We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wheatlands Lodge Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$142
US$115
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$128
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton York(York)
US$154
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$184
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
York Marriott Hotel(York)(Great Value!)
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$204
US$196
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Middletons York(York)(Great Value!)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn York(York)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$114
US$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (767)
Filter reviews
767 results
Traveller rating
357
299
70
27
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
357
299
70
27
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscaledonian travela family run hotelcity centrea small car parkbar priceson arrivalfriendly hotelbreakfast and evening mealno liftsingle roomrailway stationwould recommend this hotel to anyonetop floorfull englishpoached eggsshort stayten minute walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
649 - 654 of 767 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2012

normally i stay in premier inns/holiday inns due to their sameness (blandness some may say) wherever you go.this time as it was st patricks day i struggled to find anywhere within my normal range.as friends had booked in here already i plumped for a try-it-for-size.i`ve stayed in many hotels before that are made up of old buildings,complete with creaky doors,stairs,ill fitting windows,bad beds,showers etc etc.this is also my main reason for my original hotel choices.i tried to book a single room but non were available,only a twin bedded room was free-this of course means double the cost but i did not mind.on a whim i then decided to stay another night which meant a single room was free.the hotel is located about a 10 minute walk from york railway station.just off the main road into york and easy to find.located just down a road,the exterior is impressive.upon arrival i was informed that i had now been given a single room for both nights which was a pleasant surprise.the room was an
adequate size for a lone traveller.plenty of wardrobe space,a good comfy bed,decent bathroom and shower-which was piping hot-smallish but adequate tv and the room was clean,warm and fresh.next morning breakfast was hot,tasty with a good range/choice,the waiting staff were very polite,friendly and really nice.i did not try the restaurant for an evening meal so can not comment on that score.only negative was the walls are a little thin so i could hear my neighbours talking/tv.i slept well,good duvet and the two days were just what i needed.all in all a decent,nice budget hotel within easy reach of york and its attractions.i would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rushman2112yyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

The staff at the hotel are exceptionally friendly and helpful. They set up a cot in the room for our young daughter free of charge and gave us a high-chair to use during meal-times. They also allowed storage of our luggage during the final day of our stay after checkout as we enjoyed the sights of York.

The hotel has a lovely bar and waiting rooms, and feels like a proper old-fashioned hotel with a nice atmosphere and dedicated eye for detail. The rooms are a good size and the beds are comfortable.

The breakfast in the morning was the real highlight, as you could choose from a few options including a very tasty full English with tea and toast. As it was included, it made the hotel that much more worth the price.

The location is perfect for anyone seeing York as the town center is just down the road, and it is on the bus route that goes towards York University.

Overall it was a very satisfying stay and we will be staying again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank showa58taro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

On arrival happy, friendly and help full people. Coffee on arrival and pleasant clean rooms. Would defiantly rebook. Food was great.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jem M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights recently (19/2/2012 - 22/2/2012) with my nine month old daughter and parents. We stayed in two double rooms, which were largely fine. I would say, my room was a tad small for a double, but was absolutely fine for my baby and myself. A travel cot was provided in my room, and although there was no mattress (not sure why?!), it had been padded with pillows and a small duvet - not sure this would have been appropriate for a younger baby. Anyway, fine for a 9 month old, and plenty of extra baby blankets and bedding provided if needed. Both of our rooms were lovely and warm throughout our stay, towels were changed on a daily basis, and beds made. This was lovely, and has certainly not always happened at stays in other, more expensive B&Bs and hotels.

All staff were lovely and friendly, and free coffee/tea in the lounge on arrival was a nice touch. Food was fine and plentiful, service very efficient. Only two choices for main meals in the evening, but this was fine. Soup not homemade, but not the end of the world! Breakfast fine too, especially as there were plenty of suitable options for my baby (weetabix, porridge on request, scrambled eggs, bananas).

Would definitely stay here again, very good value for money, and such a short distance from York's various attractions. 15 min walk to the National Railway Museum, and short distances to the Castle Museum, The Shambles, and Minster. Would highly recommend! Yes, if I had more disposable income I might stay at the Hotel du Vin nearby, but for value, warmth, cleanliness, and friendliness - can't be beaten!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WorcesterTabby8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Weekends in York are always expensive, but this place was cheaper than the local travelodge, but still cost 130 for friday and sat night. First the negatives, the bath was very small, I am only 5' 7", but could hardly fit into it, despite the bathroom being of an ample size. The beds we ok, but by no means the best I have slept on in private hotels.
But the positives outweigh them, location, ideal, 5 mins walk to Micklegate
Free, but limited , parking to the rear and on street outside,
Nice breakfast, good range of breakfast foods, what you would expect.
staff atentative, despite being rushed off their feet sometimes
Rooms clean and warm, although ours could have done with a lick of paint
Nice pleasent well stocked bar area, although the Luarel and Hardy theme was a bit wierd

Overall, would deffinately consider using the hotel on our next visit to York

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alisdair t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews