We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel in York”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wheatlands Lodge Hotel
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Was there for a short break in York. The hotel is ideally situated, just outside the walls of the old city and thus at walking distance of all interesting parts, including York Minster. The room and the bathroom were very clean and tidy, the staff was very helpful and the English breakfast was as expected. They have a parking but this was not accessible when we visited. We had, however, no problem to park in the street. Of good value for money. Highly recommended, then.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sndre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (741)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

527 - 533 of 741 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2013

I went solo for 2 days and then was joined by friend had a large double room number ten, very clean and remarkable for price.Beware of this room when races are on as it overlooks the back were the folks smoke after using the bar, was kept awake till 4.30,otherwise great friendly place 15 mins walk into York 10 mins to station.
Breakfast good ,evening meal great value 5 courses for £15 .50.dining room spacious
and very clean a great find ,dont be put of by 2 star should be 3 -4,as stayed in 4 star in Torquay which should have been one star if that.
A great find very relaxing friendly place will def. be returning amazing value for money.

Room Tip: , stayed in room 10 at back light and bright many rooms to choose ring hotel for advice on room as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cynthiaAngus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

Amazing little gem in York .
Clean
Friendly ,helpfully , one of the best in York
Good location
Good beer
Really nice breakfast ,loads of choice .
Rooms are spacious with everything you need tea coffe etc

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachlover27DH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Twice a year a small group of friends meet up to renew acquaintances and we stay in Hotels country-wide. The Wheatlands Lodge has just provided us with the best experience so far. We tend to book blind and take what we get (never the cheapest, never the most expensive). Everything at the Wheatlands Lodge surpassed all our expectations. Brilliant!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

The Wheatlands Lodge is a fantastic value for money hotel. Friendly ,extremely helpful staff especially reception and bar / restaurant. Spotlessly clean throughout all areas.Breakfast was excellent,with options for all tastes. Very quiet location. Excellent nights sleep. Would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: we had a corner front facing room ,1st floor away from reception. perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tessawashbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

This hotel is excellent value for money. The staff are friendly and very efficient, The hotel is very clean and rooms comfortable. The food is not fancy but very well cooked, enjoyable and plentiful. Overall an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaxr16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

My mother spent a weekend in York as part of a coach holiday with 9 friends from her local WRI. She was most impressed with the Wheatlands Lodge Hotel and asked if I could type this review on her behalf.
Room clean and bright. Food excellent. Staff helpful. All in a very pleasant experience and would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to anyone travelling to York.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evelyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
3.3 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
684 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 47 in York
1,505 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheatlands Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheatlands Lodge Hotel

Address: 75/85 Scarcroft Road, York YO24 1DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £64 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wheatlands Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly family owned and run hotel, established in 1980. A 2 star rated hotel, giving a standard of service and cleanliness that any 4 star hotel would be proud of. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Wheatlands Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheatlands Hotel York
Wheatlands Lodge Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing