We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alhambra Court Hotel
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
leven
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed 12 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed here twice and a very nice hotel, deffo be coming back here again, staff very pleasant and can't do enough for you.
Recommend having your evening meal at the hotel it is one of the best meals I have had in a long time

Janis

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    195
    45
    13
    4
See reviews for
67
283
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Excellent choice of hotel staff very helpful,location great,very clean we got a pleasant surprise when we arrived to find my daughter had upgraded us to room 4 with the four poster bed which was an excellent room.
Breakfast was very good and we had an evening meal all three nights the reason being after our first evening the meal was that good what was the point of going anywhere else (Fillet steaks brill) chef was happy to cook anything to your request and food was always hot.
When we go back to York we will definitely stay at this hotel again, thanks to all staff who made our stay very enjoyable.

Room Tip: For a special occasion room four with a 4 poster bed and large bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 190Bill1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We have stayed in this hotel 5 or 6 times over a few years and it is a comfortable, reliable hotel in an excellent location. The staff have always been helpful and the rooms clean. Breakfast is good, although service can be a bit slow if they are busy and you can get shunted into the bar area at low tables if everyone comes down to breakfast at the same time! We have eaten in the restaurant previously (not this time) and the food was good and the meal reasonably priced. The only reason I have not given 5 stars is that the rooms do vary; we had a very nice room this time and on most other occasions but last year, when we had a room for 3, it was not up to standard of the others we have stayed in - very dark, uneven floor, not well decorated. We had previously had a beautiful room for 3 and this was a disappointment. However, the other rooms have all been of an excellent standard.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

The Alhambra court hotel is in a great location and just a short walk to the centre of York, the staff were very helpful and friendly, our bedroom was a good size and we slept very well, Breakfast was very good and we would definitely stay at the Alhambra again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viv535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newark
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We have stayed at this hotel now on a few visits to the beautiful city of York, we always look for near to the centre and free parking, this hotel does both. Located down a side street which is very nice and quiet, you are always made to feel welcome on arrival, the rooms are clean and perhaps could do with some updating but they are nice and big. Breakfast served by the staff is always first class, a good size full english. We will always stay here for the location and parking and would recommend to all our friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

what a lovely place full of character spent some time in the garden reading while hubby had a power nap. we then explored the two gorgeous rooms for communal use they are dressed to the hilt with period features a real taste of the upstairs life. the welcome was warm and the breakfast really sets you up for the day. the location was so easy for us we walked everywhere no mean feat when husband only had full knee replacement 6 weeks ago.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank minimeStamford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Have just returned from a two night stay at the Alhambra Court Hotel in York. The Hotel is in a wonderful location down a quiet side street just a ten minute walk from the centre of York. The hotel has a good size car park which is ideal for leaving your car alone and exploring the city on foot. The room we had was clean and tidy although the furnishings mainly the bed could do with updating. The room had a large widescreen TV but the bathroom although very clean, again could do with updating. Breakfast was very good with a good choice of cereals followed by a very nice full english. All the staff were very friendly and worked hard. Would stay here again but with a little updating this hotel could be so much nicer.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OxfordshireYellows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,243 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,547 reviews
0.3 mi away
B+B York
B+B York
#4 of 47 in York
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alhambra Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alhambra Court Hotel

Property: Alhambra Court Hotel
Address: 31 St. Marys, York YO30 7DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in York
#5 Luxury Hotel in York
#17 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alhambra Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Alhambra Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Court York
Hotel Alhambra Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing