We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Galtres Lodge Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$142
US$115
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$128
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton York(York)
US$154
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$184
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
York Marriott Hotel(York)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$204
US$196
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Middletons York(York)(Great Value!)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn York(York)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$114
US$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (424)
Filter reviews
424 results
Traveller rating
130
130
83
35
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
130
83
35
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmichael's brasseriecentral locationyork minsterlocation is fantasticbedroom windowmy mumfriendly hotelstayed here for two nightscar parkingshamblespubsrear
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
250 - 255 of 424 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This hotel is in a great position in the centre of York. The staff and management are great and really helpful. I would highly recommend it. The food in the restaurant is brilliant and of a very high standard. Will definitely stay again

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monkimandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Just spent a lovely weekend here, hotel is lovely, very friendly staff, lovely food. Parking arrangements were good, so do not be put off by a short walk to Monkgate to leave your car as the pub The Tap & Spile has great beer and equally friendly staff. Have just booked next stay for just after Christmas with an extra night this time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Have just spent a night in this lovely hotel which is in a great position; close to the Minster and walking distance of the main streets for historic attraction....The shambles etc.

The room was very clean warm and comfortable but very small. We had been given an attic room up 6 flights of stairs and I needed oxygen when I got to the top! so would have preferred a room a few flights down!

It wasn't haunted.....but a strange thing did happen to my husband that night...... he was woken sharply to having his hand pulled back from my shoulder. He could feel a pressure as if someone had hold of his hand.....strange occurrence!

Room Tip: We were in room 12 which was the attic. If you can climb stairs avoid this room (rooms 14 and 15 were also on this level)
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheshiremedium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a hotel near the Minster where my graduation ceremony was taking place, and found the Galtres Lodge. Perfect location, although a little awkward for car parking, the hotel is right in the heart of York with restaurants, pubs, boutique shops and York Minster all on the doorstep.

I had a single room which was small but had everything I needed, including tea/coffee and a wonderful power shower. Fantastic value (£55). Breakfast (included) was magnificent and delivered piping hot with a smile from Hayley! My Mum had a large king size room with a palatial bathroom and free-standing bath. Very luxurious, albeit a little pricey (£130).

Would definitely recommend to any single travellers/couples who want a comfortable room in the centre of York.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Goshsquash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed here for two nights (8th 9th November). The location is fantastic the breakfast lovely but althought the room was very clean and had an ensuite, it was very small and the bed was very low! We felt very squashed!
Apart from that we had a great week-end!

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room - I think they have some!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suehillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews