We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£104
Fully refundable before Fri, 26 Apr
Breakfast included
£104
Fully refundable before Sat, 27 Apr
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Hotels.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,138)
Filter reviews
1,138 results
Traveller rating
615
375
94
33
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
615
375
94
33
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews caledonian travel city centre no lift bar prices friendly hotel twin room breakfast and dinner would recommend this hotel to anyone ground floor railway station full english car park nice breakfast long weekend stayed one night short stay weekend break
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,138 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2024

Fabulous hotel. The sweetest staff, especially Sweet Caroline at breakfast!
Really good meals in the evening and excellent breakfast.
I came here with my bestie as part of her 60th birthday celebrations and think it is safe to say we have been treated very well.
I arranged for a bottle of champagne to be in the room for our arrival. Just over 30 quid for champers?? pretty reasonable I'd say! Staff also added wee complimentary chocs with our bubbly.
We will definitely return, soon!!!

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lynne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 February 2024

Stayed yet again at the Wheatlands Lodge Hotel and as always perfect. Hard to believe its a 2* hotel. Ok not glamour's, but fined a better hotel for the price in York with a excellent breakfast included, plus a bar. Lovely owners & staff only add to a fantastic stay. See you again, Ade & Sue. XXXX

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sightsee22521372319
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 February 2024

Little gem in York centre!!! Do not look or book any further! This hotel is perfect 👌 clean lovely bright rooms, fab breakfast and a staff team who go above and beyond! Whether it’s the manager or the breakfast staff this hotel shows a happy team who clearly love their job!! Iv stayed in 5 star hotels and they have not come close to the experience and care we have felt over the last 2 days! Donna makes this place a home from home! You can feel the love she has for the hotel in her! Every staff member is smiling and that shows a lot!!!! Do not go anywhere else Wheatlands lodge - you have guests for life!

Room tip: The parking can be tricky but there is no need to stress as an overflow car park is available
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Shelley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 February 2024

Nice breakfast, comfortable bed, but free parking is on the road a good 10 minutes walk away (if you can find it). Spent the first hour driving round to find a space. Not a great start to the trip. .Very old fashioned. Reasonably priced for what we got. Friendly staff

Room tip: The car park is not big enough for the hotel so you will be looking for road parking.
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank alisonv692018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 February 2024 via mobile

The hotel is about a 10/15 minute walk into town, so it is a great location. Parking was limited and unavailable for our 2 night stay. We were told to use a school at the back of the hotel, which wasn't ideal, and didn't feel like a safe location to leave the car.

The hotel reception staff were pleasant. After checking in, we went to our room, which was a treck to the top of the building. These rooms are not ideal for those who have any difficulty with stairs/disabilities or lots of luggage. The room was a standard double room but its decor was a little dated. The room was clean but excessively warm and extremely uncomfortable. I turned the heating off and left the window open for the remainder of our stay. The bathroom was adequate, but the toilet hadn't been cleaned, and the room smelled. We made the reception staff aware, and they came back to offer us the opportunity to move to our choice of 2 twin rooms. It was not ideal as we had a double room, so we had to stay where we were. The smell remained despite being told that someone would look into it.

Breakfast was ok the first day. We came down towards the end of breakfast on the second morning. We were served quickly, but when we asked for extra toast, we were given cold toast that had clearly been prepared for someone else earlier. I went and asked for some fresh toast and was told it wasn't a problem. We waited 10/15 minutes for it but then gave up and left. I'm sure we would have got what we asked for, if it was nearer the start of breakfast service.

Overall, we were a little disappointed with our stay after reading so many good reviews.

Room tip: Dont be relying on parking. It's limited and has very tight spaces. If you've issues with stairs, talk to reception before booking regarding room/floor availability
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank domg324
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews