We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alhambra Court Hotel
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
WEST MIDS
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Alhambra Court Hotel for the Bank Holiday weekend, could not fault it in anyway. Adequate parking at the rear of the hotel. Lovely friendly reception staff, lovely quiet location and quiet hotel. Food was gorgeous served by very friendly staff. Im not a big walker, the location was excellent not too far to the town. The hotel itself was furnished to the era of the property, two lovely relaxing reception rooms downstairs. We stayed in room 2 which was lovely furnished with a four poster bed and a view over looking the street. The bathroom was newly refurbished, adequate wardrobe space and a nice cup of tea or coffee with kettle provided. Would most definately recommend this hotel and if we return to York (which I hope we do) I would definately stay here again. Free wi fi too. No faults whatsoever.

Room Tip: room 2 great choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helly31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    195
    45
    13
    4
See reviews for
68
283
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

On the positive side, the location was great-just 10 mins walk through the lovely museum gardens to the centre of York. The Receptionists were always friendly and helpful. The public areas, although slightly dated were much nicer than our room and the little garden at the back was beautiful. Car parking was appreciated.
On the negative side, the hotel looks seedy from the outside. Our room (room 3) looked out onto a brick wall and was very dark. The bathroom needed updating and the general feel of the room was grubby. There was also a foul smell which was very off-putting.
For £90 a night, I expect basic cleanliness and would not stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Smiler34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thornton cleveleys
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Suprised this hotel is only 2 star. A lovely room very clean. Great position. All staff gave us a lovely smile and made us very welcome. Would definately stay again. Will recommend to our family and friends.Thank you

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jesspenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Our family didn't find the 10-minute walk into town a problem. The staff accommodated our request for stowing luggage and calling a taxi. The breakfast was plentiful in a pleasant downstairs dining room. The room was comfy (king and bunks), although a bit cramped for the 4 of us. It's on a quiet side street and we found it to be a restful retreat.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katymcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We arrived at the hotel, staff very welcoming and helpful, room comfortable, spacious and very quiet, which ment i new we would have had a good night sleep.
Breakfast was amazing and no grease yipee!!!!
Would deff go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Any room I guess
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hughes123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chigwell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

York is a fascinating city with many attractions and many hotels. Two tips, get a hotel near to the city centre to avoid long treks and if you are travelling by car make sure the hotel you choose has its own car park, many do not!

The Alhambra Court is a good quality 2 star hotel with a good size car park and literally a few minutes walk from the city centre. The hotel itself is clean and the staff friendly, the restaurant has a limited but adequate menu and the food was of good quality. We have used this hotel several times and have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Stayed 2 nights in room 5. I was very happy with the room, the politeness of staff and the cleanliness of the room/hotel.
I spent 4 years doing a degree in York and it was a perfect central location to revisit all of the places that I new as a student.
The breakfast was very good (scrambled egg on toast both days).
Parking is easy and there is plenty of space.
I would certainly recommend the hotel and I will be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: The train line rruns very close to the back of the hotel but I did not hear any trains after 10.00pm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prhlichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,251 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,549 reviews
0.3 mi away
B+B York
B+B York
#4 of 47 in York
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alhambra Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alhambra Court Hotel

Property: Alhambra Court Hotel
Address: 31 St. Marys, York YO30 7DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in York
#5 Luxury Hotel in York
#17 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alhambra Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Alhambra Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Court York
Hotel Alhambra Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing