We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a return visit is on the cards” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alhambra Court

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Alhambra Court
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“a return visit is on the cards”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

We have been here before and the service is very good.We like to have the room with the 4 poster if available.Not an ideal place if you have mobility problems,breakfast is served in a dinning room below ground level.I guess though that it would be no problem if you had to ask for breakfast in your room.My last 2 visits I have been on crutches and they do have a lift to upstairs.Good sized car park behind house which is a bonus.You can be in the centre of York in 10 minutes with a walk through the Museum gardens.They do an evening meal at the hotel which when we have eaten there has been very enjoyable.All the staff A1.

Room Tip: While there is a railway running round the back they stop at a certain time and we have never been b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank linton22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    185
    42
    13
    4
See reviews for
64
262
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

I am quite surprised that this hotel is only 2 star. I was most impressed! It is very clean and although the rooms are not over elaborate they are comfortable and clean. The beds were comfy and the facilities were great. A beautiful communal lounge and in the basement was a bar and the dining room. The food was brilliant - well presented and hot and tasty! Breakfast was cereal and toast and fresh juice, a wide selection plus a full English breakfast cooked to your liking. Pleasant and helpful staff. This hotel is situated in a cul de sac not far from York city centre, it was ideal. It was in a quiet location and also a peaceful place to stay, not noisy at night, from either the residents or from outdoors!

Would definitely recommend this establishment and would defintely stay there again. It was near to the river also, and we were able to hire cycles from Scoot, a great way to get around York as the traffic gets quite congested!

All in all a great weekend away and cant fault this hotel at all. They also very kindly let us leave our bags in a safe place after we had vacated our rooms so we could wander around the city without being laden down.

this

Room Tip: Single rooms available too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nixee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milngavie,Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

Stayed here for two nights. Cant praise it enough.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foxyboy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

Stayed for 2 nights. Have stayed here before and would stay again. The wifi was a bit iffy but the receptionist tried her best to make it work. Breakfast was good and parking was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueHarrison62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

Stayed here with my girlfriend for a city break. Upon arrival the receptionist was very polite and quickly sorted our room and key.
We were on the second floor so were shown to a very "dodgy" lift which did not feel very safe but was assured it was! The room was lovely upon first glance but was quite small, the bathroom was a bit dated and the bed was two twins screwed together but it was comfortable enough for a good nights sleep.
There was a problem with the cleanliness eg.... The back of the toilet was mouldy as was the shower curtain and mat. The light switch was covered in sticky black glue like substance, although these are all small problems, they could easily be rectified.
Went for dinner in the restaurant downstairs, the member of staff that served us was quite ignorant, as we had not booked a table even though it was empty she seemed to be more concerned about her phone and watching the soaps but even so, i have to say the food was excellent and well priced - two courses for £12.95!

We eventually cut our weekend short and left after two nights rather than staying for a third.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jossnloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
felixstowe
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel . The location was great , the rooms were very good for the price & the Evening meal was excellent .
This hotel is superb value in every way & the staff were always helpful . To be so near the city yet in such a quiet location is a real bonus it is a gem of a place .

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnfelixstowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

This is a nice small independent hotel in the Bootham area, about 5 minutes walk from the Cathedral area if you walk by the river or through the museum gardens. Our family room was clean, comfortable and quiet. It was good to have lift as we were on the second floor.
Decor is a bit old fashioned but ok. Breakfast was quite good with a choice of cereals plus traditional full English. Plenty of car park space in the hotel car park and they allowed us to keep our car there after we had checked out whilst we went for walk on the walls before heading back home.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EscritorManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
B+B York
B+B York
#3 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alhambra Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alhambra Court

Property: Alhambra Court
Address: 31 St. Marys, York YO30 7DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in York
#5 Luxury Hotel in York
#17 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alhambra Court 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Alhambra Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Court York
Hotel Alhambra Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing