We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Galtres Lodge Hotel
Ranked #119 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed at this B&B for my recent stay in York. I chose it because of its location to York Minster and other central attractions in the town. I certainly wasn't disappointed!!! The location is absolutely brilliant - literally around the corner from the Minster, the shambles and other attractions are within very easy walking distance - the york castle museum, cliffords tower etc.

After check in (at the restaurant) - a walk up a couple of flights of stairs to my room. No lift - but this is a very old building! Staff were very friendly and helpful (even helping me with my luggage up those stairs...thank you!) throughout my entire stay - especially a young girl (whose name i sadly can't remember) who helped me enquire about a tour and used her iphone! Breakfast was wonderful each morning (a few choices - i had the english breakfast one morning, croissants on another and eggs on toast on another..haha). The restaurant staff were lovely - the place was clean and had many choices on the menu (which guests staying at the hotel get 15% off!)...

The room was lovely - large double bed, wardrobe (which i didn't use), TV, tea/coffee making facilities and an ensuite. The one thing it didn't have was a telephone - which isn't a make or break item but it would have been handy especially in emergency situations. My room did have a small view of the Minster too...:)

Otherwise all i could stay is that if and when I am back in York, I will be staying at this lovely little B&B right in the centre of the lovely city of York!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adelgirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (394)
There are newer reviews for Galtres Lodge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

first class hotel and staff would highley recommend this hotel idealy situated in york centre
we chose to have a evening meal during our stay which was perfect .

the rooms are first class and tick all the boxes we will be back

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My wife and I love York and have stayed at various hotels around the city over the years, and this was a first stay Galtres Lodge. It beats all the others by a wide margin, exactly has they advertise, close to all the amenities, excellent restaurant serving tasty freshly made meals, Rooms clean and pleasant, staff very friendly and helpful.

First class place, thanks to all at Galtres. .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salfordboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Have stayed here before and have not been disappointed, staff lovely and friendly, breakfast yummy with really great coffee. We will keep coming back - as long as the parking arrangements are still available and that the extraction is sorted.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

a lovely hotel with the character to be expected of a building this age which has not been destroyed by modernisation. A really lovely atmosphere and the staff were really considerate. View of York minster from my bedroom window - room 7

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed here for one night on business and wished it was for pleasure Erica was really helpful and very friendly. The building is lovely and so full of character it is steeped in history. The high ceilings and the many original features are a credit to the owners. Breakfast was great with very good service and I will gladly stay here again. Val R

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VeRobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

This lovely hotel had THE perfect location for our weekend in York. Room was clean and tidy and staff very helpful and friendly, made us feel very welcome. We would deffinately stay here again and recommend to anyone. And the breakfasts are amazing! Can't wait to go back!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Fort Boutique Hostel
0.1 mi away
Guy Fawkes Inn
Guy Fawkes Inn
#44 of 194 in York
1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Judges Court Hotel
Judges Court Hotel
#49 of 194 in York
504 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lamb & Lion Inn
Lamb & Lion Inn
#32 of 194 in York
928 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trembling Madness Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galtres Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galtres Lodge Hotel

Address: 54 Low Petergate, York YO1 7HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £76 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Galtres Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galtres Lodge, conveniently situated in the centre of York, offers its guests a warm and friendly welcome and, moreover, an ideal base from which to explore the many attractions that York has to offer. Ideally placed on the Roman street of Low Petergate, the Lodge offers all the buzz of nearby boutique shops and restaurants, plus the culture and beauty of the many museums and magnificent splendour of York Minster. From here, it is possible to enjoy the historic Shambles, the many eateries of Fossgate and, furthermore, York’s National Trust properties, whilst of course stopping off for afternoon tea en route. York has something to offer everyone, and Galtres Lodge is placed right at the centre of it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Galtres Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galtres Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing