We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wheatlands Lodge Hotel
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“loved it”
Reviewed 6 February 2013

stayed here in early november. My first time in york and what a great place to stay. i think it cost 30 to 40 pounds for the night. i loved the bar and the ever so friendly bar man/night supervisor. stayed in room 5. everything was great. cannot think of a bad thing to say.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chris k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    271
    58
    21
    12
See reviews for
85
298
50
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Stayed one night very comfortable and clean, friendly staff and enjoyed breakfast. Would stay here again and recommend to family and friends. Very good value for more money free parking and only a short walk to the city.

Room Tip: bigger rooms on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debs780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We recently stated at this hotel after recommendations from trip advisor. On arrival the receptionist was very friendly so we thought we were off to a good start until we got to a very poor standard of double room which was in the eaves The wood chip wallpaper was tatty. The table lamp didn't work, hardly any coat hangers. The toilet was directly under the eaves, so you hit your head everytime you got up from the toilet. the shower came out as a trickle and was cold - suffice to say that we didn't have a shower the whole time we we there!

The breakfast was cold and terrible that we had to eat out for breakfast.

All in all this was a bad experience, never to be repeated.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a top room. Eat out for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gerry g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

This Hotel is so welcoming,Clean,Food superb,Staff very nice,
Would recommend this Hotel to anyone.
We came as a very large group of about 112 guest and meals were served quick,was very hot and was value for money

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Myself, partner & daughter just had a very comfortable weekend for a very reasonable rate at Wheatlands (actually in the newly done-up cottage behind the main hotel)...the service was pretty good too, considering how incredibly busy they were with a large party.

Our only quibble is that, with two of the three of us coffee-drinkers and vegetarian, the breakfast options were quite poor...no veggie bangers or bacon to replace the meat version & only instant coffee - quite something in proper-coffee loving UK 2013!

Actually, even the meat-eating tea-drinker wasn't too impressed...York is a large cosmopolitan town, full of students & with plenty of alternative types - so it seems a bit old fashioned to say the least to be offering only tinned, sweetened grapefruit segments by way of fruit, only white sliced toast & only bog-standard tea: no green tea/fruit teas etc...must try harder on the brekkie if they want to keep up!

Other than that though, great value place we'd definitely visit again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amapearltabicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

this hotel was recommended by friends and we stayed there in Nov 2012 it was a very friendly hotel, the room was clean and comfortable the owner parked the car for us as it was a tight space the breakfast was not the biggest we have had but was sufficient for our needs, we had an evening meal as well and that was nice in the restaurant and to top things of we were even served in the bar by the night watchmen when we returned back late

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Check in was very efficient. The staff was extremely helpful, especially the night staff. He helped us get a decent parking space and carried our luggage upstairs. I was not so impressed with the room since it was small and a bit old and Wi-Fi only available at the lobby. Although, its location is great as it is only 10 - 15 mins walk to the old town. Breakfast was surprisingly great for the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Castle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,198 reviews
1.1 mi away
B+B York
B+B York
#3 of 46 in York
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#20 of 46 in York
1,467 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Kilima Hotel
0.5 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#24 of 46 in York
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheatlands Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheatlands Lodge Hotel

Property: Wheatlands Lodge Hotel
Address: 75/85 Scarcroft Road, York YO24 1DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Wheatlands Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly family owned and run hotel, established in 1980. A 2 star rated hotel, giving a standard of service and cleanliness that any 4 star hotel would be proud of. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wheatlands Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheatlands Hotel York
Wheatlands Lodge Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing