We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient, friendly, quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alhambra Court Hotel
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The location of the Alhambra Court Hotel is very convenient, the price was right, and my room was comfortable, clean, and quiet. The hotel is located on a side street close to the center of town, which made me feel fortunate to be staying there. The person who greeted me at reception was welcoming and informative. There was a lift which I could have used if my room had not been on the ground floor.

When I entered the room I saw tea and coffee making facilities and packaged cookies which made me feel at home. Everything was clean and the curtains excluded light well. My room was on the ground floor at the rear of the building overlooking the car park, which meant it was quiet. I could hear the people next door enter their room, and if they had been noisy I think I would have been able to hear them in their room, but they were quiet and I had no problems sleeping. The shower both mornings was good - no problems with hot water or pressure, and the bathroom facilities attached to my room were very clean.

I ate excellent English breakfasts both days in the cellar-level dining room which left me feeling ready for anything. In addition to ordering a full English breakfast from your server, you could help yourself to cereals, toast, yogurt, fruits, and juices. I liked the old-fashioned atmosphere - the decorations in the common areas are Victorian and the general impression is comfort.

I really enjoyed my stay here and if I come back to York, this is my top choice accommodation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tr0utlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (515)
There are newer reviews for Alhambra Court Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

My husband and I booked this hotel for 2 reasons:
1. On-site car parking
2. Central location - 5 minute walk to York Minster.
The only negative is that the hotel is tired in it's decoration.
The positives were:
Our room (7) was large with good clean facilities on the back of the hotel.
Breakfast was ample - cereal, toast and the choice of a 'mix and match' full English along with tea or coffee and fruit juice.
The staff were very accommodating and friendly.

We both agreed that the hotel was very reasonably priced compared to other hotels in York and would both stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed as a couple and our room included 2 bunk beds which meant we had extra space and it is on...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed here for three nights in a family room for my sisters birthday,and could not fault it.Only 10 mins walk from town centre,the hotel was very clean throughout and our room was comfy and spacious.The staff were very friendly.Breakfast was help yourself to cereals,fruits and juices followed by a delicious cooked breakfast with tea or coffee which was enjoyed every morning! Would reccomend this hotel to anyone thinking of staying in York!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 872Jobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This hotel is located in a quiet road close to one of the city gates. It is an easy walk to the historic parts of the city and the Minster. It is also a simple walk to the National Rail Museum. The hotel is decorated with an eclectic collection of ornaments that make it an interesting place in which to stay. In the lower ground floor there is a convenient restaurant serving very good food. Handy if it is wet and/or you don't wish to go into the city. There is also the big advantage of a reasonably sized car park behind the hotel. The room was very pleasant and the bed very comfortable but the bathroom was rather pokey. The only downside was the lack of hot water and poor water pressure in the morning (our room was on the top floor). Helpful staff. We would happily stay there again next time we come to York

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ksdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

stayed here a few times, really good for york, car park at the rear of hotel for parking which is good, also very near to the minster, so ideal for when visiting york to stay as only mins from town center.

Always enjoyed our stay when we have stayed here, breakfast sets you up for the day, hotel may seem a little old fashion in its style and design to some, but as all that you need in an overnight stay, all the rooms we have stayed in have been very spacious, and clean.

would always look to book here for anytime we where wanting a place to stay in york

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mummy2Abigail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My partner & I stayed here for 1 night on a weekend break to York.
All the staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and comfy.
This is a 3 star hotel trapped in a 2 star rating by the tourist board, because they ask you to pre order your dinner, makes sense to me if this saves on wastage and good on them.
It is ideally located, just a 10 min walk to York Minster and the shops.
Our dinner was lovely and well presented, and service spot on, very attentive.
We had a good nights sleep and had our usual drinks in the morning from our brewing faciliies.
Breakfast was help yourself to juices and cereals and a good cooked breakfast served by the staff. All friendly and pleasant.
I would recommend this hotel and we would stay again if we were to stop over in York.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

A very attractive hotel within easy walking distance of the main centre attractions. Dogs are welcome in this hotel. Friendly staff, good breakfast, clean rooms, nice and warm. Curtains were very thick, so room was dark and location quiet, so we had a good nights sleep. Only there for two nights but would like to return again for longer. Very good value.

Room Tip: Our room was on the front of the hotel but we found it quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank carole s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,339 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,567 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alhambra Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alhambra Court Hotel

Address: 31 St. Marys, York YO30 7DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in York
#5 Luxury Hotel in York
#17 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: £60 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alhambra Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Alhambra Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Court York
Hotel Alhambra Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing