We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent friendly service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alhambra Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alhambra Court
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

My stay here was great - very friendly helpful, & flexible staff. They brought my breakfast to my room as I was working late in York the previous evening & it was served to me after Breakfast had officially stopped. Clean & tidy comfortable room.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    185
    42
    13
    4
See reviews for
64
262
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

We stayed for 1 night on a Groupon offer and was very happy with our stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed in room 26 and were very pleased with our room. It was a large room, very comfortable and clean. The room was lovely and warm with lots of hot water. It had a flat screen TV with an ample hospitality tray. Breakfast was very nice, with a choice of cereal, fruit, yoghurt and well as a cooked breakfast. The waitress was very polite and helpful.
We read complaints re the tiredness of the building, but we felt in had charm, It is an old building, may be just needs a little updating in the communal areas but our room had been updated with new curtains carpet etc and we didnt think this was an issue.
Although we stayed on an offer we would certainly stay here again when we visit York. It was an ideal base within walking distance of the city center with a large car park.
Many thanks for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 26 at the front of the hotel, it had a lovely large window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueFisherHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
151 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

We had a very comfortable stay in York. On arrival the hotel owner made us feel very welcome. We had a good size 3 bedroom room. It was not the Ritz but we were not expecting the Ritz it was perfect for a weekend away celebrating a friends 30th birthday. Good supply of hot water. Room was relatively clean only a few old stain marks on the bedding but this is to expected from white sheets and white towels. Breakfast was good for the price. On the first day service was excellent but the second day service was slower. Maybe due to it being more busy. The only concern was the storage of cold breakfast items. This hotel has a lot of potential and could easily get a higher star with a few alterations. Good leaflets in bedroom and downstairs with suggested activities to do in york. We stayed friday to sunday. We got a taxi to and from the station on arrival and departure. Hotel ordered taxi for us on departure day and allowed us to leave our suitcases at the hotel whilst we enjoyed our last day. We did not have dinner or us the bar as it was closed. However hotel is within easy walking distance to the centre of york.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NDRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockton-on-tees cleveland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

We wre very pleased with our stay the room was a nice size and very clean,the food was good and the staff were really helpful and the xmas decorations were great we came for the xmas markets so this got us in the right mood

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nova r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

We really can't understand the (very few!) average reviews for this great hotel. We have stayed here four times now and can't fault it. Every room we have stayed in has been spotless clean and quite roomy too. The hotel couldn't be better placed for York's historic city centre and only 2 minutes from The Ouse, yet it's in a peaceful street, so it's ideal for relaxing as well. There is a big car park behind the hotel, which is a godsend in such a busy city. We intend to go back in the spring or early summer & wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone who wants a short (or long) stay in this fantastic city. The staff are very friendly & helpful, the food at breakfast and in the restaurant is excellent, and the hotel is also a beautiful building in very nice surroundings, with traditional decor without looking in any way dated. We don't write many reviews, but felt that we had to give credit to the staff and owners of The Alhambra Court. You won't be disappointed if you stay there! TOM AND CAROL

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank to j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Durham
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

We didnt have much choice of hotels as we wanted 2 twin rooms and had left it a bit last minute to book anywhere.We had stayed here before and thought it was ok so we booked. Nice welcome from reception staff.Rooms ok but nothing special.Breakfast was best forgotten! Dining room was not very well organised and people had to keep asking for various things ie glasses spoons etc and both mornings people had to wait for a table to be cleared before they could be seated.We waited ages for our food however the toast and tea (which was weak and stewed) had come almost immediately so was cold when the breakfast arrived.The poached eggs were ok but the beans were cold.One lady had FULL english which was edible but very basic, no mushrooms, black pudding, hash browns. The hotel is very old fashioned but clean and well run. Might stay again but not at the price we paid.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sparky009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

This hotel is only a short walk to the minster, the rooms were large and comfortable. Breakfast was good and staff very helpful and friendly. I would stay here again if going to York. There is a good car park, but we decided to travel by train which again was good value. We had a lovely break with no problems.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
B+B York
B+B York
#3 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alhambra Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alhambra Court

Property: Alhambra Court
Address: 31 St. Marys, York YO30 7DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in York
#5 Luxury Hotel in York
#17 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alhambra Court 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Alhambra Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Court York
Hotel Alhambra Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing