We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant well kept secret a 5 minite wal fom town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alhambra Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alhambra Court
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant well kept secret a 5 minite wal fom town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012 via mobile

Fantastic value free parking wifi and a hidden gem resteraunt amazing. The hotel is old style family run cossy not a plastic box like other york hotels. Park up and leave car for weekend.

Get the included 3 course evening meals in a deal as it saves walking to a restwraunt for a meal.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob24hrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    185
    42
    13
    4
See reviews for
64
262
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

We have just returned from a weekend in York staying at the Alhambra.
The hotel is in a nice quiet location very close to the city centre we enjoyed our stay at the hotel but were left unimpressed with the breakfast. The sausages tasted like they had been cooked the day before and kept on a hot plate to keep them warm. The beans also were in a paste like sauce cosistent with them being kept on the heat for too long. All in all the hotel was very clean and pleasant, the staff very friendly and courteous, we were let down by the breakfast and for this reason decided that we would dine out on an evening and not use the hotels restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

I have stayed at the Alhambra a number, of times and it has to be said that the standard is constantly excellent.

The fact that the hotel is in a quiet street, has it's own car park right in the centre of York, and it is only within a few minutes walk from the Minster is good enough reasons to stay there, but it is the friendly, amiable and helpful attitude of the staff that is their greatest attribute.

Bedrooms and bathrooms are spotless and are of a good size. Food in the restaurant is very good and reasonably priced.

I'll be back !

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anton P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

My wife and I stayed for one night at this wonderful hotel and were blown away by friendliness and cleanliness of the hotel. The location is ideal for exploring the wonderful city of York. The food was excellent and served by waitresses dressed like waitresses and the staff cannot be faulted. Overall, perfection!!!!!. L Coles & M Ingleby.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Runningvicar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leven
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed here twice and a very nice hotel, deffo be coming back here again, staff very pleasant and can't do enough for you.
Recommend having your evening meal at the hotel it is one of the best meals I have had in a long time

Janis

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jan1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

Excellent choice of hotel staff very helpful,location great,very clean we got a pleasant surprise when we arrived to find my daughter had upgraded us to room 4 with the four poster bed which was an excellent room.
Breakfast was very good and we had an evening meal all three nights the reason being after our first evening the meal was that good what was the point of going anywhere else (Fillet steaks brill) chef was happy to cook anything to your request and food was always hot.
When we go back to York we will definitely stay at this hotel again, thanks to all staff who made our stay very enjoyable.

Room Tip: For a special occasion room four with a 4 poster bed and large bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 190Bill1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

We have stayed in this hotel 5 or 6 times over a few years and it is a comfortable, reliable hotel in an excellent location. The staff have always been helpful and the rooms clean. Breakfast is good, although service can be a bit slow if they are busy and you can get shunted into the bar area at low tables if everyone comes down to breakfast at the same time! We have eaten in the restaurant previously (not this time) and the food was good and the meal reasonably priced. The only reason I have not given 5 stars is that the rooms do vary; we had a very nice room this time and on most other occasions but last year, when we had a room for 3, it was not up to standard of the others we have stayed in - very dark, uneven floor, not well decorated. We had previously had a beautiful room for 3 and this was a disappointment. However, the other rooms have all been of an excellent standard.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
B+B York
B+B York
#3 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alhambra Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alhambra Court

Property: Alhambra Court
Address: 31 St. Marys, York YO30 7DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in York
#5 Luxury Hotel in York
#17 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alhambra Court 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Alhambra Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Court York
Hotel Alhambra Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing