We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wheatlands lodge our home in york.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wheatlands Lodge Hotel
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We've been coming to the Wheatlands twice a year to chill out for the past 14 years, so they must be doing something right. The staff are friendly and very helpful, the food great, the room clean and comfortable as always. Already booked for december, cant wait. Special mention to Carl, he is a diamond.

Room Tip: As long as you dont mind the stairs, rooms 64 or 61 are good, but hey if you cant sleep at night you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sentinelBuckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

521 - 527 of 723 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2013

The reception upon arrival was friendly and one is offered complementary tea and coffee. Parking is limited but if you leave your keys you can leave your car in the car park wherever there is room for it. The rooms are small and very tired. The walls are paper thin. The pillows are rock hard. The breakfast was appalling. The packed lunches we had made were tasteless. However you can walk into town in 15 minutes.
Do not choose this place for a romantic weekend unless you have a very good sense of humour.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrisDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Just spent 2 nights at Wheatlands Lodge in York. We paid £162 in total - worth the money. Our room was spacious, clean, warm and quiet (we faced the rear of the hotel). The bed was comfortable and there was loads of storage. The en-suite was a good size - clean and nicely decorated. The hotel location was a short walk from York city centre. Breakfast was adequate - a fair choice and reasonable portion sizes but nothing outstanding (the full English, poached eggs, cereal etc...). The restaurant had a large seating area.The staff were friendly. It has a good size bar (never had time to sample).There is a small car park at the rear of the hotel - it is literally an alleyway which you could easily miss (Mill Mount Court). There were lots of cars parked outside on Scarcroft Road but we couldn't find a space, hence our detour to the rear.
We would definitely recommend Wheatlands and it will probably be our first choice when we go to York again.
The only negatives about the hotel were the size of the TV - it was tiny. Also, the wi-fi is rubbish. Either use it by Reception or try the local pub/coffee shop etc.

Room Tip: Large hotel with lots of rooms on lots of levels means lots of stairs - if you have walking difficul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank katiejane40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

An impressive hotel that stands out from the crowd, and just ten minutes walk from historical York. Our spacious room was on the second floor, overlooking the rear entrance, and with a dormer window that gave sufficient light but no view we were more than happy with our choice for a four night stay.
The bar is cosy and well designed and with its comedic theme of Laurel and Hardy memorabilia is very much a talking point even if their unique style died half a century ago.
Slap stick comedy was very much alive and kicking during our stay after the fire alarm went off a couple of times on different nights.As we were on the second floor it took us a little longer to evacuate only to meet other guests coming back up the stairs after being told it was a false alarm.
The second night, the night porter ran up the stairs calling out 'False Alarm! Everything's ok its fine!' so we never moved. Apparently the alarm was triggered by someone smoking, something outside of the hotels control, a shame, but made for a memorable experience.

Room Tip: Parking at the rear is tight, breath in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stayed four nights at Wheatlands Lodge having seen the reviews on Tripadvisor; we weren't disappointed. Officially, this is only a two star hotel so don't expect lots of toiletries (except soap), free bottles of water or phones in your room (does anyone use hotel room phones any more?). What you do get is a very clean, well looked after hotel with great service from lovely staff. The car park at the back is small (only space for about 8 cars). You can park on the road outside though these places fill up quickly. However, the hotel is not far from the railway station and is in easy walking distance from the city centre so you don't really need a car.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gr1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Me and my partner stayed at the Wheatlands Hotel on a recent visit to york, We were welcomed by lovely reception staff who offered us a hot drink on arrival (which i thought was very nice) and in the evening it was nice to relax in the bar, only a short direct walk to york itself :) i would stay again :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sharron s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Spent an Easter weekend break at the Wheatlands Lodge Hotel. We had previously requested a ground floor room which we got. The room was very nicely furnished - the carpet looked brand new and the beds and bedding were comfortable and spotless. However, the room (No 56) was freezing despite two radiators belting out heat - the room didn't actually heat up the whole of our stay. The weather was particularly cold so this made matters worse. The first night I requested an additional heater at 7.30pm but I had to ask twice more and eventually got an oil filled radiator at 9.40 which really was completely useless. I was told that was the last heater left. (I should add that other rooms in the hotel were so hot that the occupants were turning the heating down!) The following day I asked for a blanket for my bed which I got immediately. The manager did come to our room on Sunday late a'noon and said he would turn up the boiler (there are 6), it made no difference. I also mentioned the shower to him which was hopeless, no pressure. Sounds like we didn't enjoy our w'end, but that was not the case. Restaurant, bar, reception - never met nicer staff & food was good. Would def return, maybe not that room though!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
3.3 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
659 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,534 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheatlands Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheatlands Lodge Hotel

Address: 75/85 Scarcroft Road, York YO24 1DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in York
Price Range: £81 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wheatlands Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly family owned and run hotel, established in 1980. A 2 star rated hotel, giving a standard of service and cleanliness that any 4 star hotel would be proud of. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Wheatlands Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheatlands Hotel York
Wheatlands Lodge Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing