We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not particularly impressive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wheatlands Lodge Hotel
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not particularly impressive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

I read great reviews of this hotel on another website and here, so I booked this hotel thinking it would be a good find. I was very disappointed though. Our room wasn't clean, the service wasn't good, and although the staff were friendly, I don't think it was a particularly well run joint. I felt like I was invisible all weekend while all efforts were made to ensure the stag do members were looked after. There is no wifi except in the reception area (even though it is advertised as though it is readily available), and there were many other things that didn't work in our room. I only ate the breakfast there once, and not only was it poor service, it wasn't particularly as impressive as everyone makes it out to be. I am scratching my head wondering if I was in a different place....

Room Tip: Don't go for a room at the front. They look nice but they are over the bar. Although bars genera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonBreas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    266
    58
    21
    10
See reviews for
85
289
47
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

I stayed here with a friend for a weekend stay at the end of February 2014 and do not think I would have to look very hard to find a better hotel at a similar price.

There were several issues which came up during our stay which I would have expected to be fixed given the price we were paying for the room – the room rate wasn’t cheap even though many elements of the hotel do seem cheap!

Upon check-in there were a collection of hairs from a previous occupant on the bench top in the bathroom. The television didn’t work at all and the wifi is incredibly patchy and unreliable. I was not given a replacement towel by housekeeping (despite following their signposted directions and placing the one I wanted replaced in the shower recess). The only ceiling light blew a lightbulb on the first day of our stay and was never replaced, despite the issue being reported to the front desk twice.

The provided breakfast (for an additional fee, of course) was mediocre at best and the first morning of our stay we were ignored for about ten minutes by the staff before we finally asked how we could order; apparently they should have approached us sooner, but just didn’t.

While the staff are friendly, given the hotel’s location outside of the centre of York, I would suggest prospective guests should check prices of other hotels in more central locations.

I am afraid this hotel is a second choice at best.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael255093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickham Bishops, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

I was part of a visiting choir to York Minster and was looking for a value for money establishment within walking distance of the Minster. As it was the weekend of the Jorvik Viking Festival every Hotel in York seemed to be asking for lots of money.

Having seen the reviews for this Hotel I decided to book and was able to book a single en-suite room. The price asked was very acceptable. I did think that the facilities might be limited. However I was most impressed.

Although this is an old property the decor was up to date and the compact room had everything I needed. A TV, radio alarm, kettle with plenty of tea and coffee as well as a good en-suite shower room. Everywhere was very clean.

The staff were friendly and helpful and the bar charged reasonable prices! Breakfast was most acceptable with plenty of choice and serving staff that were happy to accept reasonable requests.

All in all a very pleasant 3 night stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bouff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayrshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed for 4 nights here and loved it. Had a spacious room which was spotlessly clean, plenty of storage space and clean towels daily. excellent breakfast with good choice of juice, cereals, yogurt etc. and equally good choice of hot food. We had booked for dinner each night and were not disappointed. 4 course dinner with ample helpings of delicious foodand coffee to follow. The staff were all very friendly and extremely helpful. The hotel is in a perfect location with only a 15 minute walk to all the sightseeing attractions of York. Also very handy for the railway station. This is an excellent value for money hotel and we not hesitate to recommend to friends and family and we hope to return in the future. thanks to all for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AyrshreMonachs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

At last.....a Hotel thats run properly and staff that know how to look after their guests. We have just spent 3 nights there and wish we could have stayed longer. Good standards throughout and would recommend this Hotel to anyone who wants a very good place to stay. Tim was a great ambassador and gave us as much information as we asked for.
Thank you for a great stay and we hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vernon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel, EXCELLENT customer service, nothing was too much trouble. The only downside was we was only there for one day. We will most defiantly stay again. Breakfast was great lots of verity. Top rated hotel. Thank-you.
Mr & Mrs Harris.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MERSEYSIDE
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Turned up on spec on 15th Feb after a major dissapointment elsewhere in York.
This was a gem of a find stayed just the one night in room 65, this is a family room 3 single beds, a corner bath and shower and sink all very modern. Ample storage space and wardrobes with hangers. Clean & Fresh bedding and linen that smelt as well as looked just that. Also had TV and free wifi. Two hair dryers too.

The only negative point was lack of plugs for electical goods such as phone and camera charges.

The room excellent value for money.

We had some early evening drinks both alcoholic and non alcoholic these were at the bar and near an open coal fire with its warm glow.

After an evening in York we returned and slept soundly in comfort until morning.

Breakfast was ample with cereal and fruit juice, rounded off nicely with a full English breakfast.

The problem of parking at the rear or very limited at the front is the only critism I can have on the face of it,


This is a family run business and the sfaff whether on reception or in the bar went out of their way to welcome us and look after us throughout our stay
£65.00 was excellent value for money I would have no hesitation recommending the hotel to friends.





  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WINGY22579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#19 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheatlands Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheatlands Lodge Hotel

Property: Wheatlands Lodge Hotel
Address: 75/85 Scarcroft Road, York YO24 1DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Wheatlands Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly family owned and run hotel, established in 1980. A 2 star rated hotel, giving a standard of service and cleanliness that any 4 star hotel would be proud of. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wheatlands Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheatlands Hotel York
Wheatlands Lodge Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing