We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely staff, Clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wheatlands Lodge Hotel
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely staff, Clean hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Me and my partner stayed at the Wheatlands Hotel on a recent visit to york, We were welcomed by lovely reception staff who offered us a hot drink on arrival (which i thought was very nice) and in the evening it was nice to relax in the bar, only a short direct walk to york itself :) i would stay again :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharron s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    266
    58
    21
    10
See reviews for
85
289
47
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

Spent an Easter weekend break at the Wheatlands Lodge Hotel. We had previously requested a ground floor room which we got. The room was very nicely furnished - the carpet looked brand new and the beds and bedding were comfortable and spotless. However, the room (No 56) was freezing despite two radiators belting out heat - the room didn't actually heat up the whole of our stay. The weather was particularly cold so this made matters worse. The first night I requested an additional heater at 7.30pm but I had to ask twice more and eventually got an oil filled radiator at 9.40 which really was completely useless. I was told that was the last heater left. (I should add that other rooms in the hotel were so hot that the occupants were turning the heating down!) The following day I asked for a blanket for my bed which I got immediately. The manager did come to our room on Sunday late a'noon and said he would turn up the boiler (there are 6), it made no difference. I also mentioned the shower to him which was hopeless, no pressure. Sounds like we didn't enjoy our w'end, but that was not the case. Restaurant, bar, reception - never met nicer staff & food was good. Would def return, maybe not that room though!

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

Stayed 3 nights and I was a little disappointed in comparison to the reviews. Single room size was quite small with the bathroom being nearly as large as the room. Noise from adjoining room a distraction.
Limited on street parking as it is a parking metered zone. Free parking at the rear of the hotel however the limited space is a little tight to negotiate.
The bonus was the excellent breakfast. A little surprised I was not offered an evening meal to consider. No show of menu choice or price.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Peak
Level Contributor
118 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

My wife and I have recently returned from a 2 night, weekend break in York staying at this hotel. The initial booking process was quick and simple and felt that the web descriptions accurately portrayed the hotel and its location.
It took about 10 minutes to walk from the railway station heading slightly out of the city and as such away from the crowds, noise and bustle yet everything was still within easy walkable distance.
On arrival at the hotel the booking in was quick and simple with a friendly receptionist, the offer of a free tea or coffee was a nice touch. Our room was accessed by some stairs of the reception and while these may prove a problem to the less able, we do not yet fall into that catagory so had no trouble. The room was relatively spacious, clean and lovely and warm. The bathroom was particularly warm. There was also plenty of wardrobe and drawer space for our clothing. The shower when we used it had a good water pressure. However, the shower was set above a corner bath and I stand 6 feet tall and because the shower was so low, or rather the bath base was so high the water reached only the back of my neck and so had to bend quite considerably to wash my hair properly. Anyone who is much taller than me may have real issues. That said this is only a very minor quibble.
This warmth in the room did prove somewhat problematical for us the first night however. When we found it a little too warm for our tastes and had to open a window in the middle of the night, the outside temperatures were below zero showing just how warm the room was. The pillows were also a little soft for my taste. However,on the second night we were able to regulate the room temperature a little better and we had a better nights sleep or perhaps we were just more tired after a day seeing the sights.
We found the breakfast filling and there was certainly plenty of staff on duty so service was very quick and the checking out was also swift and easy.
Overall a very enjoyable stay at a budget hotel with only a couple of very minor quibbles.

Room Tip: When booking ask for a room overlooking the front of the building. The rear rooms are quieter but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

We had the most wonderful stay at the Wheatlands Lodge Hotel, a very warm welcome from reception, with complimentary drinks offered on arrival. A great start which followed right through to our departure. We often stay in 5 star hotels but on this occasion chose this hotel ( because it had such good reviews) & we can't believe that it beat everywhere we've stayed before for the sole reason that we have never been looked after so well. Our bedroom was clean and very comfortable, having everything in it we'd need.
Our evening meal was very reasonably priced ( children free) for four courses and we enjoyed it immensely. We were amazed at how efficient the staff were, there was no waiting around, yet we didn't feel rushed in any way, when the staff came over to take orders, they had time for us to help with any decisions etc. Yet when they weren't speaking to customers they were just about running around. The result was; it ran like clockwork, what a great team effort it was. After dinner, we enjoyed a drink in the bar, which was very comfortable and made even better by the pianist who came in to play for a while.
We had to leave early the following morning, which I had explained and was told that we could go into the restaurant earlier. We had even beaten the chef in! But a member of staff was already there, Pauline was already in, arranging cereals etc and immediately offered us fresh juice, toast, tea and coffee. We had just began eating our cereal when Pauline came to say that the chef had arrived and if we could wait 15 minutes he would make us a cooked breakfast; which he did and which was delicious. Neither seemed to mind at all that their morning had started so much earlier than usual.
In fact, without exception, we found every member of staff we came across reached the same impossibly high standards of customer care, which we've never managed to find anywhere else before. What made our stay so wonderful was the very special people who work in it, thankyou so very much.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samantha p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

My husband and I spent three nights in the Wheatlands Lodge Hotel and we were very pleased with our room and experience during our stay. Our room was very clean, bright and it came with a small flatscreen tv that had freeview and coffee/tea-making facilities. Our bathroom was very clean, shower pressure very good and well-ventilated. We slept very well during our stay as the Wheatlands Lodge Hotel is situated outside the York city walls, in a very quiet area, which is about 15 minutes away on foot from the York city centre. Breakfast was included in the room tariff. It is served in the dining room from 7.45am to 9am. We think that everything had been cooked in advance and set aside in a warmer. The choices are: full English breakfast, scrambled eggs/poached egg on toast, porridge or eggs benedict. You can also have cereal, bananas, yogurt or bread along with your choice of hot breakfast and they are all placed on a long table. When we did our research on accommodation in York, Wheatlands Lodge Hotel was voted one of the best value accommodations in York and we absolutely agree!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suetlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013 via mobile

Great b&b within easy walking distance from the centre of York (10 - 15 minutes). Also only a short walk from the train station (10 minutes). Comfy and clean room (room 16). Breakfast qqs very tasty. Very friendly and helpful staff. WHEN we return to York we will definitely return to Wheatlands Lodge and wouldn't hesitate in recommending to friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 85MANC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#18 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 45 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheatlands Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheatlands Lodge Hotel

Property: Wheatlands Lodge Hotel
Address: 75/85 Scarcroft Road, York YO24 1DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Wheatlands Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly family owned and run hotel, established in 1980. A 2 star rated hotel, giving a standard of service and cleanliness that any 4 star hotel would be proud of. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wheatlands Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheatlands Hotel York
Wheatlands Lodge Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing