We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wheatlands Lodge Hotel
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Anniversary Stay”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We booked The Wheatland's Lodge after reading the reviews on here, and I would say most of them are reflective of what you get. The hotel is good to use as a base; the room was tidy and functional; bit too much woodchip wallpaper, and the bathroom floor was carpeted. The service at reception was great when we arrived, and we were offered complimentary coffees. Our room was number 58 - which was found next to rooms 23 & 24, but the directions given were fine to find it. Breakfast was ok - only fresh fruit was bananas though (on both mornings) and on the first morning we had to remind the young waiter for a few things - my cooked breakfast arrived before the milk for my cereals, the toast came just as we were finishing our cooked breakfast, the coffee came after we had finished eating. All in all it was a pleasant stay as we spent both days actually in the City Centre so just needed the hotel as a base.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abinty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    271
    58
    21
    12
See reviews for
85
298
50
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denny
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2013

As i have stayed every Oct.for the past 12 years, i cannot fault staff or conditions in same. Some rooms may be small but very comfortable, staff cannot do enought to make you welcome. 2 Stars rating, should be higher

Room Tip: Any one can go and be made welcome
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serviceman29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed here for one night last month as a stop-over. The location is great (15min walk into city centre), the staff are really friendly, the breakfast was decent and the shower fab!

It's obviously not a luxury hotel so don't be expecting it to be, but for a one night stop-over, it was fine.

The décor is a little Fawlty Towers but this gives the place character!

Good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ppath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed here for three days - room was clean and fuss-free. Breakfast was nice but no coco-pops (I was promised some for the weekend but they didn't materialise).
It's located close to the historic town and we dined on pizza and curry from nearby restaurants - both good. There's also a Hotel du Vin, a chinese, a Sainsbury's Local and a Cinema all in spitting distance. The railway station is 0.5 miles away.
Wi-Fi only really works near the Reception - plans to extend this to the rooms are afoot apparently.
The decent bar has a Laurel and Hardy theme - not to my taste but not offensive once you get used to the life-size statues.
60 rooms are served by limited on-site car parking but there is free parking in the nearby streets.
My whinges - TV in my room too small and noise from revellers on Saturday night/Sunday morning disturbed our sleep. Cheap toilet paper and a slow shower were my wife's only gripes.
It was described as an "OAP hotel" by our taxi-driver - I suspect that the friendly staff, family run feel and comfortable rooms attract the sort of customer he described. But there were young 'uns there too so don't think this hotel is not for you if you haven't got your bus pass yet!
Most of the staff were friendly - it was hard to get much of a smile from the teenage staff at breakfast but it was probably a bit early for them.
Would definitely stay there again if we were to return to York.

Room Tip: No lift so mention any mobility issues when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Region2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Me and hubby booked a weekend through booking.com for our anniversary.so was a bit unsure what to expect. It was pleasant,clean and very friendly. Would recommend to anyone looking for a place to stay.we defiantly go back if we visit York again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Stayed at Wheatlands Lodge for a girly weekend. We were given a very friendly welcome by Tim who checked us in and offered us complementary tea & coffee. The hotel was very clean and homely.The beds were very comfortable and the room had everything in it that we needed. The location of Wheatlands was great , a 15 minute walk into town. Breakfast was lovely and the waiting staff were very attentive. We had a great weekend and Wheatlands Lodge was a brilliant place to stay. Would definately recommend this and will be staying again !!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
131 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed here over the race meeting. This a good 3 star hotel with standard rooms and has an excellent bar with loads of atmosphere. The staff are always welcoming and extremely friendly. Whilst the breakfast could be a little more generous it is adequate and it does now include sausage. The evening meal whilst only a choice of 2 mains is good value for money. The rooms provide everything you need and whilst they could not be classed as luxurious include a good shower/tub with plenty of hot water. We always stay here for the race meeting and would not consider anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,198 reviews
1.1 mi away
B+B York
B+B York
#3 of 46 in York
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#20 of 46 in York
1,467 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Kilima Hotel
0.5 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#24 of 46 in York
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheatlands Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheatlands Lodge Hotel

Property: Wheatlands Lodge Hotel
Address: 75/85 Scarcroft Road, York YO24 1DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Wheatlands Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly family owned and run hotel, established in 1980. A 2 star rated hotel, giving a standard of service and cleanliness that any 4 star hotel would be proud of. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wheatlands Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheatlands Hotel York
Wheatlands Lodge Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing