We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Galtres Lodge Hotel
Ranked #113 of 193 York B&B and Inns
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not bad for the price”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

To contextualise, I booked the cheapest single room in York at this place. The staff were very friendly and helpful and there wasn't anything wrong with the room. As expected it was small. A few things could have dramatically improved the experience for me however for minimal effort on the part of the hotel.

> No plug socket to plug kettle into was evident meaning had to reach down behind the TV and fiddle with wires.
> The shower didn't make much water, little more than a trickle.
> There is some noise in the room I stayed in, especially at the weekend, as there are lots of drunk people in the street until the early hours. I must say though that I thoroughly expected this given that this is an otherwise fantastic city centre location near the good stuff in the middle of York.

Before staying I specifically asked the hotel whether the breakfast was large. I was assured that it was. I would call it normal sized. I am a big eater. This was my biggest let down by far.

All in all though I thoroughly recommend. Location fantastic, staff very nice, rooms and food not bad at all f9or the money.
J

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    116
    71
    31
    36
See reviews for
45
179
33
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Stayed here for two nights in November, had a great stay and staff were extremely welcoming. The room was warm, clean, comfortable and spacious. Breakfast was really nice but we didn't eat in the restaurant as there's so much choice in easy walking distance. Couldn't fault this centrally located hotel for all of York’s attractions, theatre, eateries and pubs. Parking was a bit of a walk (10 minutes but you can drop your bags off beforehand) but this is York so you’ll have the same problem with most hotels. Will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This hotel is in a great position in the centre of York. The staff and management are great and really helpful. I would highly recommend it. The food in the restaurant is brilliant and of a very high standard. Will definitely stay again

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkimandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Just spent a lovely weekend here, hotel is lovely, very friendly staff, lovely food. Parking arrangements were good, so do not be put off by a short walk to Monkgate to leave your car as the pub The Tap & Spile has great beer and equally friendly staff. Have just booked next stay for just after Christmas with an extra night this time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Have just spent a night in this lovely hotel which is in a great position; close to the Minster and walking distance of the main streets for historic attraction....The shambles etc.

The room was very clean warm and comfortable but very small. We had been given an attic room up 6 flights of stairs and I needed oxygen when I got to the top! so would have preferred a room a few flights down!

It wasn't haunted.....but a strange thing did happen to my husband that night...... he was woken sharply to having his hand pulled back from my shoulder. He could feel a pressure as if someone had hold of his hand.....strange occurrence!

Room Tip: We were in room 12 which was the attic. If you can climb stairs avoid this room (rooms 14 and 15 wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheshiremedium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a hotel near the Minster where my graduation ceremony was taking place, and found the Galtres Lodge. Perfect location, although a little awkward for car parking, the hotel is right in the heart of York with restaurants, pubs, boutique shops and York Minster all on the doorstep.

I had a single room which was small but had everything I needed, including tea/coffee and a wonderful power shower. Fantastic value (£55). Breakfast (included) was magnificent and delivered piping hot with a smile from Hayley! My Mum had a large king size room with a palatial bathroom and free-standing bath. Very luxurious, albeit a little pricey (£130).

Would definitely recommend to any single travellers/couples who want a comfortable room in the centre of York.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Goshsquash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwick
Level Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed here for two nights (8th 9th November). The location is fantastic the breakfast lovely but althought the room was very clean and had an ensuite, it was very small and the bed was very low! We felt very squashed!
Apart from that we had a great week-end!

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room - I think they have some!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suehillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#12 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trembling Madness Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Guy Fawkes Inn
Guy Fawkes Inn
#43 of 193 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
0.3 mi away
Minster Hotel
Minster Hotel
#24 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fort Boutique Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galtres Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galtres Lodge Hotel

Property: Galtres Lodge Hotel
Address: 54 Low Petergate, York YO1 7HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Galtres Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galtres Lodge, conveniently situated in the centre of York, offers its guests a warm and friendly welcome and, moreover, an ideal base from which to explore the many attractions that York has to offer. Ideally placed on the Roman street of Low Petergate, the Lodge offers all the buzz of nearby boutique shops and restaurants, plus the culture and beauty of the many museums and magnificent splendour of York Minster. From here, it is possible to enjoy the historic Shambles, the many eateries of Fossgate and, furthermore, York’s National Trust properties, whilst of course stopping off for afternoon tea en route. York has something to offer everyone, and Galtres Lodge is placed right at the centre of it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Galtres Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galtres Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing