We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
£112
Fully refundable before Thu, 25 Apr
No prepayment needed
Expedia.com
£114
Fully refundable before Fri, 26 Apr
Get rewarded with One Key
Vio.com
£102
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Michelle T
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Pleasant.
Review of Middletons York
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Mar 2019via mobile
The photo of Middletons is quite deceiving, we stayed in a different building to the the one in the photo. There are quite a few different buildings. Our room was modern, clean and had everything we needed. The bed was huge and very comfortable. Proximity to York centre is fab. We didn't have breakfast but on reflection we should have it seemed expensive at £12pp but that seems in keeping with the locale. We would return to Middletons, but I would request a bath not a shower.
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£170
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £189
  • Vio.com
    £156
  • Hotels.com
    £189
0.3 miles from Middletons York
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
Agoda.com
£52
No fees just great deals
  • Trip.com
    £61
  • Algotels
    £63
  • Travelodge
    £56
0.3 miles from Middletons York
Booking.com
£95
  • Priceline
    £105
  • Vio.com
    £83
  • Expedia.com
    £95
0.4 miles from Middletons York
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
Travelodge
£48
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Lol.travel
0.2 miles from Middletons York
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
£76
  • Priceline
    £83
  • Expedia.com
    £76
  • Hotels.com
    £76
0.3 miles from Middletons York
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£115
  • Priceline
    £118
  • Skyscanner.com
    £90
  • Expedia.com
    £108
0.8 miles from Middletons York
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£154
  • Priceline
    £190
  • Hotels.com
    £154
  • Expedia.com
    £154
0.8 miles from Middletons York
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£98
  • Expedia.com
    £98
  • Vio.com
    £87
  • Hotels.com
    £98
0.4 miles from Middletons York
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
£71
  • Priceline
    £79
  • Agoda.com
    £56
  • Expedia.com
    £71
1.4 miles from Middletons York
Free Wifi
View more hotels in York
Reviews (1,458)
Filter reviews
1,458 results
Traveller rating
722
428
189
78
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
722
428
189
78
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews middleton hotel lovely hotel car park city centre main building fresh milk executive room coffee machine quiet location no lift biscuits an evening meal a lovely stay afternoon tea few minutes walk breakfast was excellent within easy walking distance
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
409 - 414 of 1,458 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2019 via mobile

We spent four nights at Middletons to celebrate my brthday. It was a good choice - everything in York seems to be within a 10-15 minute walk of the hotel, the staff couldn't have been nicer or friendlier, and the hotel buildings and gardens are lovely.

Breakfasts were so good we didn't bother going out in search of alternatives, preferring to fuel up for a hard day's sightseeing with plenty of protein and fruit. Everything is made to order and beautifully fresh. We had dinner in the restaurant twice and it was good - I've never had better cream of broccoli, soup and the gnocchi were simple, fresh and delicious.

Our room was very comfortable although the bathroom was more like a sauna, possibly because it had no window. The only options were to keep it heated or unheated, but unheated was fine.

If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room that doesn't face onto Skeldergate. Heavy vehicles run down it two or three times a night. The beds are comfy so we got back to sleep easily, but if you don't it will be annoying.

This is a lovely hotel with great staff. Prices are not the cheapest, but very reasonable for what you get. We will definitely go back to Middleton's.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank OldGirlTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MiddletonsYork, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2019

Hello Helen
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a valued review and such a lovely one at that.
I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and your time spent in and around York. It certainly is a wonderful City with so much to entertain any traveller. Our location allows the relaxing setting steeped in our own history but with just a few minutes walk you are in the hub of the City.
Our kitchen team work very hard to allow as much options as possible and give our guests a good variation to start off their day.

I hope you enjoyed your birthday and will hopefully welcome you back again in the near future
Regards
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2019 via mobile

Very nice hotel within walking distance of the station and the city centre. Great sized room with everything you need for a short stay. Great to be able to use the gym (and a proper gym not one of those tiny hotel gyms!) and I really enjoyed the fresh cooked breakfast and the enthusiastic hosting from the very pleasant and efficient waitress. Will use again.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank DougMcP007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MiddletonsYork, General Manager at Middletons York, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2019

Thank you for your review, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Adam Wardale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2019 via mobile

The hotel was nice enough. A small delay at 2.00pm for room to be ready but check in otherwise fine. Room was quite small but bed was comfy. Shower was weak and took an age to warm up. Breakfast good but unexceptional. Overall pleasant but unmemorable. Well positioned to walk to major sights.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Laurence_not_larry
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 February 2019 via mobile

When arriving at the Middletons York some maintains work was being carried out near the car park, so we thought it would be noisy, but it wasn’t.
You had to pay £10 pre day to park your car, which I thought it was free on booking the hotel. We arrived around midday so they let us park and we went off to explore before coming back later to check in. The room was nice and it had everything you needed (iron, hairdryer, dressing gowns, safe and a fridge) the bed was very comfy and we slept sound. The bathroom was spacious and it was cleaned and things refilled when needed. Our breakfast was included in our price, which was your usual continental style breakfast and full English. It was good and set you up for the day!!
The main frustration was the price of drinks at the bar! It cost £40 for four gin and tonics and £9 for one glass of wine. It was so pricey, we decided not to spend any time there, which was a real shame as it was a nice little bar. We didn’t eat at the hotel as we were so busy out and about, but the food looked good and reasonable.
The hotel had a gym and a small swimming pool on site, but the pool wasn’t a selling point as apparently it was too small. The main front entrance building was very pretty and the grounds were nice, I think especially in summer to sit out in would be nice.Most of the staff were very friendly and helpful. The lady serving breakfast with her black and white hair was very welcoming, happy and pleasant.
The middletons is in a great location, just a stones throw away from everything and right by the River. There’s a lovely little bar down the way called Dyls with lighted, heated outdoor seating. (Very nice) We love York and all the great things it as to offer. There is no reason why I wouldn’t stay here again, but for our next stay we would try another place.

really enjoyed our stay and had a fantastic time.

Date of stay: February 2019
3  Thank sutbagz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MiddletonsYork, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2019

Hello
Thank you for taking the time to leave a valued review.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope the time spent exploring York was interesting and fun for you - York certainly has a lot to offer.
We have many facilities to our hotel and near our gym we have a small resistance pool.
If you do stay in York again, pop by and enjoy the outside gardens in the sunshine (if it appears)
Regards
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2019 via mobile

We loved everything about our stay from the brilliantly warm reception from Emma to our lovely spacious room
York is a special place and the ceramics exhibition in the Art museum Was outstanding
Will definitely be coming back

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank O2906KUdavidl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MiddletonsYork, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2019

Hello
Thank you for taking the time to leave a valued review. I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and sounds like you had a lot of fun out and about in York.
There is always exciting events that entice travellers to York and I hope it isn't too long in the future that we can welcome you back
Regards
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews