We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alhambra Court Hotel
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2012

I have stayed at the Alhambra a number, of times and it has to be said that the standard is constantly excellent.

The fact that the hotel is in a quiet street, has it's own car park right in the centre of York, and it is only within a few minutes walk from the Minster is good enough reasons to stay there, but it is the friendly, amiable and helpful attitude of the staff that is their greatest attribute.

Bedrooms and bathrooms are spotless and are of a good size. Food in the restaurant is very good and reasonably priced.

I'll be back !

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anton P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (538)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

436 - 442 of 538 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2012

My wife and I stayed for one night at this wonderful hotel and were blown away by friendliness and cleanliness of the hotel. The location is ideal for exploring the wonderful city of York. The food was excellent and served by waitresses dressed like waitresses and the staff cannot be faulted. Overall, perfection!!!!!. L Coles & M Ingleby.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Runningvicar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed here twice and a very nice hotel, deffo be coming back here again, staff very pleasant and can't do enough for you.
Recommend having your evening meal at the hotel it is one of the best meals I have had in a long time

Janis

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jan1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Excellent choice of hotel staff very helpful,location great,very clean we got a pleasant surprise when we arrived to find my daughter had upgraded us to room 4 with the four poster bed which was an excellent room.
Breakfast was very good and we had an evening meal all three nights the reason being after our first evening the meal was that good what was the point of going anywhere else (Fillet steaks brill) chef was happy to cook anything to your request and food was always hot.
When we go back to York we will definitely stay at this hotel again, thanks to all staff who made our stay very enjoyable.

Room Tip: For a special occasion room four with a 4 poster bed and large bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 190Bill1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We have stayed in this hotel 5 or 6 times over a few years and it is a comfortable, reliable hotel in an excellent location. The staff have always been helpful and the rooms clean. Breakfast is good, although service can be a bit slow if they are busy and you can get shunted into the bar area at low tables if everyone comes down to breakfast at the same time! We have eaten in the restaurant previously (not this time) and the food was good and the meal reasonably priced. The only reason I have not given 5 stars is that the rooms do vary; we had a very nice room this time and on most other occasions but last year, when we had a room for 3, it was not up to standard of the others we have stayed in - very dark, uneven floor, not well decorated. We had previously had a beautiful room for 3 and this was a disappointment. However, the other rooms have all been of an excellent standard.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

The Alhambra court hotel is in a great location and just a short walk to the centre of York, the staff were very helpful and friendly, our bedroom was a good size and we slept very well, Breakfast was very good and we would definitely stay at the Alhambra again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viv535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We have stayed at this hotel now on a few visits to the beautiful city of York, we always look for near to the centre and free parking, this hotel does both. Located down a side street which is very nice and quiet, you are always made to feel welcome on arrival, the rooms are clean and perhaps could do with some updating but they are nice and big. Breakfast served by the staff is always first class, a good size full english. We will always stay here for the location and parking and would recommend to all our friends.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
671 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 47 in York
1,457 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#18 of 47 in York
1,542 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#13 of 47 in York
1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alhambra Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alhambra Court Hotel

Address: 31 St. Marys, York YO30 7DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in York
#5 Luxury Hotel in York
#17 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: £61 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alhambra Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and LateRooms so you can book your Alhambra Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Court York
Hotel Alhambra Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing