We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not excellent stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wheatlands Lodge Hotel
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2013

There's nothing wrong with this place essentially, i'm only speaking from personal experience. The staff were helpful & professional. I stayed in a single room and while the room was pretty small it did me fine. The wifi in the room was unreliable however the staff did tell me upon check-in that the best signal can be found in the guest areas downstairs. It was a little noisy at times due to the school kids saying there but i think you'd have to be a bit of a grouch to annoyed at that. About 15 mins walk into York town centre. No complaints overall.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mogadoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (714)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

508 - 514 of 714 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2013 via mobile

It was a refreshing change not to be in a chain hotel, but a pleasant family run hotel. I never saw that it was family run as it was broken on my behalf, but it was apparent and I enjoyed the informality and the lack of staff 'uniform', helped to make me feel at home. Staff were friendly, drinks reasonably priced and breakfast standard fayre but more than adequate for the first meal of the day. My only complaint is that I could hear everyone walking past my room in the morning and it woke me up as it sounded like someone was in my room. However, if I need a hotel in York in the future, this would still be my first port of call.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IzakG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Myself and 3 of my friends stayed at weekend 26th-29th for a reunion, we got very good vibes of a happy place to stay well done to one of my friends for finding this hotel,we were greeted with a welcoming smile from staff on reception,we were given a complimentary tray of tea etc.which i have never experienced anywhere else .During our stay all the staff were very obliging in whatever we asked for with a smile and a chat nothing was to much trouble.We came back in late afternoon and had sandwiches and tea,not many places would have that facility .Also there were places where we could lounge and have our chats instead of our rooms which was a bonus for us . The restaurant was nicely set out ,the staff always had a smile which meant it was a happy atmosphere to work in.The food was top notch and was given plenty, no complaints at all The rooms a very high standard ,very clean throughout, including the bathroom everything perfect you need in a room . If anyone is going to York stay here you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Quiet all round ,rooms a good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbysgirl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Tim, manager, most welcoming. Staff brilliant no complaints about anyone but Carl top notch.Rooms spotless as was bedding duvet terrific so comfy. Enjoyed my coffee in bed in the morning. Meals good, four course dinner with coffee, reasonable wine costs. Breakfast brilliant whatever you wanted with loads of coffee and toast etc etc. Not ultra modern decor but we'll worth every penny to be so comfortable and relaxed. Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems ask for ground floor as no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foodforthot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We've been coming to the Wheatlands twice a year to chill out for the past 14 years, so they must be doing something right. The staff are friendly and very helpful, the food great, the room clean and comfortable as always. Already booked for december, cant wait. Special mention to Carl, he is a diamond.

Room Tip: As long as you dont mind the stairs, rooms 64 or 61 are good, but hey if you cant sleep at night you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sentinelBuckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

The reception upon arrival was friendly and one is offered complementary tea and coffee. Parking is limited but if you leave your keys you can leave your car in the car park wherever there is room for it. The rooms are small and very tired. The walls are paper thin. The pillows are rock hard. The breakfast was appalling. The packed lunches we had made were tasteless. However you can walk into town in 15 minutes.
Do not choose this place for a romantic weekend unless you have a very good sense of humour.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrisDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Just spent 2 nights at Wheatlands Lodge in York. We paid £162 in total - worth the money. Our room was spacious, clean, warm and quiet (we faced the rear of the hotel). The bed was comfortable and there was loads of storage. The en-suite was a good size - clean and nicely decorated. The hotel location was a short walk from York city centre. Breakfast was adequate - a fair choice and reasonable portion sizes but nothing outstanding (the full English, poached eggs, cereal etc...). The restaurant had a large seating area.The staff were friendly. It has a good size bar (never had time to sample).There is a small car park at the rear of the hotel - it is literally an alleyway which you could easily miss (Mill Mount Court). There were lots of cars parked outside on Scarcroft Road but we couldn't find a space, hence our detour to the rear.
We would definitely recommend Wheatlands and it will probably be our first choice when we go to York again.
The only negatives about the hotel were the size of the TV - it was tiny. Also, the wi-fi is rubbish. Either use it by Reception or try the local pub/coffee shop etc.

Room Tip: Large hotel with lots of rooms on lots of levels means lots of stairs - if you have walking difficul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank katiejane40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#21 of 47 in York
1,522 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,575 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheatlands Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheatlands Lodge Hotel

Address: 75/85 Scarcroft Road, York YO24 1DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in York
Price Range: £82 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wheatlands Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly family owned and run hotel, established in 1980. A 2 star rated hotel, giving a standard of service and cleanliness that any 4 star hotel would be proud of. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wheatlands Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheatlands Hotel York
Wheatlands Lodge Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing