We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wheatlands Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wheatlands Lodge Hotel
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow Scotland UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place for a break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2010

My second visit to the hotel.Nice and central for all amenities..Was there for long weekend. Room very clean,staff cheery,friendly and helpful,nice atmosphere,food good 3 course meals. Since I was here 3 years ago i've been diagnosed with coeliac and staff catered for my diet. so I was very pleased. Would certainly recommend hotel and hope to be back soon.Thanks again for an enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie10826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    265
    58
    19
    10
See reviews for
83
283
46
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

We booked late for a last minute night away and this hotel had availability, £38 pppn, B&B, good so far. We arrived to a lovely greeting from receptionist Laura and got the keys. My sister's room was a double, as we approached it the smell of smoke was unreal, on opening the door you could see it in the air - it was disgusting, we immediately complained and Laura said that the cleaners hadn't mentioned it but the smoke detector had been sent down by the last guess saying it had fell off the ceiling?? The hotel was full so no chance of a move but she offered to ring round other hotels for us and then said she would air freshen the room and change the bed - it smelt disgusting! She did that and later is smelt better but only masked the dreadful smell. Our room was a twin outside at the back, very noisy and it stunk too! The decor was very tired. The bathroom was lovely though, just done i think. Breakfast was to be had before 9am - very early for a Sunday. It was tasty however, but no sausage? 'You only get sausages on a Saturday' they said. Laura had said she would ask her manager if we could have a price reduction for the 'smoke' room but when we mentioned it to the receptionist / Manager (i think) on checkout she refused point blank and said if we weren't happy then we should have just left!! So rude!! On a positive note the night porter we had was lovely. Overall I'm so glad we were only there for one night.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LegalEagle_5_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallsend
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2010

We stayed in in the wheatlands lodge hotel for four nights and five days, had a lovley time.
Staff very helpful and friendly, food was to a good strandard three course every night. Rooms very clean and adequate, just a ten minute walk into the centre of york. We were very pleased with everything on the trip. Would definetly stay again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WallsendLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fife
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

Had a very good two-night stay here in July. Last minute decision to go to York for hubby's birthday. Good telephone reception and no problems with booking. Ever so slightly further out of town centre than I'd hoped, but still very convenient, and close to train station. Rooms were clean if somewhat basic, but had all the usual conveniences: kettle and supplies, tv, shower, freshly made-up beds. Decor slightly tired, but friendly atmosphere, helpful staff and good night's kip was all we wanted. Breakfast was ok, not exciting, but more than adequate. We certainly made use of the in-house pub for a quick drink before bed after closing time in the town centre! (Living in Scotland you forget that everything shuts down early in England!) Looked like you could have stayed up all night if you wished! Found out the next day there was a hen party staying - we never heard a thing, so noise was not a problem. A reasonable place to stay if you don't want an anonymous multinational type of place (ie Travelodge, Premier inn etc), but are not looking for luxury or special extra touches.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FifeNoreaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2010

Only stayed Mon to Fri but enjoyed the overall standard. Manager quick to fix prob with shower. Staff all very friendly and helpful (esp Donna). Bathroom a bit cramped and tired decor but great for a short stay.Worth another visit. Good value as meals very good and plentiful.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoralArgyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2010

I was on a business research trip with a collegue and we never had a hotel booked before we left the office. We got as far as Hawes in the Dales and decided we'd best try get somewhere in York for the next couple of nights. My colleague suggested I call Wheatlands to check availability. They said yes no problem and gave us both a double room for single occupancy. Rate was£41pppn inc breakfast. Room was comfortable and clean with a 19" tv. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful, although I didn't like the instant coffee served in pots. Maybe freshly brewed filter coffee would be better. There is parking round the back of the hotel and it's only 5 minutes walk to the city walls and railway station. There is a nice bar and plenty comfy seats to unwind with a drink at the end of the day. I'd go again for warm, friendly accomodation.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smells-like
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2010

We had stayed in the hotel over 5 years ago
I can't understand there thinking regarding the evening meal.
They would not start serving until everyone was seated. Then we had to wait till everyone was finished before they came with the next course, seems a daft way to do things.
As for the room we had, the beds were fine and clean but the room was very small for a twin room and the bedroom furniture had seen better days. Also I don't think they moved the furniture when hoovering. If as they say they have been updating things I think this room was missed.

York is a very nice city and has lots to see and do.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tweed10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#15 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#37 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheatlands Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheatlands Lodge Hotel

Property: Wheatlands Lodge Hotel
Address: 75/85 Scarcroft Road, York YO24 1DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Wheatlands Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly family owned and run hotel, established in 1980. A 2 star rated hotel, giving a standard of service and cleanliness that any 4 star hotel would be proud of. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Wheatlands Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheatlands Hotel York
Wheatlands Lodge Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing