We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£104
Fully refundable before Fri, 8 Mar
Breakfast included
Expedia.com
£104
Fully refundable before Sat, 9 Mar
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
£99
Fully refundable before Sat, 9 Mar
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,133)
Filter reviews
1,133 results
Traveller rating
612
373
94
33
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
612
373
94
33
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews caledonian travel city centre no lift bar prices friendly hotel twin room breakfast and dinner would recommend this hotel to anyone ground floor railway station full english car park nice breakfast long weekend stayed one night short stay weekend break
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
275 - 280 of 1,133 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2019 via mobile

Positives: Staff were nice, location is great. Good breakfast included in the price and we loved that it’s got free parking so near the centre.
Negatives: it’s generally in need of an upgrade.
Our room was on the ground floor (no. 43). Weird layout of the room (e.g. a 2ft wife pillar greets you as you walk in, which blocks the light from the window. That pillar is next to one side of the bed, so someone tall could knock their feet getting out of bed). The bathroom was too small and needs updating (it had mould on the ceiling, general scuffs in the paintwork etc). Mattress felt a little springy when we first sat on it but got an ok nights sleep.
Overall, for the price of the breakfast, parking and central location, it was a good value. With updated rooms it would be great!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 913Buggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 April 2019

Twin room and ensuite bathroom reasonable size and warm enough. Hotel just far enough out of city centre to avoid the stag and hen parties but close to everything for those not afraid of a bit of walking. Staff friendly, bar was a pleasant place to sit and chat and the breakfasts well cooked and filling. Its an older building so soundproofing not total but other guests were considerate. We got early access to our room which we weren't expecting and they looked after our bags so we could fit in a bit of extra sight seeing before walking to the station. Would stay there again

Room tip: Car park at back of hotel but didnt disturb us. Probably best to not have room near downstairs doors to stairs as hard to shut them quietly.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jackiew_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 April 2019

Very friendly staff at reception upon arrival.We went to our room on the ground floor. The room was nothing fancy but met our needs. There was a used tea bag that someone had thrown in the bin but missed so on the floor underneath the radiator. Bathroom was basic but suited our needs and was clean. Breakfast was good and the staff superb.Close to city centre, a bus stop was nearby. All in all we had an enjoyable stay. The hotel is in need of an upgrade but on the whole it was a pleasant stay.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lynncleaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 April 2019 via mobile

Clean hotel,staff good, breakfast was good but the down side the shower was rubbish no pressure it just trickles and the stairs going to our top floor were steep and narrow for my liking . The bathroom was tiny and the towels were too small for my over 6 foot partner

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank gertruedt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 April 2019

Stayed for only one night. Our room was clean on the ground floor overlooking an empty car park so we thought it would be nice and quiet. The bathroom and room had everything we needed,nice clean towels and a shower. The bed was comfy and the bedding was clean. The hotel was about a twenty minute walk from the centre of York which was good.The dining room was bright and airy and set out nicely, service was good we had cereals which you helped yourself to along with orange juice. We were served a lovely cooked breakfast with plenty of toast and a pot of tea by a very pleasant waitress. Breakfast is from 7.30 till 9.30. The hotel has a bar area and a lounge to sit in but we did not use these but both looked homely.On the downside because we stayed on a Saturday night our room was near a group of loud people shouting and laughing at the top of their voices, this went on until 3.30am so we had little sleep, you could also smell smoke wafting down the corridor which set the alarm off which this group found funny, all a bit of a nightmare. I nearly packed my bag at 2am to drive home all a bit of a nightmare. Wouldn't recommend staying on a Saturday ( unless we were just unlucky!)

Room tip: Quiet room on higher floor at the front maybe.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Zena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews