We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend”
Review of The Cavalier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cavalier
Ranked #84 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I spent a weekend in The Cavalier during my visit to York some 3 weeks ago. I travelled with my kids (1 and 4 years) and other family members (over 60's) and all of us enjoyed our time in the B&B. Service was very good and excellent kindness of the managers Natalie and Guy ; they were very helpful in all moments leaving us plenty of freedom too. Rooms are clean and quite spacious. I would recommend the place as well for their convenient location.
Breakfast was very good too including a vast selection.
They were extra kind when they let us park our car during all the following day so we could enjoy all day without worrying us about parking.
Thanks for all....for sure we will back when we have occasion.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoseDelgado-sp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie D, Manager at The Cavalier, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Jose - thank you for your comments and review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Your family were a please to be around. We hope we can welcome you all back to The Cavalier in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed with husband and little girl and couldn't fault it. Really friendly and accommodating, really clean and great breakfast - our daughter described the sausages as mega scrummy and she has high standards :). Parking a fantastic bonus and the location couldn't be better just a very short walk to the minster etc. Natalie and guy very welcoming and friendly. We had a totally enjoyable stay. One thing just to mention which we obviously knew could be a small thing for me is the car noise from the road (we were in family room at top and front of hotel) - husband sleeps like a log so no issue for him at all but am light sleeper. That said we live in very quiet village so bound to seem noisy to me! Wouldn't stop me returning at all and not major issue by any means. Thank you and wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank 93Janew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie D, Manager at The Cavalier, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for your comments and review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and your breakfast! We look forward to welcoming you back to The Cavalier and next time we will put you at the back of the house which is quieter than road side.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed here New Year's Eve. Excellent location for the town centre. We had a double room which was very clean with a good tea/coffee tray selection and a good range of toiletries , our room did not have en suite but we had the use of 2 bathrooms. Breakfast was excellent and guy and Natalie were excellent hosts. Would defo return and will recommend to family and friends.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank LynneandTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie D, Manager at The Cavalier, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Thank you for your comments and review. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that we will be able to offer you an en-suite room on your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to The Cavalier in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed in the family room on the top floor of this lovely old building. The room was clean, comfortable and very roomy. Natalie and Guy were very welcoming and helpful, without being intrusive. Breakfast was tasty, plentiful and flexible.

The location of the B&B is excellent, being two minutes walk from one of the gates in the city wall and less than ten minutes from the Minster.

We didn't find the noise from the street to be a problem at all and we live in rural Oxfordshire and are used to total silence.

Do choose your room with care, though, as the family room is high up in the building with a lot of steps to get to it! The lower the room number, the fewer the steps.

Would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: As mentioned, some of the rooms are high up and may be at the end of a lot of steps!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RollrightIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie D, Manager at The Cavalier, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for your comments and review. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us even though you had a daily exercise regime to the top floor. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Cavalier in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Very nice guest hiouse, simple, clean and warm. A really lovely welcome and the owners could not have been more helpful. Everywhere is spotless. As it is an old building there are plenty of squeaky floorboards but this only adds to the charm.
Thank you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasper G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie D, Manager at The Cavalier, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Thank you for your comments and review. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to The Cavalier next time your work brings you to York.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We recently had family staying and opted to head into town with them to stay for a couple of nights even though we live nearby. We wanted somewhere affordable, central and clean. We got all of this at The Cavalier, and the breakfasts were superb. Natalie & Guy were lovely. They were polite, kind and helpful. I would not hesitate to stay here again or recommend it to others to stay. It is a 5 minute walk into the centre of town. Thanks and hope to see you again soon. Keep up the good work

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penhowesticks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie D, Manager at The Cavalier, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Thank you for your comments and review. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we can welcome you and your family back to The Cavalier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the family room on the top floor. There were 3 of us (including 4 year old) but the room is adequate for a larger family as it had 2 double beds and a single and wasn't cramped. It's an old building at the end of the day and Im surprised a previous review mentioned this as an issue - it certainly wasnt an issue for us- you don't stay in a old building if you dont want character...
We arrived late on Friday night and both hosts were very accommodating and helped us with parking the car our bags and even late on a Friday night they had smiles and gave us a warm welcome.

Breakfast was fab,really efficient and Guy and Natalie asked us we would like and catered for our boy perfectly (he wanted to stay longer !!!)

Location is brilliant!!! We brought the family ticket for the sightseeing bus as it was raining (which you can use as many times as you like and hop on and off) and left the car in the B&B garage but you can walk and it's very very central.

Overall a lovely place and we shall stay again, thank you Guy and Natalie :-)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woojh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie D, Manager at The Cavalier, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for your comments and review. We are so pleased to see that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you enjoyed the hop on and hop off tour despite the rain. We would be pleased to welcome you all back to The Cavalier - hopefully in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
The Fort Boutique Hostel
1.1 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#8 of 194 in York
1,448 reviews
0.6 mi away
Heworth Guest House
Heworth Guest House
#41 of 194 in York
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#13 of 194 in York
248 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holgate Bridge Hotel
Holgate Bridge Hotel
#88 of 194 in York
259 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Hazelwood
The Hazelwood
#34 of 194 in York
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cavalier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cavalier

Address: 39 Monkgate, York YO31 7PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £61 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cavalier 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cavalier Hotel in York is a Grade 2 Listed town house dating back to 1794. We offer bed and breakfast guest house accommodation set close to the City Walls, in the heart of York, it provides a superb central location for exploring the city - Minster, Museums and Jorvik centre which are all on the doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Cavalier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cavalier Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing