We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alhambra Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alhambra Court
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

We have just returned from three nights at the Alhambra Hotel and we cannot praise it enough the hotel is clean and homely, the staff friendly and very attentive, the food is brilliant and excellent value for money also the hotel is in the perfect location for visiting the centre of York this was our second visit and certainly won't be the last

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nannie050851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    185
    42
    13
    4
See reviews for
64
262
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Stopped here with my missus for 2 nights, 13th and 14th Feb, was greeted with a very friendly young lady on reception (Emily).
Our stay at the Alhambra was a very pleasant one from the minute we arrived to the minute we left, the room was clean and spacious in fact this hotel beats the rest hands down, who needs small square box rooms where you can hear the people in the next room reading when you can have a nice Victorian hotel with pleasant staff throughout and wonderful food.
Will definitely stay here again. Probably next Vallentines Day
Thankyou.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

The hotel is a short walk to the Minster, one of the access areas for walking the wall and close to the shopping area. The staff were friendly and the food very good. We had a table booked for an evening meal on arrival night but due to travel problems arrived later than planned. Meals are served up to 8pm but they still served us despite arriving close to this time. Thank you. Parking was free and we were allowed to leave our car there on the day we booked out while we looked around York. Would use the hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

I have been to York 3 times in the last year and although everywhere we have stayed has been very nice, The Alhambra Court Hotel has been the best. The bedroom was lovely and clean with a very comfy bed. The breakfast was delicious and the choice was excellent. The hotel staff were nice and friendly. The parking was really convenient and off road, the hotel were good enough to let us continue using the car park on the day we left so we could do some last minute shopping in the town too. Couldn't fault the place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roadrunnerNP1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Me and my mum have now been coming to York for Christmas shopping for 3 years. We chose the Alhambra Court because it looked so homely and inviting. The rooms are comfortable, clean and cosy. Food in the restaurant is excellent and it's a great place to come back after a day of shopping to relax. The staff are so nice and go out of their way to be helpful, for example we met a couple whilst out and about, we forgot to swap numbers. The gentleman sent the hotel and an email in search of help getting a message to us and they did! Over and beyond what we expected. We'll be coming back that's for sure!!!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Samantha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

I have been to this hotel for over 10 years it's perfect to explore York, the staff are friendly and make your stay perfect, the food is very good and the rooms are warm and very comfortable. It is a perfect place to stay and reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Fabulous hotel like your living room , cosy comfortable and very friendly. Amazing food duck in port n berry sauce thank u for a lovely friendly stay. Close to main city centre ample psrking, easy to find

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Eve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
B+B York
B+B York
#3 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alhambra Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alhambra Court

Property: Alhambra Court
Address: 31 St. Marys, York YO30 7DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in York
#5 Luxury Hotel in York
#17 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alhambra Court 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Alhambra Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Court York
Hotel Alhambra Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing