We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£112
Fully refundable before Thu, 25 Apr
No prepayment needed
Expedia.com
£114
Fully refundable before Fri, 26 Apr
Get rewarded with One Key
Vio.com
£102
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,458)
Filter reviews
1,458 results
Traveller rating
722
428
189
78
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
722
428
189
78
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews middleton hotel lovely hotel car park city centre main building fresh milk executive room coffee machine quiet location no lift biscuits an evening meal a lovely stay afternoon tea few minutes walk breakfast was excellent within easy walking distance
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
412 - 417 of 1,458 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2019 via mobile

When arriving at the Middletons York some maintains work was being carried out near the car park, so we thought it would be noisy, but it wasn’t.
You had to pay £10 pre day to park your car, which I thought it was free on booking the hotel. We arrived around midday so they let us park and we went off to explore before coming back later to check in. The room was nice and it had everything you needed (iron, hairdryer, dressing gowns, safe and a fridge) the bed was very comfy and we slept sound. The bathroom was spacious and it was cleaned and things refilled when needed. Our breakfast was included in our price, which was your usual continental style breakfast and full English. It was good and set you up for the day!!
The main frustration was the price of drinks at the bar! It cost £40 for four gin and tonics and £9 for one glass of wine. It was so pricey, we decided not to spend any time there, which was a real shame as it was a nice little bar. We didn’t eat at the hotel as we were so busy out and about, but the food looked good and reasonable.
The hotel had a gym and a small swimming pool on site, but the pool wasn’t a selling point as apparently it was too small. The main front entrance building was very pretty and the grounds were nice, I think especially in summer to sit out in would be nice.Most of the staff were very friendly and helpful. The lady serving breakfast with her black and white hair was very welcoming, happy and pleasant.
The middletons is in a great location, just a stones throw away from everything and right by the River. There’s a lovely little bar down the way called Dyls with lighted, heated outdoor seating. (Very nice) We love York and all the great things it as to offer. There is no reason why I wouldn’t stay here again, but for our next stay we would try another place.

really enjoyed our stay and had a fantastic time.

Date of stay: February 2019
3  Thank sutbagz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MiddletonsYork, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2019

Hello
Thank you for taking the time to leave a valued review.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope the time spent exploring York was interesting and fun for you - York certainly has a lot to offer.
We have many facilities to our hotel and near our gym we have a small resistance pool.
If you do stay in York again, pop by and enjoy the outside gardens in the sunshine (if it appears)
Regards
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2019 via mobile

We loved everything about our stay from the brilliantly warm reception from Emma to our lovely spacious room
York is a special place and the ceramics exhibition in the Art museum Was outstanding
Will definitely be coming back

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank O2906KUdavidl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MiddletonsYork, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2019

Hello
Thank you for taking the time to leave a valued review. I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and sounds like you had a lot of fun out and about in York.
There is always exciting events that entice travellers to York and I hope it isn't too long in the future that we can welcome you back
Regards
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2019

A really convenient location to explore the centre of York. Our room was clean, warm and the luxury bed made for a restful night's sleep. The hospitality tray was loaded, and the bathroom was perfect. We just used the hotel as a base but didn’t eat there.

How could they improve? Signs! Please get some. Yes, I know that it takes the fun out of guess work, but consider the difference an illuminated sign would make on the main road. And then when in the car park, where’s the reception? I’m not too comfortable with the lack of Fire Exit signs from the room, and there isn’t a sign in the reception area directing you to the toilets. A few simple to introduce improvements that will help everyone. If you’re in the sign business, there’s a big order waiting for you!

Room tip: Arrive in daylight, the entrance by car doesn’t exactly stand out.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dgb317
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MiddletonsYork, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2019

Hello

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a valued review.
I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in York. There is certainly a lot to see and enjoy and we provide a wonderful base for this allowing a peaceful setting, but still within a few minutes walk of the City itself.
We are currently in the process of designing and producing signage for our site as our intention certainly isn't to challenge you to get to the front door, as much as we like to give a unique stay that is a little too much
We have regular Health and safety visits to comply with regulations for exits and lighting but will take this on board for future visits.
I hope to welcome you back in the near future
Regards
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2019 via mobile

First time in York and the hotel was easy to find. 20 minute walk from train station and about 8 minutes from the shops. Our room was very nice and very clean. All of the staff were friendly and nothing was a problem to them. We ate twice for dinner and everyday for breakfast and the food was good and reasonably priced. The bar prices were normal for what we drank. Well stocked room with tea, coffee, biscuits etc and hairdryer and robes. The gym is available to guests. Definitely recommend this hotel and we will use it again.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank DaveCarballo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MiddletonsYork, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2019

Hello Dave
Thank you for leaving us a valued review.
I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and made the most of your time in York.
Our dedicated kitchen team work hard to deliver quality food at a reasonable price for our guests, we are pleased you enjoyed throughout your stay.
We believe the small things really do make the bigger difference and all the items in your room are there to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible
We hope to welcome you back in the near future
Regards
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2019

Just back from a couple of nights at this very good hotel. Staff are great - special mention for the guy helping customers defrost their car this morning. The food is very good and the rooms are comfortable. The location is great too being only a few minutes walk from all the major York attractions.

Date of stay: January 2019
1  Thank peterwilson2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews