We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Galtres Lodge Hotel
Ranked #118 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Very central so brilliant for shopping. View of York Minster from our room which was old fashioned, but comfy. No nearby parking, so need to walk in with luggage. Very good breakfast and the restaurant was good in the evening. Would stay again

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

Booked this just because the restaurant has the same name as me. Haha. Had never been to York before and will definitely go back and stay at Galtres Lodge Hotel again. We booked the best room in the hotel after looking on Tripadvisor and reading all the reviews and I can tell you it was fantastic. Men, if your wanting to give your special lady a getaway to remember, book room 6. It has a roll top bath, massive bathroom, King size bed and great views of the York Minster. My other half and I sipped Champagne in the bath while relaxing after a great day shopping in the city. You can never get bored with all the great things to see and do in York. There is something for everyone. We visited the Minster, went on a boat trip down the River Ouse, got scared in the Dungeons and drank and ate the best food EVER! The restaurant in the hotel was so good we ate breakfast and dinner there. I have to say, the breakfast was the best overall out of everything and will miss that tomorrow.
The staff at the Galtres couldn't do enough for us and were so friendly. Overall this weekend away has got to be one of our best. Thank you to Galtres for making it a memorable.

Room Tip: Read above. All rooms are different but Room 6 is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Littleman1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I stayed here with my husband a couple of years ago. I have just returned from an overnight stay with my daughter, as one day in York is never enough! The next time I stay in York, I will stay here again. The Hotel is clean and bright inside, the owner and staff are always pleasant and attentive.

Our twin room was light, clean and cosy. It had the usual amenities one would expect. We were at the front of the hotel, with a view directly down Grape Lane. It is situated within spitting distance of the Minster and perfectly set adjacent to Stonegate, too.

We had a perfectly acceptable full English the next morning, and noticed they were attracting passing custom for breakfasts, too. Nothing was greasy, or overcooked, just really tasty, and very hot, too; not hot plate hot - fresh hot!

Other hotels might boast spa's or seven different types of pillows or whatever, but The Galtres Lodge ticks all my boxes in respect of cleanliness, warmth of staff, good food and location.

Definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shadylawns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here for three days and had a wonderful time exploring the beautiful, if exhausting, city of York. Galtres Lodge is positioned perfectly for walking trips around the many museums and attractions and the view of York Minster from our room was an added bonus. The double room with half-tester bed was very cosy and comfortable, was serviced daily and included extra pillows, blanket and duvet should we need them. All of the staff, especially the owner, were very attentive and helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

My friend and I stayed here for one night on the recommendation of my brother and sister-in-law who had enjoyed a stay here last year. The hotel is in an excellent position for exploring the wonderful and historic city of York with all its many attractions. The twin-bedded room was extremely clean, comfortable and most importantly (being February!) warm and cosy. The beds were excellent. We did not have dinner in the hotel (you get a discount if you are a resident) but the menu looked really very good indeed and reasonably priced. Breakfast was varied and excellent. Nick and the others we met were very helpful. We were able to leave our luggage on the day of departure as our train wasn't until late afternoon. We would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceanalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed here for 1 night and it was a pleasant experience. The room was comfortable ( bit dated) the staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was lovely. We also had dinner here which was very nice

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank sally8740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We three return here time and time again for our reunion. It never lets us down. Great hospitality, perfect location so close to the Minster with good food.and the personal service of Nick the owner and his staff.You only have to ask ! If it's York city centre you're wanting THIS IS FOR YOU. A £4 taxi from Rail Station to Minster will get you there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NORMA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
Jorvik House
Jorvik House
#41 of 47 in York
236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#28 of 47 in York
1,756 reviews
0.6 mi away
B+B York
B+B York
#6 of 47 in York
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galtres Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galtres Lodge Hotel

Address: 54 Low Petergate, York YO1 7HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £64 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Galtres Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galtres Lodge, conveniently situated in the centre of York, offers its guests a warm and friendly welcome and, moreover, an ideal base from which to explore the many attractions that York has to offer. Ideally placed on the Roman street of Low Petergate, the Lodge offers all the buzz of nearby boutique shops and restaurants, plus the culture and beauty of the many museums and magnificent splendour of York Minster. From here, it is possible to enjoy the historic Shambles, the many eateries of Fossgate and, furthermore, York’s National Trust properties, whilst of course stopping off for afternoon tea en route. York has something to offer everyone, and Galtres Lodge is placed right at the centre of it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Galtres Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galtres Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing