. We booked an executive room as we have a 4 month old baby and needed the extra room for the travel cot. The room was huge with an extremely comfortable bed and a fantastic bathroom with a roll top bath. The staff were very welcoming and friendly and simply could not do enough for us. Our waitress at breakfast on the first morning even remembered our tea order from the previous afternoon and asked if we would like this with breakfast. We've never written a review of a hotel before but given some of the negative reviews that we read before we stayed there, we felt compelled to write one this time. One of the previous reviews said that it was 'a haven' away from the hustle and bustle of York and it really was! We've stayed in a number of hotels in York before but this was by far the best. We would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Cat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Hi Cat,

Thank you so much for the lovely review. I am thrilled that your stay was so perfect.

I hope that we will see you again in the near future for another great stay.

Kind regards,
Middletons Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

lovely hotel nice rooms with giant beds lovely restaurant only gripe it is expensive and for this fact will not be going again unless I won on the lottery saying that I would recommend this hotel as we did have a lovely stay

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank natLancsEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Hi Nat,

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay, but also saddened by the fact you would not return.

Our pricing is checked on a daily basis and we are competitive for York accommodation rates.

I hope when you next visit York you find somewhere that you feel is better value for money.

Best wishes,
Middletons Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.7 mi away
The Churchill Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#18 of 47 in York
1,571 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
3,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middletons York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middletons York

Address: Skeldergate, York YO1 6DS, England (Formerly Lady Anne Middleton's Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £71 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Middletons York 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please note our car parking is charged at an additional £10 per night per vehicle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Middletons York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lady Anne Middletons York
Hotel Lady Anne Middletons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing