We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but a good base to explore York at a reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wheatlands Lodge Hotel
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Basic but a good base to explore York at a reasonable price”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The hotel is within a 20 minute walking distance of the historic centre of York. The room I was allocated as a single occupant was sparse and small with the shower room being as big as the room the single bed was situated in. The bed was not long enough for me which impacted on my sleep but I am 6' 5" tall, there was a kettle with tea and coffee a TV but little else. The bathroom had a small tablet of soap. The room was clean but very dark and not very welcoming. The breakfast was more than adequate and the hotel had a good bar and all the staff were helpful. For the price paid was value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tinytours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    276
    60
    21
    12
See reviews for
85
304
51
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Me and my husband spent New Year's Eve here, although we've been to this hotel about 6 times, it was our first new year here. We had a fab time, as usual Tim, Tanya. Fiona, and Terry, were very welcoming, as are all their staff. The hotel was full with a large coach party from Scotland and we seemed to be at the younger end of the guests, but it was still fun, the meal was lovely, the quizzes on the walls were at times challenging and the disco/karaoke was ok.. Breakfast was a late affair, with comp tea/coffee and cakes in the afternoon. New Year's Day evening entertainment was bingo and a quiz, it was really good fun, lots of raffle, prizes, then comp sandwiches and home made mince pies, in all a really lovely 2 days.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor at the front tend to be bigger, and traffic noise is not a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The hotel has a good central location. The staff were helpful when we arrived and allowed us to book in early. Overall, whilst clean and functional, the money saving has gone a bit too far, almost a B&B feel at a hotel price. I wouldn't be disappointed to stay again but won't go out of my way to do so.

The room was mediocre - an average room with a boxed off section for the toilet/shower. The furniture was a bit utilitarian and felt like flat-pack average. The bed was awful - it was a cheap metal frame that squeaked if you even looked at it and the mattress was only just acceptable. There was a bit of a funny smell that seemed to be from the drains. The boiler sounded like an aircraft was taking off but at least stopped at night. It was clean thankfully, though it was fortunate we brought our own toiletries as only soap was provided.

Breakfast was hit and miss - a lovely cooked breakfast let down by average cereals and some bargain basement small pre-packed preserves.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank josephbloggs1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcudbright, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

my wife and i went with caledonian travel between the 27th and 29th december but as the motorway was closed for most of the way down it took twice as long arriving at 5.00 and not the start we wanted but the hotel really made up for this as its very homely, we were very suprised that its only 2 stars my wife joked fancy bringing me to a 2 star hotel but as someone else pointed out theres no lifts though our driver told us if anyone needed help one of the staff would carry there bags, the meal were very good we were very suprised to get a 4 course dinner and all good the waiting staff were all friendly and once they took your order you soon received your food, breakfast was between 7.45 and 9.00 found if you beat the rush got your main breakfast quicker, at night we were given the ame time so if you have 40 to 50 people together going to take longer i though the staff did very well, to go into town walk to the left and then at the end of the road turn right and just follow the road down there is a cimera once you have turned on the left, once you have crossed over the bridge theres sign posts everywhere for all the places you want to see, i could never go to york and not walk down the shambles. but great to see york still have the nice small shops and havent been crushed by the big supermarkets.

Room Tip: sure they will all be nice rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank qotsfc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Very friendly welcome by receptionist & we were grateful that we could check in 2 hrs early. Bed wasn`t the most comfortable & TV was too small. The hotel was very clean throughout & the breakfast & breakfast staff were lovely.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fieldhead4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrington
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This was our third Xmas holiday at this hotel the last time here being around 2001. As previous posts have indicated this is a family run hotel led by Fiona and husband Tim and since our last visit they have managed to retain some original members of staff. This in itself is a good thing and it is obvious that there is a good team spirit which spills over to the excellent service they give to customers.
Very friendly and welcoming-excellent food-clean and tidy and room size was more than adequate for our requirements.
This was a late booking by us and we were fortunate to obtain the last single room.[Room 40] Unfortunately there are no lifts in this hotel so it involved climbing up 39 stairs so p[lease take this into account when booking. The staff however will always assist with taking your luggage up and down the stairs. Although it is only classified as a 2* hotel do not be put off by this grading [ its only because they lack certain facilities-such as lifts] In every other respect it is 5* plus and we certainty would recommend this establishment especially of you are looking for a reasonably priced Xmas package. Thank you Wheatlands for giving us a good Xmas

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems ask for a ground floor room-no lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mervdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilnsey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

A fantastic hotel. Loads of character, well located 10 mins walk into city centre. Quiet, clean and staff are very friendly. Can't fault it. We return every December for two nights and really enjoy it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malcolm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,243 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#19 of 47 in York
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
B+B York
B+B York
#4 of 47 in York
423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Kilima Hotel
0.5 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#24 of 47 in York
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheatlands Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheatlands Lodge Hotel

Property: Wheatlands Lodge Hotel
Address: 75/85 Scarcroft Road, York YO24 1DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Wheatlands Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly family owned and run hotel, established in 1980. A 2 star rated hotel, giving a standard of service and cleanliness that any 4 star hotel would be proud of. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wheatlands Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheatlands Hotel York
Wheatlands Lodge Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing