We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£88
Fully refundable before Fri, 1 Mar
Breakfast included
Priceline
£88
Fully refundable before Fri, 1 Mar
No prepayment needed
Expedia.com
£76
Fully refundable before Sat, 2 Mar
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,128)
Filter reviews
1,128 results
Traveller rating
608
373
93
33
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
608
373
93
33
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews caledonian travel city centre no lift bar prices friendly hotel twin room breakfast and dinner would recommend this hotel to anyone ground floor railway station full english car park nice breakfast long weekend stayed one night short stay weekend break
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
263 - 268 of 1,128 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2019

I have had the pleasure of staying at this establishment every month since November 2018. Wow home from home. Always a delight. Food good and my diet is ruined every month. Nothing is too much trouble. Thank you to all the staff and the management. You run a Great establishment

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sandie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 June 2019

The hotel is very close to the city walls within walking distance if you are fit but buses run very near and the tour bus goes past the road end the hotel itself was very good the food was first class even to having23 6ed free range eggs withe your breakfast but saying that the food was very good overall the staff were very helpfull and friendly and the roams were lovely and clean

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 June 2019

Stayed here just for one night in May, was pleasently surprised at how good this hotel was, from reception through to standards of cleanliness throughout, The rooms were up to standards experienced in 5 star hotels, the staff were exceptionally friendly, and a very good breakfast on top. plus in easy walking distance of town centre. Would definitely stay here again.

Room tip: no lift, so if you have difficulty walking ask for ground floor room.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 May 2019

The hotel was clean and the staff were friendly. But we were very disappointed with our room it was quite small the bed was very close to the wall which made it difficult for getting in and out of and as the room was small we kept hitting our legs on the end of the wooden frame of the bed, overall the room was very tired and in need of decorating along with the bathroom.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 May 2019

We booked into the Wheatlands Lodge Hotel some time ago now in advance of our recent stay on Saturday the 4/5/19,the reason being was that most of the other City Hotels had been quite booked up,whilst the remainder was showing to be quite expensive.The one that did appeal was a vacant Twin Room which was showing as the only one room left on the site ( a double was preferred ) but which we booked at once,as we were attending a Concert on the Night,and was going on to spend some further days away touring around.Not to be disappointed on our arrival we pulled into the Road of the Hotel,only to find that all the Parking Spaces to the front of the Hotel had been taken and so I pulled up briefly to run back towards the Hotel,and once inside explained the situation to a member of Staff,who then directed me towards the Hotel Car Park at the rear,and was awaiting me when I drove around.Noticing that my Other Half was struggling to walk,a Female Member of Staff who I believe to be one of the Owners,asked a Male member of Staff to help carry some of our Luggage into the Hotel and once we had booked in,this was took up a Flight of Stairs into our Room.The Room was quite compact yet comfortable,and we were told that once we had settled in,then a Complimentary Tea or Coffee would be made Available down in the TV Lounge or Bar area.The Staff could not do enough for us in trying to make our stay become an enjoyable one,and although the Hotel is an approximate 15-20 minutes walk into the City Centre,they even booked us a Taxi for the Evening to get us quickly to our Destination.Once back at the Hotel,the pleasantries did not stop as the Barman on duty welcomed us into the Cosy Bar area which had a glowing Fire and a Good assortment of Beverages.Our Room had all the usual Facilities you would need including TV,Hairdryer,Tea/Coffee etc,whilst the Bathroom had a Shower over the Bath area,and plenty of Hot running Water.The Dining Area is quite Big,and at Breakfast time this runs like Clockwork,with many Staff on hand in bringing out Food,and Clearing Tables all the time,whilst constantly keeping on to the demands of staying Guests.Many Hotels seem to struggle at Busy times,but not here where this looks to be a Family run business,where the Comfort and needs of the Guests come first.The Dining area and Kitchen are spotlessly clean,and that can be said for the rest of the Hotel including the Room we stayed in.It is also in a Prime location for the Racecourse too.I have stayed in many Hotels over the Years,and many times in York,but this is without doubt one of the Best Hotels I have ever stayed in just for the Friendliness shown alone,and not to mention the lovely little Cosy Bar area too.To all at the Wheatlands Thank you ever so much for making our Stay a memorable one,you are all a real credit to the Place,and I for one will most definitely stay with you again,when we next stay over in York.Well Well Worth giving this place a try if you want to stay in a Friendly Hotel that is not too far from Shops,Restaurants,and Amenities.

Room tip: Our room to the Rear Car Park was reasonably quiet.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pavlosrugbypaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews