We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alhambra Court Hotel
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Having spent the last 5 years, on the same weekend (at the end of the Viking Festival), we still hadn't found accommodation that we wanted to go back to. Until we stayed this weekend at the Alhambra Court Hotel that is! The staff are lovely, polite, helpful and happy to help. The building looks like a couple of beautiful old big houses joined together to make a hotel, and it is still a beautiful old building. The car park is big and easy to access with CCTV, no permit needed, a rare treat in York. Our room was up top on the 2nd floor, which was fine as there is a lift. Bedroom was lovely, spacious and spotless with a good sized bathroom, big, deep bath with shower over. Plenty of piping hot water and trustworthy, easily controlled radiator - toasty warm, good for York in February! As we are re-enactors, the space in the room for changing into our kit and the hot bath after freezing all day were just the ticket and much appreciated. Ideally situated for us, enough out of the centre to be blissfully quiet, but a short walk through the Museum Gardens or along the river puts you in the centre. Breakfast was very good and set us up for both days in a very brisk York! We have already decided that if we intend to do the Viking Festival next year, we shall return here ..and bring our friends after they saw what they were missing in their accommodation for the same price!!

Thank you Alhambra Court and staff for a lovely weekend :-)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lairdywinkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (515)
There are newer reviews for Alhambra Court Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

396 - 402 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Alhambra for our Valentine's/wedding anniversary weekend. The staff were friendly and welcoming, and the reception area was warm and nicely decorated.

We had room number one, which is located at the front of the house, above reception. It was spacious, reasonably quiet and clean. The only problem, as discovered later, was that the bed was very uncomfortable. The mattress could definitely do with being replaced! There was also a little noise from squeaking floor boards, which is to be expected in this type of building, but we couldn't hear any noise from the street or from other guests.

Since we arrived late, we ate in the hotel restaurant, which is located in the lower ground floor. The menu was in our room, and the food had to be booked in advance, but that was fine. We rung through to reception at about six, and sat down to eat at seven. There was a weird smell when walking down the stairs, but the food and choice was really good and great value. It was a shame that we were the only people in the restaurant, although having the place to ourselves on Valentine's evening was quite special. We visited the restaurant again on our last night, and the food was equally as good.

The hotel is located just two minutes from the Museum Gardens, and about a five minute walk to Exhibition Square, so it is perfectly located for exploring the city. There are leaflets and information in the reception area to help you plan your stay.

We stayed for four nights, and couldn't have asked for more. The breakfast was delicious each morning, and we would definitely stay here again if we return to York.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank welshraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We stayed here on a groupon x 2 night deal, including breakfast. The hotel staff were extremely pleasant and attentive. The room was spacious, and immaculate. The en suite was spotless and warm. Breakfast was 5 star, everything you could wish for. This hotel is ideally placed for visitors to york, as it is a five minute walk from the main area. Absolute bargain.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeanettemahon499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I had a lovely cozy weekend in a spacious room at the back of the hotel.We were next to the railway lines,but it was ever so quiet, lovely and warm especially for February, and constant red hot water making a welcoming hot soak in the spacious bathroom. Strong power shower. Very clever self closing toilet seat for no banging. The owner made us feel very welcome, and her staff were very friendly. The room was clean apart from the carpet. Good flat screen tv with remote and freeview. Could have done with drink facilities topping up, but we only had to ask at reception, where they were happy to help. Ample off road private car park, and a lift to floors. I walk with a stick but it only took me a 15 minute stroll to get to the minster, which is very close to all that York has to offer. Overall i would say it was better than most 2* and would recommend it. I would stay in it again on my next trip to York.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joepryor63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

My stay here was great - very friendly helpful, & flexible staff. They brought my breakfast to my room as I was working late in York the previous evening & it was served to me after Breakfast had officially stopped. Clean & tidy comfortable room.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We stayed for 1 night on a Groupon offer and was very happy with our stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed in room 26 and were very pleased with our room. It was a large room, very comfortable and clean. The room was lovely and warm with lots of hot water. It had a flat screen TV with an ample hospitality tray. Breakfast was very nice, with a choice of cereal, fruit, yoghurt and well as a cooked breakfast. The waitress was very polite and helpful.
We read complaints re the tiredness of the building, but we felt in had charm, It is an old building, may be just needs a little updating in the communal areas but our room had been updated with new curtains carpet etc and we didnt think this was an issue.
Although we stayed on an offer we would certainly stay here again when we visit York. It was an ideal base within walking distance of the city center with a large car park.
Many thanks for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 26 at the front of the hotel, it had a lovely large window.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueFisherHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We had a very comfortable stay in York. On arrival the hotel owner made us feel very welcome. We had a good size 3 bedroom room. It was not the Ritz but we were not expecting the Ritz it was perfect for a weekend away celebrating a friends 30th birthday. Good supply of hot water. Room was relatively clean only a few old stain marks on the bedding but this is to expected from white sheets and white towels. Breakfast was good for the price. On the first day service was excellent but the second day service was slower. Maybe due to it being more busy. The only concern was the storage of cold breakfast items. This hotel has a lot of potential and could easily get a higher star with a few alterations. Good leaflets in bedroom and downstairs with suggested activities to do in york. We stayed friday to sunday. We got a taxi to and from the station on arrival and departure. Hotel ordered taxi for us on departure day and allowed us to leave our suitcases at the hotel whilst we enjoyed our last day. We did not have dinner or us the bar as it was closed. However hotel is within easy walking distance to the centre of york.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NDRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,339 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,567 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alhambra Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alhambra Court Hotel

Address: 31 St. Marys, York YO30 7DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in York
#5 Luxury Hotel in York
#17 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: £60 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alhambra Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Travel Republic (UK) and LateRooms so you can book your Alhambra Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Court York
Hotel Alhambra Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing