We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel/apartment, would return!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wheatlands Lodge Hotel
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel/apartment, would return!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed here a week ago for my hen weekend along with 8 other ladies and it was great! I stayed in the apartment at the back of the hotel with 3 others and it was fab! Big kitchen/bathroom, very clean and cannot fault it!

The others who stayed in the hotel were happy with their rooms and breakfast was nice!

10 minute walk into the center of York!

I would definitely recommend and will be returning! Cannot believe it is only 2 stars!

Room Tip: Go for the apartment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    271
    58
    21
    12
See reviews for
85
298
50
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed here for one night after spending the day at Harrogate flower show and it was spot on. The service is excellent, warm, friendly and welcoming staff and the location of the hotel is excellent, only a two minute walk into the town centre. Room was spacious and clean and the breakfast was hot and freshly cooked. This hotel represents excellent value for money with an excellent service to go with it, we even got free parking, which is a saving grace itself in York where parking fees are at a premium. Cannot recommend this place highly enough, we will definitely stay here again on a future York stop over. Thanks to Tim and his staff for such great hospitality.

Room Tip: We were at the front and it was a bit noisy late Saturday evening as party people left the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Having just stayed at the Wheatlands Lodge I felt that I had to comment, what a lovely friendly place to stay. The meals were lovely and the rooms were adequate...clean and tidy.
Great location, central to the city centre. Don't let the 2 * rating put you off. Would definitely recommend and will be back. Thanks to the staff for making this a lovely stay. Xx

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed here 3 weeks ago now ,for the weekend, with another couple but I thought they more than deserved a little write up.
The staff were very helpful, giving advice on how to get to places and places to try. The bar was worth a stop, nice pint and a good price too.
Breakfast was fine. Quite early and not a very long sitting but it was good because it made use get up and see more of the lovely city of York.
The hotels just the right size for us, small enough to give a more personal touch and big enough to have everything you need.
We will be returning next time were in York.

Room Tip: We asked and got front 1st floor rooms and they were fine. Not huge but more than big enough. Bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poshian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

stayed one night and found the location so good, just a short walk into Harrogate, lovely atmosphere and the breakfast was brilliant, nice gardens to sit in and would definitely visit again but for a longer stay

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeBoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed for 2 nights.me& wife,standard double room ,very clean & comfortable.bed ,breakfast,evening meal,excellent food,good value for money,friendly helpful staff,will be returning again.hotel layout very spaced,nice decor,great front garden for long summer evenings,

Room Tip: Front off hotel rooms,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

As a group of 6 we travelled with Caledonian Travel for a Easter weekend break and found this to be an excellent hotel. Clean and tidy rooms, good choice of meals and plenty of choice for breakfast. Staff were really good and very helpful.Would recommend this hotel for anyone staying and wanting to see York as it is very conveniently place to see the sights.

Room Tip: For anyone who has any disabilty or walking problems ask for the ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Numenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,198 reviews
1.1 mi away
B+B York
B+B York
#3 of 46 in York
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#20 of 46 in York
1,467 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Kilima Hotel
0.5 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#24 of 46 in York
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheatlands Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheatlands Lodge Hotel

Property: Wheatlands Lodge Hotel
Address: 75/85 Scarcroft Road, York YO24 1DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Wheatlands Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly family owned and run hotel, established in 1980. A 2 star rated hotel, giving a standard of service and cleanliness that any 4 star hotel would be proud of. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wheatlands Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheatlands Hotel York
Wheatlands Lodge Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing